We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town Delight”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the One and Only for a three night trip to Cape Town. The hotel is very convenient to the V&A Waterfront and the the room was beautiful. The service was professional and friendly without being intrusive and Chris the concierge was very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,412 - 1,418 of 1,660 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

Only 6 star hotel in S/A and lives up to all its stars .
Had a few problems with Internet going down and various lights going off in room (twice)
Service in restaurant could have been better needed to ask for missing utensils and coffee to be topped up etc

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

From the moment we arrived till we left, the One and Only surpassed our expectations. Truly amazing, 6 star experience.

The rooms are amazing quality, you get a choice of pillows and scents in the room. The small attention to detail is really amazing.

The food in Nobu a little pricey but top top quality and experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHolidaysSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Nothing more to say - we are fortunate to have travelled widely and this is the very best ever. Can't fault a single thing and will be back once we've saved up our pennies again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank all_ar0und_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

It's hard for a first time visitor to know where to stay in Capetown. I was concerned Waterfront would be too "touristy" while others in our family thought other areas might be too unsafe or funky. So to be on safe side, we compromised on the Waterfront. Although the area is thick with tourists, it is very nicely done, and the wharf is a real working, authentic wharf. The One and Only is a self-contained oasis, set apart from the other hotels there. The breakfast buffet surpasses any other we've ever seen. The spa is great, the swimming pool set in the middle of a "lake" is spectacular, and the fitness center has everything you need. The rooms are spacious, with balconies with a view of Table Mountain (over the condos on the other side of the "lake"/pool area). Even better, we got the three nights for price of two winter special. We usually don't like big hotels but now see what we've been missing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bouchee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Fantastic service ,beautiful hotel ,top class food, fantastic settings cant ask for better in a hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our honeymoon stay at the One & Only Capetown turned out to be the worst hotel experience of our lives. On the 6th day of our vacation, I made the huge mistake of leaving my engagement and wedding rings in the hotel room as we hurried off to an underwater Great White Shark cagediving excursion. After returning that evening, I was completely devastated to discover that my rings were gone. We immediately notified management and security who assured us that they would do everything possible and told us not to worry about it. Scheduled to leave Capetown early the next morning, we were sure to file a police report before we left and put our faith in the hotel to resolve the situation. Unfortunately, the hotel mishandled the entire incident. I never saw my rings again and the hotel refused to reimburse us despite the following evidence indicating that a particular female housekeeper stole my rings.

The hotel's security system recorded six different staff members had entered our room while we were gone that day. The hotel security manager brought in each person for questioning. However, it took them over four days to bring in all six individuals. They finally conducted polygraphs on each of them. The last individual to be questioned (a female housekeeper) failed her polygraph. They polygraphed her on another day and she failed again for a second time. They then admitted that they were embarrassed by this incident and fired the housekeeper as a result.

Unfortunately we did not have insurance on the rings so we were holding out hope that the hotel would do the right thing. We spent thousands of dollars with them in a honeymoon suite for 7 nights, massage/spa treatments every single day & many lunches/dinners in their hotel restaurants. On top of the thousands of dollars spent, my most sacred pieces of jewelry will never be returned. After two months of patience & cooperation with them, they refused to reimburse any amount and only offered us a 3-night stay at their hotel. They actually expect us to pay for a flight all the way back only to spend more money at their hotel. NO THANK YOU. We were shocked and insulted by their response and expected much better treatment from a luxury hotel. We encourage you to think twice about staying at the One&Only Resorts or any Kerzner International properties.

Thank you for reading and please feel free to contact me if you would like more information.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lonni95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,098 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,325 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#41 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,532 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $580 - $1,512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing