We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cape Town Central
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Zeitz MOCAA
from $13.74
More Info
from $96.84
More Info
from $88.94
More Info
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveler rating
548
171
66
28
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
548
171
66
28
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grain silo contemporary art amazing building world class museum sculpture garden silo hotel great architecture on display art pieces video installations annual membership audio tour free entry thought provoking worth a visit entrance fee african continent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The architecture and what they have achieved with this old building is amazing and totally worth seeing, but it is the only art work worth seeing. The exhibitions were totally underwhelming and not worth the R200 entry fee. Sure, they may change it from time to time, but what was there when we visited: don't bother. Some may appreciate the William Kentridge exhibition, but we found it disturbing and bordering on the psychotic. Also not allowed to take drinking water into the exhibitions, so quench your thirst before entering. Rather visit the Iziko South African National Art Gallery in Government Avenue, Gardens. It is R30 per entry and far more satisfying - we especially appreciated the latest audio exhibition for rape survivors.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Liesl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitz M, Content and Digital Platforms Coordinator at Zeitz MOCAA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Liesl. Thank you for your review. Our exhibitions change every 6 months and hopefully, on your next visit to the Zeitz MOCAA you will find artworks that interest you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We loved the William Kentridge retrospective today, but that was in spite of having to endure a clunky computer process to self-renew our annual membership. The computer one has to utilize is difficult to use for filling out the numerous pieces of information required. As a Mac user I'm use to friendly systems. This was not. This started our visit with unnecessary frustration...before the magic of William Kentridge took over.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitz M, Content and Digital Platforms Coordinator at Zeitz MOCAA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Peter, thanks so much for your feedback. We take the experience of all our guests seriously and have picked this up internally. We are however glad to hear that you had a great experience at the William Kentridge exhibition. We hope that you’re able to return to the museum in future for an even better overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

Our visit to Zeitz Mocaa was a great experience. We watch what the then grain silo building used to be to what it has become today, it was just fascinating. We enjoyed the museum tour and great value for money. Must see in Cape Town

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AshtonThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitz M, Content and Digital Platforms Coordinator at Zeitz MOCAA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ashton. Thank you for recommending Zeitz MOCAA. We look forward to welcoming you to the museum again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

The beautiful and special building, made within and of old silos has plenty of exhibition space. Modern art every one can visit.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitz M, Content and Digital Platforms Coordinator at Zeitz MOCAA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Erik. Thank you for recommending Zeitz MOCAA. We look forward to welcoming you to the museum again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Must love contemporary art to appreciate this place. Very bizarre installations. Interesting architecture but that’s it. Good restroom

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitz M, Content and Digital Platforms Coordinator at Zeitz MOCAA, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Hi jfd, thank you for your review. Our exhibitions change every 6 months and hopefully, on your next visit to the Zeitz MOCAA you will find artworks that interest you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews