We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arrived at this hotel expecting very little and left knowing that there is only one hotel for us in Cape Town.”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Arrived at this hotel expecting very little and left knowing that there is only one hotel for us in Cape Town.”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We were met promptly on exiting arrivals by two hotel representatives and taken to the helicopter transfer area a short drive away. As this was on the tail end of our first SA adventure and we were only staying for 4 nights so, with time not on our side, wanted to kill 2 birds with one stone and get a birds-eye view of the VA area and Table mountain from the air. The helicopter landed near the waterfront (not on-site) and then the same chauffeur picked us up and transported us to the hotel which was barely 5 mins away. Arrival was swift and painless with reception and greeting by name from the doorman through to concierge well coordinated. Perhaps it would have been nice to do the full check-in process in suite, but reception was quiet so no problems there.

Escorted by a concierge, we took a buggy to the island and our One Bedroom Suite which was simply stunning. In blocks of 4, 2 suites per floor these really are well appointed. 2 bathrooms, decent entrance area with a proper well stocked bar, dedicated butler, on demand RC gas fire place, well sized terrace, 2x 50” plasmas, complementary internet, decent range of Nespressos, fabulous main bathroom and ‘ample’ storage space.

Concierge and butler worked overtime to find solutions to some unusual requirements, but all very efficiently. Good turn down service with Belgian chocs, mood lighting, fire place set, evening flowers, petal bath and a wonderful set of candles.

Thoroughly impressed with breakfast at Maze which offered a wonderful spread catering to most tastes. Nobu is far better than in Atlantis, but lacked atmosphere on the evening we were there…. Saying that, the Oysters and Steak were very good.

Pool was heated and pleasant with lots of personnel to assist with towels, beds etc. Plenty of security all round to make you feel safe and exclusive without over imposing.
The Spa deserves special commendation. E-Spa caters to both men and women and the staff were exceptional. Handpicked from all over southern Africa each treatment far exceeded any treatment either of us had had at the Ritz, Conrad, Banyan Tree Bangkok, MO or Four Seasons. This is not to say that the other hotels were bad, far from it – just to say the therapists here were exceptional.

Not too sure why some reviews complain about the distance from the island to reception. We were at the furthest end of the island and could order one of the many carts which take under a minute to reach Maze and a only a couple to reception, but the walk only takes 3-4 mins even with wifey in 14cm GL heels…

Made good use of the hotel transport which was readily available as a fleet of S-Classes and Bentleys at a very reasonable rate.

Perhaps a niggly issue was that the “Island” is surrounded by luxury apartments which are taller and look over the suites ensuring a fishbowl sensation….but hey, just close the curtains. Or leave them open depending on your mood…..

This is a wonderful, classy and glitzy city hotel situated in a second-to-none location at the base of Table mountain with a powerful/celebrity clientele. And, to be fair, I felt that some of the initial reviews were based on people who didn’t actually stay at the hotel or were unlucky enough to witness opening some of the initial opening teething problems which would plague most establishment opening with such fanfare and, let’s face it, ridiculous level of expectation.

Although not cheap, this hotel aims at a certain clientele and value for money is very good for the level of service you receive.

Arrived at this hotel expecting very little and left knowing that there is only one hotel for us in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishlatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    199
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
395
738
43
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Great initial inpression with an abundance of footmen waiting to carry your luggage from the car. Superb reception area and world class accommodation. Restaurant "Maze" very relaxed and chilled with a fantastic wine cellar. A very comfortable/luxurious Hotel worth every Rand !

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gav2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We had such a great experience staying at this beautiful hotel. The service was friendly and exceptional at all times. We are Starwood members and got many perks we werent expecting. The spa is so nice with the underwater music. Our room had a view of the waterfront and was spacious. I wanted to take many of the staff home with me. The breakfast is just terrific. Our friends also enjoyed everything about this Westin and would return and recommend it. Phylllis Hartt

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2009

I stayed in the One and Only with my partner in October for 4 nights and had an amazing time. We often stay at 5 star hotels and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review.

The hotel was beautiful and luxurious with an amazing bar and lounge area overlooking Table Mountain. Our room was fantastic- - beautifully decorated, big rooms with fantastic views of the mountain. We used the gym every day and found the staff to be extermely helpful and friendly- a real plus to our stay. The car service is worth mentioning as it was extermely professional and convenient- making it hassel free to get around town.

We consider ourselves lucky to have stayed in such a wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A123London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were very lucky to be able to steal 3 nights away for our 10th wedding anniversary and chose to stay at the One&Only. We were spoilt with a room upgrade to an Island Suite, a stuffed toy for our 3 month old, a very good bottle of sparkling wine and delicious treats on welcome. The staff were incredibly friendly and I liked the fact that the hotel manager spent a few minutes chatting with us as we arrived. I have taken stars away on the service because even though dealing with the staff was an excellent experience, the actual follow through was lacking. Little things like forgetting to restock the mini-bar with coffee, taking away the wet towels but forgetting to replenish with fresh ones, forgetting to put the breakfast order card into the room and having to wait quite a long time for these things to be rectified. I'm convinced that these are minor teething problems as the hotel is new and that they will only get better and better once settled... I loved the proximity to fantastic restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was delicious and extensive and the brioche French Toast was probably the best I've ever tasted. We ate at Nobu on one of the evenings and even though it was incredibly expensive, the food was outstanding! Overall, we had a brilliant stay and will recommend highly, as well as return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I must start by saying that we stayed at the Waterfront apartments that are adjacent to the One & Only; However, guests of the apartments are given a swipe key that entitles them to access the hotel, and on checking in you are encouraged to use the facilities of the hotel. We were delighted at the time that we had the opportunity to try the hotel as at the time of booking our holiday we had been told that the apartments were separate to the hotel. We presumed that the hotel management had seen the opportunity to cater for guests of the apartments which given the layout of the complex is logical. We were two families of four staying three nights four days and very happy with the apartments.
We had breakfast two mornings of our stay at the One & Only which was good in terms of quality of the food. On both occasions we were offered the opportunity to simply sign for what we had as the resort is inclusive of breakfast. We pointed out on both occasions that we were guests of the apartments, not the hotel, and paid cash for what we had had. We did, however, come away with the feeling that other guests were abusing the system and that the hotel was losing out. We did mention this and the reaction seemed to be one of general disinterest.
We booked an 8 course menu inclusive of wines for eight people in the mezzanine wine private room on one night of our stay. The party cost over US$1000 which we paid in cash. The food, wine and service was good, but not exceptional. Their property in The Maldives does it much better.
My daughter and my wife together with one member of the other family travelling with us used the spa and were satisfied with their treatments, albeit, not wow'd by the experience. Again, we paid cash for the service as we were not guests of the hotel.
On the final day of our stay we had been on a Cape tour, and we returned to the hotel around 4pm. We all felt like a swim and a relax before the sun went down. We changed and went to the pool area and settled in for the final hour and a half of the day. To our suprise we were told be an abrupt secuity guy that the pool was only able to be used by residents of the hotel. After an awkward couple of minutes I asked to speak to a manager. After 5 minutes the assistant manager of the hotel came down, I explained the situation - that we were staying in the adjacent apartments, had been encouraged to use the hotel facilities which we had done (we thought quite extensivly), and simply wanted to use the pool for the remaining hour of the last day of our stay.
He didnt want to know: the pool wasnt one of the facilities that we were able to use, presumably because we werent paying cash for it, he had "spoken to the General Manager" who apparently was the only person able to rule on the matter (!), who had ruled ( without bothering to talk to us himself) that we were to be evicted. I asked my wife and daughter to get out of the pool and we left.
What a shambles! Our Tips & Guidelines would be for travellers to Cape Town to avoid this hotel at all costs. The brand has a good reputation, but the management of this hotel are arrogant and disorganized, and you come away with a bad taste in your mouth that all they are interested in is taking your money not exceeding guest expectations, which other hotels we stayed at on this trip, such as Zuka Lodge at the Phinda private game reserve, certainly did magnificently. I hope One & Only corporate management read this review and decide to take action in improving their management at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
6 Thank Aussie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Great Location, average facilities, awful service, poor value for money.

The rooms are large, clean and well equipped.

The gym and changing room are in different buildings and you have to walk through the lounge and bar after a work out to shower and change at the spa. Spa and pool are fine, although again separated.

The two restaurants have the ambiance and sophistication of an aircraft hangar and whilst our meal in Nobo was very ordinary and expensive local friends tell me it can be good, it is just a bit hit and miss. The Maze restuarant has no redeeming features and should be avoided at all costs, a point locals agree on too. The bar and lounge area are fine even if the service in the bar is slow.

Although we encountered a few lovely members of staff, on the whole we found the staff to be extremely poorly led, unmotivated, indifferent to customers needs, grumpy, filled with attitude and inefficient.

Rooms are exorbitantly priced and simply do not offer value for money, with the additional missery of poor service there are far better choices in Cape Town - avoid.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,185 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing