We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak I’ve ever had! Book it!!”
Review of Carne on Keerom

Carne on Keerom
Ranked #72 of 1,325 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Hands down the best fillet steak I’ve ever had. My husband and I both ordered the 300g trio of fillet steaks cooked medium rare. The steaks were cooked perfectly, so soft, so delicious. Lovely ambience, good service, lovely bottle of Beyerskloof pinotage. Book a table and eat there. We totally loved it!! They were very happy to book a reliable taxi for us to get back to our hotel.

We were too full for dessert, but we were tempted!!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank HoneyandWalnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Günter B, Owner at Carne on Keerom, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2019

Thank you for your kind review, we hope to be able to host you and your husband in the near future again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2019

The safari plate with 5 exotic meats is the one to try. This menu is different from the other Carne. Owner came around to see how everything was. A top restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank miriam048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

Josh, our waiter turned out to be not only extremely competent regarding the offered dishes and wines, but also very kind and considerate. Furthermore, the food served was outstandingly tasty and professionally cooked. An absoluetly perfect experience!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbe113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

I went in this place to eat some good meat, i found a really good restaurant, with great people end fantastic food. A really cozy restaurant, really amazing dishes with great flavors!

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Günter B, Owner at Carne on Keerom, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

I've had 2 decent meals here, however on both occasions felt the meal wasn't worth the high bill. The meat is good and the atmosphere is lively and most of the staff are friendly and attentive, however for the high price I think there are better venues for a special dinner.

Some areas we found lacking:

- sides (which are charged extra) were small and disappointing (e.g. the french fries were not crisp)
- the staff seem to be instructed to promote the most expensive menu items
- we found the sommelier to be rather arrogant (altghough that is not so unusual in the trade)
- the only "gelato" was vanilla, and not a very good vanilla at that.

Since we were staying nearby we had a pleasant enough dinner at Carne, but am not sure I would go again.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Günter B, Owner at Carne on Keerom, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

Thank you for your response, i take your comments very serious but need to correct you on some of your points.

Every main course has a side dish of your choice included, should you want a second that is to your account.
The staff is not instructed to push any dish on the menu as i went to great length to design i menu where every dish is worthy of its place on it and follows our philosophy of offering more then just the usual steak cuts.
The gelato is home made fresh every day, mostly vanilla as you are rightly say but you are more then wrong by stating it is not a good one,
I invite you to a blind tasting of 10 Vanilla ice creams and we will win the tasting hands down every time,

Regards
Günter Boisits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne on Keerom also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Carne on Keerom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing