We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madame Zingara's

Madame Zingara's
Ranked #232 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Culinary disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I would rate this place not in the restaurant section - Food is awful and the wine list poor. The show is great as is the service and the vibe. I would be surprised if a (real) 'chef' has tasted the ingredients before going out to the guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sekalf N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    36
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would not recommend Madame Zingara for its food. But will by all means do so for a show that would rank with a Las Vegas show. Theatrical, faultless dances, flamboyant, OTT, camp,fun, fun, fun! Sheer enjoyment & entertainment!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing show, terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I agree with previous reviewers, the show was exciting, busy and exhilarating but the food was atrocious. I had a very tough Springbok shank with cold mashed potato. The starters were tasty yet unimaginative and partly made up for the main course, as did the dessert. We aslo had to wait almost half an hour for drinks and most were forgotten yet charged for. In my opinion for the ticket price, it was not worth it

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieCPT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
533 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Exhilarating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

It has now moved to the Cape Town Waterfront.I can only rate this on parr with the Lido in Paris.
Professionally presented, the show, the service, the food and the logistics were absolutely unbelievable. Took a table on the stage for 10 people and did we have a blast! I think it was one of my best ever night out and the party went on and on!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spithead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“The show stands by itself.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Your show is excellent and does not need the food served. It is a distraction and was terrible. I had no idea what was on top of my food so ate nothing. As a suggestion. Have platters of snacks on the tables. Your wonderful waiters can then concentrate on serving drinks and if necessary refilling platters. Let people see and choose what they are eating. Other than that I can and do praise your talented group of performers to the rooftops. About 100 years ago I performed in a similar show on Mauritius so do know a little about the practice needed to perform and make it look effortless. The timing was superb. If possible I will see your show again, dressing up this time and refusing all food. The price of the show can and should remain the same, it could even increase and you will still have full houses. I am reasonably sure that people praising the food are doing so because it looks as though it came off a cooking show on tele. The difference is you do know exactly what went into those and how they were prepared.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marylou f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madame Zingara's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 

Been to Madame Zingara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing