We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Convoy

Cape Convoy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Maximum Fun, Maximum Adventure & Maximum Value,Join the Convoy today and let the good times roll! Memories are Forever.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just arrived back home after a wonderful three weeks in South Africa. One of the main highlights was our day trip down to Cape Point. Rob was not available (toothache). However, our stand-in guide/driver Joe was brilliant.
Joe's knowledge of the Cape (and of South Africa in general) was outstanding and his obvious love of his country was infectious. He took us to every place of interest and allowed us as much time as we wanted - to make the most of each stop.
He was so friendly and considerate towards us that he felt like a friend by the end of the day.
Thanks Joe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DerbyBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    787
    25
    4
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cape Point tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

It was a really good day and we were lucky with the weather. Rob is an experienced guide who knew the best times to visit the different places, avoiding the queues. We saw great places, had fun watching various animals, especially the baboons. The restaurant recommended for lunch was great - good food & wine, great location. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Spectacular Rockin' Day Not to be Missed!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

From start to finish Cape Convoy Tours (via Rob's infectious enthusiasm) had us on an unforgettable trip. Can't recommend this tour more highly to anyone who wants a unique, fun, personal experience of some of the most breathtaking places on the planet. The real joy is that you know from the first moment (like randomly picking up some fellow travellers in the colourful Bo-Kaap) you're not just on some jaded formulaic scripted sightseeing tour. Rob's whole approach is to take the road less travelled (literally and metaphorically) so you wind up at all the superb highlights from Cape Point to Chapman's Peak to even an unexpected spin up to the Rhodes Memorial without another tour bus or queue in sight. Add in some winning Essex charm, fascinating historical ad-libbing, socio-politically incorrect insights (This is South Africa!), a picture postcard lunch location, docile penguins, rude boy baboons, a few feral ostriches and some of the best photo opportunities in the world and you're in for something very special indeed. Looking forward to our next trip already,

Cheers Rob, 1 LOVE from Dave and Mallory ("diamonds are forever") in Dublin.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mallory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Cape Convoy was a perfect way to see Cape Point. Rob is a fantastic guide, in terms of personality, and also having an intimate knowledge of the Cape that benefited us, the clueless tourist. We enjoyed the scenic vistas, experienced a pack of baboons, and got to Cape Point before the crowds and clouds rolled in. His knowledge was especially handy at Boulder's Beach with the penguins. We arrived shortly after a large tour group. Rob directed us to a spot to observe the penguins that was free of crowds and offered an un-rushed view of the penguins.

Make him tell you the prawn joke.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArchbishopofKrejci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

What a great day we had on the Cape Peninsula tour with Rob. Our tour group was only 5 people and very compatible. (Luck of the draw) We had perfect weather, got to Cape Point before the clouds and crowds rolled in. Saw baboons where Dias landed. Was fun watching them try to open the van doors. Took the funicular up to the Lighthouse and enjoyed the spectacular views. Next was Cape of Good Hope where we saw wild ostriches along the road as well as the fantastic waves hitting the rocks. Could have spent hours there. Stopped at Simon's Town, a quaint village, for lunch and a great local beer and malva pudding. On our way back to Cape Town, we took Chapman's Peak road. Views of the Atlantic were beautiful. If you take only one tour in Cape Town, this is the one to do. Rob is absolutely great!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank retaxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Convoy also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cape Convoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing