We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place - friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Head South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Head South Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place - friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We spend 3 nights at Head South Lodge. The hotel looked renovated and was in a very nice condition. We enjoyed our stay very much. We had a nice big room, the breakfast was very good and the staff was incredibly helpful with good tips on what to do/where to eat in Cape Town and in the surrounding country. The hotel is located on a road with some traffic but we were not disturbed by it. It should also be mentioned that the hotel is not located in the city center nor at the waterfront. It takes 15 minutes to walk down to both the waterfront and the city center.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMO1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    58
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
99
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We stayed at Head South Lodge for 6 days at the beginning of April, which was the perfect place to stay while we were in Cape Town. We stayed in one of the new rooms which was spacious well decorated and cleaned to a very high standard. The staff always had a smile and were extremely helpful with suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to eat in. They also arranged our hire car which I would recommend as Capetown was very easy to drive around and there is so much to see. We would definately recommend this hotel/lodge to anybody travelling to Capetown we will definately return here the next time we visit Capetown.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sussexgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 1 week in early February 2010 which was our first visit to South Africa.
Our stay was enhanced by the friendly staff and very comfortable room. The breakfast was always more than adequate with plenty of fresh fruit and local produce.
The owner was very helpful with advice on places to visit and means of transport.
The location is such that the city centre is easily accessible on foot or by public transport but is far enough not to be intrusive.
An hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjwaskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruggge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2010

This hotel/lodge is the best. Nice rooms, very friendly employees.
Mona's smile in the morning makes your day!
Been there now for a couple of times, and always had a great stay.
Honesty bar, which is a great thing!
We had some friends over, never a bad look, no questions asked.
in one word: great!
Marnix & Ntatascha

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marnix-natascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My family stayed at the Lodge for 2 weeks in January 2010. The Lodge is small, cosy and very comfortable. The owners and their staff make the difference between being another customer versus being made to feel special and this is what they do well.
I travel regularly and cannot recall staying anywhere with such an amazing team of people.
The rooms were kept spotless.
The breakfast was kept simple, tasty and well presented.
There was good security with very helpful guys at the front gate assisting with parking and looking after one's car.
The location is first class as it is a stone's throw from convenience stores and one of the Workd's prestiest walksalong the beachfront.
We felt safe whether walking at 6am or taking an evening stroll.
Highly recommended if one is seeking an alternative to a large hotel without any personal treatment.
At the Lodge one gets to feel special.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koops-melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We had an entirely positive experience at Head South during a recent stay. We had been in Cape Town for over a week when we arrived at Head South's door and we earned the right to say that this place is heads above the other places we stayed at! The entire property is comfortable, well-maintained, and unpretentiously stylish. It is immediately adjacent to the Sea Point and Green Point commercial areas, which are active and diverse areas with lots of places to eat, and a short ride away from downtown or the Atlantic beaches. There is a nice outdoor patio and elegant bar as well as a relaxing indoor lounge where you can read the complimentary Cape Times, meet other travelers, have a coffee or cocktail, and chill out. The service is friendly, informed, and very accomodating. While the stretch of Main Road where the hotel is located is perfectly safe for walking during the day, after 9 pm you should use a taxi to be on the safe side (advice that equally applies to the majority of places in Cape Town). There are friendly doorstaff manning the entry gate and front door at all times and safes in all rooms. This place is really a great find. You will not want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lordcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Head South was the absolute perfect place to stay during our holiday in Cape Town. The location was perfect – centrally located between the Waterfront, Table Mountain, and the beaches. We were addressed by name from the moment we arrived and were treated like old friends by every member of the friendly, attractive and extremely accommodating staff.

The room was fit for a glamour mag photo shoot – clean and classy with cool furniture, a sexy shower, and a bed more comfortable than our own. And simply little extras like the iPod dock/alarm clock made it feel like home. I must admit though, the outdoor help-yourself "honor bar" was without a doubt our favorite area, where we could help ourselves to pre-dinner drinks while chatting with other guests.

Breakfast was made to order with everything you could hope for to start the day off right. And every morning we looked forward to Jeffrey, the owner, coming over to help us decide what to explore in Cape Town that day. Excellent restaurant recommendations as well.

If we were to open a hotel of our own, it would be exactly like this. I really can't recommend it enough, and if I ever get the chance to return to Cape Town, there's no question where I will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heads96, owner at Head South Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2010
We have tried to establish who made this review and which room they stayed in, but we haven't managed to work it out.
Please let us know who it is that gave us such a fantastic review and when they stayed at Head South. Needless to say, we love these compliments.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 106 in Cape Town Central
917 reviews
1.2 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head South Lodge

Property: Head South Lodge
Address: 215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Head South Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head South Lodge has become one of Cape Town's leading boutique hotels. The combination of its sophisticated style and funky atmosphere over 18 years, has proven to be an attractive mix for all guests. Position and service are the strong points of Head South. Guests are offered recommendations, and assisted with directions to sites within and outside of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Head South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head South Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing