We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service but not the luxury I was expecting.”
Review of Head South Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Head South Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at HSL for five nights with my wife as our first stop in SA for our honeymoon. First off I will clarify that I would like to give the hotel an overall 3.5 rating, but I do not believe Trip Advisor allows half stars so I settled on 4 overall. Upon arrival we were greeted by the security/door man who handled our luggage. At the desk we met Ramona who was one of two receptionists during our stay. She greeted us warmly and led us to our room. We were in room 20 which is one of the larger and newer rooms.

The hotel seemed to be well located, in the Greenpoint neighborhood. Since it is on the Main Road most taxis could get you to the vicinity with no trouble. Trips to Table Mountain/Lion's Head were about 100-120 ZAR and to V&A Waterfront it was about 30-40 ZAR depending on if they used the meter or not. Just down the road from the hotel, in Sea Point, you can find a Clicks Pharmacy, grocery Store, and numerous Asian restaurants of which I would highly recommend Hisheng.

The room was extremely spacious with a nice desk area against the wall and below the tv, open area between the desk and the bed and nice and comfortable queen size bed. Next to the bed was the sink area, shower and toilet room. To the side of the open area was also a large wardrobe for hanging/storing clothes, coffee maker and empty mini fridge. We certainly did not feel cramped because of the open layout, which was nice considering we stayed for so many nights. We also had a balcony, that is shared with the room next door, overlooking the neighborhood behind us.

Breakfast was served in the downstairs dining room. The selections included a great spread of pastries, fruit, meat and cheese, coffee/tea and cereals. There was also a hot selection of scrambled eggs, grilled mushrooms and grilled tomatoes. You can also ask for eggs to order. Be sure not to miss the chocolate croissants. They are divine!

The primary reason for the reduction in star rating is because, in my opinion, HSL does not live up to its 4 star hotel rating. I found HSL to be more of a 3 star B&B and I was a little disappointed overall. But what HSL lacks in creature comforts (i.e., designer toiletries, hair dryer, room safe etc.), it makes up for in one on one service. Both Ramona and Ted always greeted us with a smile, and more often than not by name. They were always willing to phone a taxi for us, make dinner reservations, confirm our tour/transfer times and check if Table Mountain was open. Most mornings we also were able to chat with Jeff, the owner, and he would advise us on things to do both in Cape Town and elsewhere around the country. We also often made small talk and got to know each other on a more personal level. We always felt welcome and comfortable at HSL.

In short, I had a good experience at HSL. If you are looking for a comfortable and friendly place to call home base while exploring the Cape, then HSL is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocketsfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Head South Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed at Head South Lodge with my 6 year old son for a week mid-February at the recommendation of a friend.The hotel is super relaxed, clean and well located. What makes the place special though is its staff. From the security guys through the receptionists to the kitchen staff, all are universally friendly, helpful and go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Thanks to Jeff and all your team.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlenALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

An outstanding place at a great location. Upgraded us at no charge and let us use a small room for showering the day of our departure at no charge, Honesty bar a real plus. Staff could not have been nicer and owner even mapped out our route to drive to Cape Point (rental car arranged through the hotel). Thought price extremely reasonable for what we got--within walking distance of the Waterfront. Try it!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights in December. A very relaxed hotel with nice rooms and amazingly comfy beds. Breakfast was lovely and everything was always very fresh.

The honesty bar is an excellent idea and unlike most hotels, prices are very reasonable, which makes you more likely to keep buying it from them as opposed to going to the shop which we normally do for water etc.

Jeff and the staff were very helpful and recommended some excellent places to visit.

The location is ok and a good base for exploring the area. There isn't much to do in the city itself, you need a car so you can go out and see all the amazing surroundings. V and A waterfront is a 5 minute taxi ride away.

The room has complimentary internet and TV. If you want a double bed make sure you ask for this before you go as a lot of the rooms have two singles.

Overall it was excellent value for money, especially compared to some of the prices you can pay for a hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M4L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are good, especially the bigger and more exclusive ones. The smaller ones though could use some freshening-up on the windows, otherwise totally okay. The breakfast buffé in the mornings are fresh and contains lots of fruit, although the variety on bread-accessories could be better.

The best thing about HSL is the staff, who all are polite, nice and service-minded. And because the hotel is so small, you get to know eachother pretty well. The location on Main Street is perfect (if a little bit to "high", wouldn't hurt to be closer to e.g. Waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A very nice hotel in Green Point (which is convenient). Jeff and his team are probably the nicest people I've never met in a hotel. We immediately felt at home. I think the Standard Rooms are a bit dark and small, Luxury Room are very nice but if you get the chance try the Deluxe are on the 2nd floor and are exceptional.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurentJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I recently had a 3 day city break at Head South Lodge. I will admit that on arrival at the hotel we had a few misgivings - the area we had driven through to get there was not particularly attractive and instead of the expected on-site parking, we were faced with a massive jumble of cars both on site and on the pavement outside meaning that we had to park some way away, across a busy road. However, once we stepped across the threshold of the hotel, it was a different matter.

We had opted for a superior room and this was on the first floor at the front of the hotel. It was an extremely spacious room with a desk,seating area and balcony - a little table and chair set on the balcony to enjoy the obligatory 'pre-preprandial' whilst taking in the sea views and world outside would have been the finishing touch. As other reviewers have said, the very large double bed was, in fact, two single beds pushed together but we actually like this arrangement as it means that one person can get in and out of bed or toss and turn with little or no disturbance to the other. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the entire hotel. The room facilities were great - walk in shower, cupboard space, WiFi etc. - although I did miss having a hairdryer on hand and it would have been nice to have had a slightly bigger choice of TV channels to watch whilst unwinding before bedtime. During the day when the patio doors were open, there was quite a lot of traffic noise but once the doors were closed and the lined curtains drawn, this was no problem at all.

We were blown away by the breakfast which had been described to us on arrival as a 'simple continental breakfast'. This, it was not! Every day we were offered a freshly prepared fruit salad, sliced seasonal fruit, dried fruit, cereals, meats, cheeses, bakery items and toast, and even though there were ready prepared plates of bacon, scrambled eggs and mushrooms etc, the girl Fridays, Megan and Ramona, were ever ready to cook breakfasts to order.

Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, snacks, alcoholic beverages,tea, coffee, water etc. are available 24 hours a day using an honesty system - you take what you want and write it on the list, to be paid for when settling your bill. A very rare, but refreshingly welcome, facility in the world as it is today!

On a more general note, I would just say that as a couple of oldies we did find the walk to the V&A harbourfront just a bit too much - the 25 minute walk described to us on checking in, turned out to be a bit of a 45 minute trek, and in the heat just too much. However, with a taxi ride being just R35, we didn't attempt the walk a second time.

And finally, the staff. Now retired, my husband previously worked for two of the biggest airlines in the world and as a result we have stayed in some of the best 5* hotels in the world. We have no hesitation in saying that the hospitality provided by Jeff and his team is second to none - they are friendliness and helpfulness personified. 120% attention at all times. Head South Lodge will be No. 1 on our list of recommendations to anyone looking for reasonably priced, superb accommodation for their Capetown stay.

Many thanks to all for a wonderful stay.
Carol Newbold

Room Tip: The room (No. 4) was at the front and it was isolated from through traffic and so was very quiet in...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heads96, Owner at Head South Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Wow! I am humbled by this wonderful review. Thank you Carol and Alan. My staff will love as it rewarding for them to see their efforts complimented to this extent. Coming from yourselves as seasoned travelers makes it all the more valuable to us at Head South Lodge. We look forward to your return trip.
Kind regards
Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 111 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Head South Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Head South Lodge

Address: 215 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Head South Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Head South Lodge has become one of Cape Town's leading boutique hotels. The combination of its sophisticated style and funky atmosphere over 18 years, has proven to be an attractive mix for all guests. Position and service are the strong points of Head South. Guests are offered recommendations, and assisted with directions to sites within and outside of Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Head South Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head South Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing