We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, even better location”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, even better location”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife, my 5 year old son and I have been 5 days in this hotel and we have been very pleased with the accommodation (the view on the Table Mountain was wonderful), the Kids Club (staff was very kind, warm and professional) the food, especially the Japanes Restaurant in the Hotel and the location of the Hotel directly at the waterfront. We will definetely come again

Room Tip: suite 501 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Having the best possible location in the V&A Waterfront allows our guests to walk safely from the hotel to a hub of shopping and entertainment. Our beautiful resort offers the ideal getaway to families with a complimentary KidsOnly Club, a choice of two award winning restaurants and the largest heated infinity pool in the country. We cannot wait for your next visit!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    197
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
720
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed in One&Only for 4 nights in December '13. The location on the V&A Waterfront is fantastic, especially if you want to hike Table mountain and visit Robben Isl. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with even a fellow Irishman as head of the doorstaff. The pool area is it's biggest selling point imho, with a very spacious, well designed area, and the aforementioned Table Mountain looming in the Background. Our room was very spacious (>30m2 with a large terrace), but I think this is because we choose one of the more expensive suites, unsure what the regular rooms are like. Why not a 5 star rating? Unfortunately One&Only can come across a little sterile as it is used regularly for Corporate events (Agrekko were having their board meeting there whilt we stayed). Also, the V&A waterfront is nice, but a little artificial. If you are staying spend time in Camps bay or Clifton to see some nicer scenery

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your One&Only experience. We appreciate your constructive feedback as this allows us to keep on striving for perfection in creating the ultimate luxury experience for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just returned from a 5-night stay here as part of our honeymoon. One&Only CT was our base to explore Kruger National Park and Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Hands down, they are currently No. 1 on our list - we travel a LOT and we have never come across another hotel with staff more hospitable than the team at One&Only CT.

What we loved:-
(1) Service, service, service - We go away for 5 days, and upon our return, the concierge who opens the car door for us greets us by name welcoming us back! When we walked in, the receptionist, and other staff inside also greeted us by name! It felt like we had just come home. Diane, the GM (I think) greeted us almost every morning at breakfast asking how our stay has been so far and even arranged for a little sweets platter with 'Happy Honeymoon' written on it. We also had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room upon check-in. My my, we were very spoilt. Waiters and waitresses were very sweet, polite and extremely hospitable. Hands down, we have never received better service. Guest Relations (Terri) came to know of a mess-up during our stay in Victoria Falls and assisted to arrange for a complimentary car and driver service for us to take us around Cape Town... just to make-up for the mess-up at Victoria Falls and ensure our entire holiday trip was still as pleasant. Wonderful.

(2) Concierge - The team arranged for our luggage to be kept at the hotel each time we checked out to head to Kruger, Victoria Falls, Franschhoek.... the process was seamless. We didn't have to do anything at all from the moment they picked up our bags from the room. We came downstairs to a waiting car to take us with our duffel overnight bags in the trunk and our huge luggage bags in storage. Excellent. Nigel, who liaised with us back home before we made our journey to Cape Town arranged our itinerary weeks in advance and made very good suggestions of what we can do there, where to eat, where to go, etc. Just perfect.

(3) Rooms - We were upgraded to the Junior Suite which was a wonderful surprise! The room is very large, with a living room area, walk-in wardrobe and a terrace which overlooked the One&Only island and had a beautiful view of Table Mountain. One morning, we had breakfast on the terrace and it was just amazing. It's a must-do - enjoying breakfast on the terrace and watching the clouds unveil Table Mountain in the mornings. Just breathtaking.

(4) Breakfast - Good quality breakfast with all the necessary breakfast yummies. Doesn't have as wide a spread as some of the hotels we have been to, but the quality is excellent. No complaints there!

All in all, we loved our stay at the One&Only Cape Town and it was made all the more special with the team of wonderful staff. We highly recommend this hotel. We will not think of staying anywhere else for our next visit.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Table Mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
We are thrilled that the genuine hospitality provided by our dedicated team of professionals contributed to your amazing experience with us. We appreciate that you have mentioned the individuals who had a positive impact on your stay and they are thrilled that they were able to assist in creating everlasting memories with you.

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 4 nights here early December and enjoyed every minute. My room was on the 4th floor and was spacious, clean, modern and very comfortable with amazing views of Table Mountain. We ate in Ruebens restaurant with no complaints at all, the selction of food and wine was excellent. I found all the staff helpfull and courteous. I loved the extras which included free clothes press for 3 items per day, free internet etc.The hotel is a very short walk from the V & A area which is full of excellent shopping eateries and bars. I am already trying to secure a room for another return trip in April next year. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling through Cape Town looking for luxury and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back in April! Thank you for sharing your One&Only moments and let us know if there are any arrangements we can take care of prior to your arrival.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights in November 2013 whilst on a business trip. The hotel is located centrally near the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and is convenient for shopping and the lovely restaurants nearby. It is within walking distance of the Conference Centre and the central business district.

The common areas are superb; light and airy. Staff are attentive and polite. I dined at both in hotel restaurants. Of the two the Japanese restaurant was my favourite for dinner. Reuben's was excellent for breakfast. It served the usual buffet (but very high quality) fare as well as a great a la carte selection including some traditional African breakfast items.

My room was very large by most standards. The only rooms of comparable size which I have stayed in are at some of the top end US hotels. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was opulent and the view of table mountain from my balcony was breathtaking. There was ample wardrobe space. I used the laundry service several times and found this efficient.

It was easy to work at the hotel as it has an excellent wireless broadband service.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to the business and vacation traveller.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have good views of Table Mountain and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hipfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Our location is the best possible location within the V&A Waterfront being 25 minutes away from the airport and a short 10 minute drive into the city center. This allows our guests to be within walking distance of some of the most sought after attractions and entertainment in the world. Our beautiful resort is the perfect destination for families, couples and business travelers alike and we are very pleased that you had an amazing experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Attention to the finest detail is evident in everything you experience at this 5+ star hotel. My wife and I stayed over for a short stay to Cape Town, and will probably never stay in another hotel in the mother city again. Our room faced both the harbour and table mountain. The room and service was flawless.

Dinner at Reuben's was excellent as was the included breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: Room 420 was pretty fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We pride ourselves in the smaller details that will have a great impact on our guest’s experience. With most of our rooms having a direct view of Table Mountain and some of the harbor, as well as the fact that each room has its own private balcony ensures that you have an unforgettable experience. Thank you for making us your destination of choice!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having been to Cape Town about 10 times this was my first time at the One and Only. It's suffice to say that going forward I will definitely be staying here, even if it means I have to save up longer or stay for a shorter period.

The beds are as comfortable as can be, the bathroom is top quality as are all the Charlotte Rhys products. Given it was our honeymoon the staff went out of their way to make it nice and even gave us a bottle of wine in our room on arrival. the concierge was top notch and got us some reservations at a restaurant we couldn't previously get in to. The older chap from Ireland on the concierge desk was extremely friendly and helpful - an asset to the hotel.

Finally in terms of location, there is nowhere better, walking distance to the v&a and very close to the bars and restaurants around long st.

Recommend - and the afternoon tea is a must, even if you leave 10kg heavier....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller21321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Your One&Only family is thrilled that our beautiful resort has become your home away from home. Helping our guests celebrate life’s special moments is what creates true One&Only moments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for every anniversary!

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing