We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel and resort in Cape Town without question!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The One and Only web site doesn't do the splendor and comfort of this outstanding hotel justice. We stayed at the One and Only for two nights as part of a Smithsonian Journeys tour, and we were just expecting a 'nice' hotel that would be fitting for a group tour. We were incredibly and pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room and found not only a spacious and beautifully appointed room with a commanding view of Table Mountain and Signal Hill, but a room were every amenity has been thoughtfully designed into the room for a truly perfect stay. We enjoyed our room (and Cape Town) so much that we extended our stay another three days. From the warm reception we received from Alex when we checked-in, to the morning greetings we received from Aubrey when we enjoyed our sumptuous morning breakfast buffet at Reuben's Restaurant (included with your stay) and the cheerful welcome we received from Enoch, the doorman, when we returned to the hotel each day after our sight-seeing, everyone on staff is incredibly friendly, professional and helpful. The exercise center is the very best equipped and staffed hotel gym I have ever experienced. Grant and other trainers are available, if needed, to provide special workouts and yoga sessions. The Spa is not to be missed. Located on an island in the lagoon behind the hotel, the Spa includes complementary sauna and steam room facilities for hotel guests, a hydro pool (separate facilities for men and women) and a well-appointed locker room and private showers. We opted for 50-minute relaxation massages with Jason and were very satisfied with the whole spa experience. Even if you just stay at the One and Only for a great location at the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront, please don't miss out on the amazing host of options available at the Spa.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

It is a true delight to read about your amazing One&Only moments! Thank you for your positive review and we trust that you will return to enjoy all our wonderful offerings in the not too distant future. Your One&Only family await you!

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at The One and Only. Could not have been made to feel more welcome, by Leah on reception and Chris at Concierge. Was offered a very welcome drink. Shown to our marina view room.Great size rooms and very tastefully decorated. Views from the balcony were of the island rooms,the marina and the majestic Table Mountain. Excellent breakfast in Reuben's. Location of hotel could not be more perfect as less than two minutes walk to V & A waterfront. As a reservation consultant for a UK tour operator for the last 5 years and before that 15 years as travel agent. I shall highly recommend The One and Only in future for the only place to stay in Cape Town

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for highlighting the team members who impacted your stay so positively through their genuine hospitality. We are thrilled with your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again, as well as many of your friends and family to our beautiful resort.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The one and only never disappoints, service, hospitality, food is excellent. We stay in the suites on the island, always lovely. A couple of things did go wrong but the service makes up for it, and they try to make your stay pleasant. Will definitely recommend the Hotel

Room Tip: the island suites are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineBM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are very pleased that you had a memorable stay once again, regardless of the issues you are mentioning. It is because of our guest's constructive comments that we can continue to improve our levels of service. We would like to invite you to contact us in order for us to get some more detail as to how we could have improved your experience. You are welcome to write to me at madeleen.vanlill@oneandonlycapetown.com.

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Bricks and mortar, plastered and painted, well decorated makes it pleasing, but the ONE thing that makes it the ONLY, is the service.
From the moment my car stopped outside, till a very early,05:00 local, check out, the service was exemplary.
No request to bizaar and to return from an outing to be greeted by name really makes you feel at home, how they do it with all that come and go, just makes you feel special.
The rooms are spacious and well designed and for once a towel hook within easy reach of the shower, well done.
Breakfast is good with a wide selection from healthy to the daring oysters and champagne, to confess I did succumb, and eggs just as you like them.
The location is of the best , close to the V&A waterfront for all your shopping, and just a short ride to all attractions in and around this beautiful Cape.
I recommend it to all.

Room Tip: My room on the fifth floor had stunning views of the Table Mountain and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drymen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Well a visit to One&Only Cape Town certainly gives you license to indulge! And we are thrilled that you experienced the best of what we have to offer, of which our extensive breakfast buffet is only one of the several treats under one roof. We pride ourselves in the genuine hospitality that our team delivers with pride and care and we trust that you will return soon to experience it again.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occassions and it never dissapoints. After each stay i am excited to return. The attention to detail and personal touch is wonderful. Service is top notch without being intrusive and nothing is too much.
Breakfasts are wonderful as is the pool area and spa.
BEST hotel in CPT! Thanks for a phenomenal stay yet again

Room Tip: If you in CPT in rainy season stay in marina rooms. island rooms require you to walk outdoors from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

It gives us great pleasure to know that we continue to provide you with service excellence and the genuine hospitality you deserve as one of our valued repeat guests. Your One&Only family eagerly await your return!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our visit to the One & Only was part of a tour we booked through Tauck, and I must say, the hotel certainly lives up to its name. The location was ideal, walking distance from the wharf area and only a short block from the Hop On Hop Off Bus stop. The facility is elegant and well appointed. Our room was beyond spacious by big city standards, with a huge balcony overlooking a lagoon and Table Mountain.
The breakfast buffet was spectacular and made to order eggs and pancakes were available if one wished. My husband especially like the eggs Benedict. We also had two dinners in Reuben's, one of the two restaurants in the hotel. We had our first taste of springbok and malva pudding which is to die for! Had malva pudding elsewhere on the trip, but Rueben's was the best by far. Both dinners were tasty and well served.
The staff was very attentive and helpful, especially the people manning the concierge desk. We were greeted like "old friends" by the doormen when we returned to the hotel after our day's activities. The hotel also has free internet access in the business center.

Room Tip: Rooms either faced the wharf area or Table Mountain. I would pick the view of Table Mountain if giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandeAppleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Our team at Reuben's is thrilled that you enjoyed their genuine hospitality and proudly South African flavours on their extensive and original menu. We are also pleased that you enjoyed all of our world class facilities and that you experienced genuine hospitality at every turn. Thank you for writing a fantastic review on your experience!

Yours in hospitality,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was fantastic - the location, the common areas and the bedrooms were all great - but it was the service that made our stay really superb. From check-in to check-out, every encounter we had with hotel staff was great. There was no request too large for the team at the One and Only, and they always went above and beyond.
The rooms were a great size, with huge and well-appointed bathrooms. The bed was almost too comfortable (it was hard to get up!), and the mini-bar had everything I could have needed - Nespresso machine, a great selection of teas, and more. The biltong in the room at check in certainly came in handy when I needed a bite to eat between meetings.
I'll certainly be staying again when I get back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvanLill, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

We are thrilled that you enjoyed our special touches that give you a sense of place in true One&Only fashion. No request is too large and no detail to small to please our guests and we look forward to spoil you again soon!

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $632 - $2,140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing