We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One&Only Negative Review? There were a few others in July. Might want to read this.”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One&Only Negative Review? There were a few others in July. Might want to read this.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was hoping not to write this as I have waited two days for a response to a letter to One&Only's management. We spoke many times with Dianne and Robyn while my husband and I were staying there but the two kind women were nowhere to be seen when we checked out. And now no one has answered our letter. I am sure there will be a creative response to this review. Upon checkout we were given the wrong bill at first, then paid thousands of dollars for the worst "high end" hotel experience of our lives.

If you are looking for a five star boutique design hotel do not book here. The spa meets the criteria (aside from flooding showers and squeaking doors) but the rest of the hotel is dated, scuffed, feels corporate and worn down for the high prices.

First - credit to Dianne and Robyn plus concierges Madnee, Linda, Nigel, so many more, who tried to make things right. It simply wasn't enough given the hotel's advertised class. They are five star people working in a crazy place. After a string of mishaps and then having been given the wrong bill, I left in tears! Unbelievable. My husband and I spent much of our vacation feeling stressed over mistakes made and what would be yet to come. The mistakes always arrived just after we would begin to feel calm.

We paid about $700 USD/night average (7 nights) for an Island King Superior room. If superior means a flooded shower, broken appliances and a tranquil view of circling red tour line boats, a terrace facing a portable toilet and nearby construction, then it was indeed superior. When we voiced concern regarding the shower and noise level the friendly and warm staff instantly responded - there were no comparable rooms, just a suite in the main building. After a 12 hour flight we saw the suite with views of the mountain. In some sort of insane state we were talked into paying an extra supplement, a huge amount, to have the suite. It was my fault for agreeing. The hotel graciously worked with us on that, waiving the fee in the end due to constant mix-ups and blunders. Never in my life have I been asked to pay for an unsolicited upgrade. And like many of us here on TripAdvisor I have had the pleasure in staying in some of the world's top hotels (but I'm really bad about remembering to review! I'll do my best from now on)

Here are the only reasons to stay with this hotel: free stays, weddings, conferences, strong desire to spend most of your time at the V&A Waterfront. If you get $100 USD room facing the mountain, go for it. Otherwise I strongly disagree with the glowing reviews - so much in fact I've wondered if they're fake.

Rather than go through all the daily drama I will add some photos from our room. This was a huge one bedroom suite with sitting room - this category may cost around $1200 USD or more. The mountain was beautiful. The view was kind of like Orlando but with the stunning Table Mountain over it. Inside we had squeaky doors, scratches everywhere, stained curtains, housekeepers leaving the front door open to the hallways with our belongings on the dining table while they were in the back room, etc. The list is just too long to share. And I hate to say it because the staff is well-meaning, efficient with many tasks and they were always friendly to us.

I believe the hotel's upper management and especially owners need to look closely at their pricing and advertising. It simply isn't right. So the restaurants are good and the pool is pretty? Not enough. The best thing about the hotel was their alliance with Jarat tours - who got us OUT of that room for a couple of days.

The photos I'm adding tell some of our tale. I do thank the people who tried to help us at the One&Only. But I can't believe I'm regretful enough of a hotel stay that I cringe when I think of it's name. A sad trip...but one we will certainly not forget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wholewideworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Naturally we were very disappointed to read of your comments above, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback and we are very sorry that you did not experience the usual high service standards that we pride ourselves in.

On receipt of your e-mail received on the 14th of October 2013, we had attempted to reach you personally to take the opportunity to thank you for your comments and photographs received from your e-mail and to personally assure you that all of the issues highlighted are being regarded in the most serious light and that each issue had been raised with the relevant head of department for review in the particular areas in order to ensure that your experience is never repeated.

Again, we so appreciate the time you have taken to make us aware of the raised issues, it is through such feedback that we are able to rectify, improve and maintain the standards we have set.

We are sorry that we have not been able to reach you and will continue to try and reach out to you so that we are able to give you our personal assurances.

Bridgit Pautz
Executive Manager – Human Resources
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
404
745
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The place is no doubt lovely and at a great location, however I didn't find it worth all the money I paid to stay there for a night. Thankfully it was a Google conference that I needed to attend and the company paid for the hotel, otherwise I would rather stay at other hotels with same amenities (if not better) at a much lower price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahzad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We appreciate your honest review and thank you for your constructive feedback. We do hope to that you will be back in the not too distant future to enjoy all that our beautiful resort has to offer.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 4nights on our honeymoon and was without a doubt the best service we have ever experienced in any hotel! Great afternoon tea, great breakfast, the staff were great and really welcoming and professional! Would recommend to
anyone and would like certainty go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natlui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Our team is thrilled that they played a part in making this momentous holiday a trip filled with everlasting memories. We are definitely the hot spot for the perfect romantic getaway with your loved one. Our tranquil private islands, oversized heated pool, award winning spa and dynamic dining options makes for the ideal setting to celebrate your special moments!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to South Africa and stayed in some marvelous places, but our final destination the One&Only in Cape Town beat them all. It is a great location, excellent rooms, the most amazing helpful and friendly staff. It is discreet and at the same time very elegant. Not to be missed for whatever reason you travel to Cape Town be it on honeymoon, family travel of a business trip.

Room Tip: If you like a view book a room with a view to the Table Mountain, if you like your privacy and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerO2T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
How fitting that we could spoil you as the grand finale of you visit to Cape Town! Our commitment to barefoot luxury has ensured that you had an amazing experience and as you mentioned we are the perfect destination for a family vacation, special celebration or business trip. We hope to see you visit us again for any one of these occasions.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I came for a Business School program, a great location. It is right at the center of the Water Front in Cape Town. Excellent bedrooms good size with a good bathroom a terrace over the garden and canal, a good SPA and also a Nobu restauranta plus incredible breakfast included. The service is outstanding. Absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the garden and canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are so pleased with your review and thank you for recommending us so highly. Our fantastic location in the V&A Waterfront, world class facilities and dining options seems to have been the perfect choice for your visit. Hopefully you will visit us for a well-deserved break the next time, no work allowed!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We recently spent a week at the One&Only in Capetown. Overall, the property is spectacular, especially compared to other hotels in the area. What really stood out was the extremely friendly and professional staff. The bar makes amazing cocktails and both restaurants are very good. The room service menu needs expanded, but the food was good. The spa was also lovely and the treatment top-notch. We stayed in an Island room which is very private and gives you a view of the lagoon. It was large and well appointed although there was no view of Table Mountain. If a view is what you are looking for I would recommend staying in Marina rise. The only thing negative thing I would mention is that even though the pool is heated it definitely was not when we were there. None of the lounge furniture around the pool was out either, which would have been nice to sit in on a sunny day. Overall though, if I went back to Capetown I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Island Rooms on the lagoon are large and secluded, great for a couple looking for rest and relaxatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrendsettingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for writing about the sincere and warm hospitality that you experienced during your stay. The peaceful surroundings of our rooms on one of our private islands was the perfect setting for your holiday as a couple. It is perfectly located next to the pool and near our award winning spa. We appreciate for your suggestion regarding the pool area; this has been noted and forwarded to the relevant management.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first trip to a One and Only. The service was outstanding in every respect- from and early check into help with a last minute tour.

Great views form the hotel, great facilities and great staff. Unequivocal recommendation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for recommending us so highly and we look forward to your next visit!

Yours sincerely,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,025 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,208 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing