We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I am very spoiled and take a lot of time researching my holidays. Last time we stayed in Cape Town we stayed at the Table Bay hotel because we had young kids and wanted to be near the water front. I saw the hole in the ground that was going to be the One and Only and told my husband that when we came back we would stay there as it was also very well located.

I was actually very pleasantly surprised by our interconnecting rooms which were on the Island - unfortunately we had to forego the views of table mountain but as it was cloudy we couldn't see it anyway.

Unlike the last reviewer we found the staff to be very attentive without being over the top. Chris the concierge - who we last saw when he worked at the Table Bay was very professional and courtious and helped us organise our days out. The kids loved the kids club and enjoyed their time at the hotel - unfortunately it wasn't warm enough to use the pool - we'll have to wait until next time. Nobu was a lovely and having breakfast at Maze in the mornings was a joy. The food was displayed beautifully and I ate far too much every day. The only problem we encountered was a leak from the room above straight into our bathroom. It took a while to sort out but when we paid our final bill they offered us a reasonable sum off for our discomfort - that is how it should be done!

Finally, I had a great massage and I used the hairdresser there too - both were great.

I rarely go back to anywhere - I liked Cape Town so much that I went back, and I am surprised to say that I will go there again one day and if I can I will stay at the One and Only...maybe even for the world cup!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilana613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    197
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
721
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

If your expectations are very small then perhaps you will enjoy the experience at the one and only. Its not like you can critisize the stunning decor or the phenominal location. The problem lies with the fact that it claims to be one of the best hotel groups in the world and it charges accordingly. If you are looking for a special experience save your money and look elsewhere, this is definitely not it.

The biggest problem with the one and only is that staff have absolutely no idea how to proivde hospitality at the highest level (or at any level). No matter how good their intentions are its an absolute mess. From conceige who are unable to provide the simpliest details to the cleaners who come into your room even with do not disturb signs! The stunning restaurant Maze houses the amazing quality breakfast food yet staff run around like headless chickens. At times you have three staff serving you at any one time yet other occassions its hard to find anyone.

With so many quality five star hotels in Cape Town its hard to imagine why anyone would need to pay these exhaubant prices at the one and only. Its the type of experience that just leaves you both frustrated and feeling rather empty. No matter how many staff members know your name and greet you warmly, you are just left remembering the five items you ordered from room service which never arrived.

No matter how much you are tempted to try the hotel I honestly would not bother unless you have unlimited pockets and unlimited holiday time. There are plenty of quality hotels in the world which lives up to their reputation. This is definitely not one of them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, having being moved because our original hotel ws going to have building work going on - we were so delighted of the change when we arrived at the One and Only.

We loved the hotel, decor is beautiful, rooms were huge with lovely views of table mountain and staff were very helpful. Nothing was any trouble for the staff. We arrived from a flight at 9am and it was no problem to check into our room early. Breakfast was a lovely buffet with an equally nice hot menu to order from. I used the hairdresser onsite which was very good value (compared with Ireland anyway) and was very pleased with the results.

Location was great with the Waterfront only approx 5 mins max walk away - and a safe enough area to walk with no problems.
Would definitely stay at this hotel if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sillysocks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We only stayed at the hotel for 2 days while travelling in the Cape, but we had a fantastic experience. The valet and doorman we extremely professional upon arrival and we were received by a lovely young lady who check us in. Upon request she gave us a tour of the hotel and facilities on offer and directed us to our room. Once in the room another young lady joined us to show us how all facilities in the room worked (Nespresso Coffee Machine included with complimentary Pods).

Service at both restaurants was excellent (Maze and Nobu) and we staff was attentitive at all times, without being in the way. The food was also extremely good at both restaurants and I would highly recommend both.

We also purchased some Macarons from the on-site Patisserie which were excellent, and then had a drink with some friends one of the evenings in the Vista bar (where you can have some REALLY good cocktails). On this night, there defintiely was no Battle of the DJ's as mentioned in a previous review.

I will definitely stay at the One and Only resort again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazinmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

This was our 3rd trip to Capetown (previously we have tried the cape grace and the westin )and we wanted to try something new and therefore booked for 10 days at the one and only but left after 3 days and booked at another hotel. We felt our kids were not welcomed and the hotel guests and staff had a "let kids not be seen or heard attitude". The rooms were ok but for the price we were paying we expected much more. The room service took forever and by the time the dinner was brought my 4 year old twins were cranky. The hotel is more suited for guests who want to party and be seen and not for families who want a luxurious and quiet holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sabrinajody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We were originally booked at Cape Grace, but decided to try One & Only due to it's remarkable worldwide reputation. Sadly, it did not come even close to living up to reputation of other O&O properties.

Positives:
- Grounds are immaculate and spectacular
- Even standard rooms are quite spacious and luxurious
- Excellent location
- Best hotel gym we've ever experienced
- Hotel car is surprisingly affordable for dinner & shopping transfers

Negatives:
- No proper greeting or reception upon check-in arrival in the hotel car
- Poorly handled slow check-in process
- There was some kind of "Battle of the DJs" competition in the main bar, which is COMPLETELY out of place for a 5-star luxury property
- Restaurant service was atrocious in both venues. Servers literally stand around doing nothing while you just sit and your table waiting.
- Our first room had a malfunctioning HVAC system, so it was perpetually freezing. Trying to move and score an upgrade as a result was like pulling teeth
- The island suites are incredibly far removed from the main hotel facilities and are not worth staying in
- The common areas are a bit too massive, cold, and impersonal given the small number of rooms in the property

Bottomline: The hotel appears to cater to a beautiful and trendy crowd, and even then it does not carry a high level of service. If you're looking for timeless elegance, refinement, and best-in-class service, this is definitely NOT the place to get it. Even one of the department managers agreed with us and thought the hotel was being run very poorly for a 5-star property. By all accounts, it appears Cape Grace & Mount Nelson continue to be the 2 top properties in Capetown and will be for quite a while.

Hopefully Mr. Kerzner visits the property more often and kicks them in to action.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank symantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing