We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but superb quality”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We stayed here with our two kids 5 and 7. A fantastic check in, kids are whisked away by kids club staff and parents could get on with details in peace.
We booked a room with twin beds as we were only staying 3 nights. The room was big enough and very comfortable and had all the amenties you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. Everything looked new (only been open a year or so). We had a superb view of Table Mountain. The spa was adequate, nothing special and typical high rates.

The kids club was so well kitted out that we as parents were jealous! The boys were well looked after. There are only 2 restaurants, Nobu and Maze (Gordon Ramsey). We only dined at Maze, food was nice, but not to our taste.

Staff were well dressed and attentive. Only issue we had was with afternoon tea where staff seemed hapless and confused. We'd get tea but no cutlery or something similar. A little odd really, guess it was Easter weekend and the hotel was quite full but still!

The hotel is right next door to the Aquarium, a must see for kids. There are many restaurants nearby, short 10 minute taxi from the hotel so enjoy! Table Mountain is also around 15-20 minutes away, brilliant day out too.

The famous V&A Waterfront is minutes away, shops, restaurants and the port itself. Love;y but very pricey!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank subzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2010

It is a shame that early reviews have marked this hotel down. We nearly didn't stay there because of this. What a mistake that would have been! The hotel is on the Waterfront and the shops and restaurants are within easy walking distance day or night. The hotel itself is gorgeous. We were in an Island room which was very large with very classy furniture and a huge bathroom. The staff could not do enough for us the whole time we were there. Just an FYI the room service breakfast is all included in the Island rooms - this means whether you fill in the card or other from the menu in the morning. That was the best part of the day - breakfast in style on the terrace. The pool is seconds away if you are in an Island room and it is a beautiful heated pool.

We also went on a day trip with Gerry as recommended at reception. You get a private car with a very knowledgeable Gerry who takes you to all the best places. It is well worth spending the money and not getting a taxi.

The open top tour bus is also only a few minutes walk which means easy access to everywhere. I was concerned about safety in Capetown but that worry disappeared once we arrived here.

Finally we went to Maze for our Wedding Anniversary and it was very good. We have easten at Maze in London and we could not tell the difference!

I am a fussy person and believe me if this hotel was as a bad as the reviews made out, I would have agreed!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DagmarUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The One and Only in Cape Town is a beautiful hotel. The staff are great and helpful and service is fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The pool area and Spa are lovely and the bar has the most speactacular view of Table Mountain. The location is great as it is near to the Waterfront Area and safe to walk from the hotel to there which is really nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Very strange that you have to walk through the bar area to get to the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hankone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

i was here for my honeymoon

one and only by name and by nature

it is a new hotel but we were well looked after- great concierge, beautiful rooms and near the waterfront. location is excellent.

the best thing about it was the high spec rooms

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAZZGLASGOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed almost one week begining of March 2010. Location is perfect. I can't say its the best hotel for family with 4 children but still, an excellent kids club and a lot of care for the babies.
Good food, good servie despite small mistakes that management fixed quickly and efficiently.
Couples without children or young couples with a baby will be really charmed.
Good concierge that organized our tours and it was 100% success such as Cape of Good Hope or Wine lands.
We really enjoyed and I'm sure that the management will correct soon some details.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessShipTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

After a wonderfull expoerience at the One&Only in Dubai our expectations to Cape Town were very high; yet they have been surpassed! Excellent hotel with most friendly and professional staff. Our suite was facing the Table Mountain and very spacious with all luxury amenities. Very relaxing pool area with top service, great food at restaurant NOBU.
Defintely a place to come again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supersonic001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,394 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,823 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $608 - $1,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing