We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its finest”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The rooms at One and Only took my breath away! The bed was very comfortable and you had a pillow menu for your personal comfort. There is also a scent menu in case you like a certain odor in the room. Our balcony overlooked the waterfront, which was a great place to enjoy a glass of wine. The bathroom was amazing--the toilet and shower were behind a wall of opaque glass and a wall of beautiful dark wood closets were on the opposite wall. Each room has it's own door bell! The buffet breakfast was the highlight, though. Where else could you enjoy oysters and champagne, along with an array of any breakfast item you could imagine! The baker must get special kudos for the most delicious almond croissant ever. I've also never seen a staff more attentive anywhere. They go out of their way to cater to your every need, and then some. Thank you, One and Only, for a perfect end to a perfect African adventure.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the waterfront.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peanutsyark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Our world class facilities cater to the needs of families, couples and business travellers alike. We are delighted that our team created true One&Only moments for you and we look forward to blowing you away on many more visits.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,632)
There are newer reviews for One&Only Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

Magnificent hotel in Cape Town with fabulous view of Table Mountain. Luxury and comfort, perfect after spending time on a safari. Rooms very large and comfortable. Customer service Tops. Food is great in both restaurants and at High Tea. Close to V&A Harbor with lots of shopping, food and fun. A must stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sojourn42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on this positive review. Our core value of continuously striving for perfection is a value that our team really takes to heart and it shows that we are getting it right through your wonderful feedback.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

I've stayed in the this property twice now and both times were superb.

The location is faultless right next to the Wharf with loads of restaurants, pubs and shops. There's a great bar with a huge window framing table mountain. The price of drinks are really reasonable.

The rooms are fantastic. The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms with free standing bath. The beds are huge and really comfortable.

The best part about the hotel is the service. It's not stuffy service that many 5* hotels deliver. They were extremely professional but really adapted to each of the clients to make them feel at home.

It's by no means the cheapest hotel in Cape Town but I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lomas1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

We pride ourselves in the smaller details that will have a great impact on our guest’s experience. With most of our rooms having a direct view of Table Mountain and some of the harbor, as well as the fact that each room has its own private balcony ensures that you have an unforgettable experience. Thank you for making us your destination of choice and acknowledging our dedicated service professionals!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is lovely inside and the staff are very attentive. We had a room on the island which was very nice. The turn down service was good with a decent selection from the bar. The breakfast in Rubens was very good I would personally recommend the American pancakes but really you won't be disappointed with anything from the large selection. We were on an early start one morning and the staff packed some muffins etc for us which was handy fir a snack. Afternoon tea is very nice with a wide variety of nice things to choose from. The location is very close close to the V&A waterfront by foot. Really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bry111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

With our impeccable views of Table Mountain, award winning dining and spa facilities, KidsOnly Club and secluded private islands, One&Only Cape Town is the perfect family or couples getaway. You will leave us with a renewed sense of life and energy as our team of dedicated professionals is eager to assist you in creating amazing experiences and everlasting memories. Thank you for writing about your One&Only moments on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great location. Beautiful views. Very nice lobby and rooms (we had adjoining rooms on the island). Service is just not up to par. Way below One&Only Cabo. Way below the Saxon in Johannesburg (stayed there a few days ago.) Staff just seems indifferent to our presence. Had to call to get rooms cleaned .... really. Housecleaning didn't even leave wash towels at the sinks in either room ... How do you overlook that at a 5 star? I really am not impressed. Next trip will definitely stay elsewhere. Probably Cape Grace .... I hear good things about that place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ej123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

We would like to begin by offering you our most sincere apology for the poor experience you received while staying at our resort. To have this time marred by poor attention to detail and below standard service is by no means acceptable.
We have clearly fallen short in several areas in terms of service delivery during your stay. Our service to our valued customers is always an area that we will have full control over and we have seen to it that the necessary action has been taken to improve on this.

We would like to invite you to contact us in order to elaborate further on the areas where we were lacking in your expectations of the resort. We look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice, and the included breakfasts were awesome while the chef was very helpful in personally accommodating for my gluten free diet. The lobby had a funny smell every time I walked in there and the spa area consisted of a luke warm tube and a sauna that wasn't as hot as my hometown, Austin. Overall though, it was a good place to stay to explore cape town, because of its location, and a quality hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

We are so pleased that you went away from us with memories to last a life time. Thank you for your extensive feedback and we cannot wait to welcome you for your next visit to our beautiful resort!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just back from a trip to South Africa where we spent a total of 7 nights at the One and Only Cape Town. The hotel itself including the rooms are beautiful and the mountain/harbour view rooms do have the same spectacular view you see on the website. The location of the hotel is perfect for strolling around the waterfront or catching the ferry to Robben Island and is also very handy for road access to main routes out of the city if you are travelling further afield. Breakfast was fantastic and both restaurants (Reuben's and Nobu) were very good. Nobu in particular was superb! The standard of service was of the highest quality and in fact, some of the best we have experienced. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we really felt right at home. I would strongly recommend this hotel as an excellent luxury base if you are visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sc47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments on this positive review. We appreciate that you acknowledged the colleagues who went out of their way to create memories for you that will last a lifetime. Our core value of continuously striving for perfection is a value that our team really takes to heart and it shows that we are getting it right through your wonderful feedback.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $556 - $1,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing