We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food keeps us coming back even though the service is poor”
Review of Carne on Keerom

Carne on Keerom
Ranked #51 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The food keeps us coming back even though the service is poor”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Very few restaurants in Cape Town top carne for red meat and the decor and atmosphere make this a favorite of mine. That said go prepared to have poor service. I've waited over an hour for a drink, and sometimes they never arrive at all. Service at best I haphazard, at times shocking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisaroos14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    192
    78
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maria Enzersdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
184 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Meat, meat, meat............”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

you mus be very hungry going there, because the meat is excellent. The service top and the wines and drinks of best quality. The price is not moderate, but you get the best!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisy0064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous meat”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

young, lively ambiance. great food, slik, professional service. the meat from owner1s state. dont need a fork to cut it. its butterlike

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juscoconsultoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service...”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Cape Town we decided to visit after reading some very complimentary reviews. Everything else was wonderful apart from the service. Our waiter gave the impression that he didn't want to be there and kept kicking my chair when walking past without apology. We had the lamb shoulder ravioli to start which was impressive. My partner and I then shared the 1.2kg florentine steak which was very good apart from being a little under done. They serve the steak already cut into small slices and split between 2 plates making it difficult to send it back, which we would have liked to have done. The chocolate fondant dessert was lovely.

The restaurant does get a bit loud when it fills up making conversation difficult.
All in all, we would go back but would request a different waiter...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bebobrokstedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tremendous food!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I had a 8 hour flight to Capetown, landed, dropped my bags and was starving - so we got advice to go to Carne, jumped in a cab and I have to say it was well worth it.

The staff were friendly and informative and when they showed me the steaks I wanted something bigger, so we had a chat and once it came it was gorgeous, big, tasty and washed down with some lovely beer.

This place is superb with brilliant food - give it a go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Spours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne on Keerom also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Carne on Keerom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing