We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. Fantastic view. Fantastic location.”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel. Fantastic view. Fantastic location.”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fabulous hotel in a superb location, just a 5 minute walk from V&A Waterfront. The Table Mountain facing room was amazing with breathtaking views. Room had all possible amenities you could ask for and the bathroom was extremely luxurious. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel in a perfect location in Cape Town, this is it!

Room Tip: Table Mountain facing rooms are brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dipzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are absolutely delighted that our location and facilities blew you away and that our service added to your One&Only experience! We do have the best location in the V&A Waterfront and we hope that you will be back soon to capitalize on it again.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    201
    61
    27
    29
See reviews for
406
746
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at the One & Only for a week. The rooms are absolutely superb with great bathroom layout. The swimming pool is great - a real oasis in the centre of the City. Just a five minute walk from the waterfront - be careful walking back at night - very quiet as soon as you leave the waterfront

Room Tip: would recommend a room overlooking tablemountain. The rooms are the same but the view is much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berylruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so happy that you could enjoy our oasis in the city - our pool island is one of a kind and you would never say that the bustling Waterfront is just down the road. Thank you for your positive review and we are looking forward to create more One&Only moments with you.

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My family and I stayed in this hotel in December. This is a beautifully located property right in the heart of the Victoria and Alfred waterfront! The staff are very attentive although when we checked in there where strangely no one at the front court and no doorman? The room on the island was very well appointed with a really luxurious bathroom. The whole island gives u the impression that u on a resort island with good pool service. The food at Rubens and Nobu was good with good service. The only problem was that while we were having dinner at Rubens the whole hotel was evacuated due to a fire alarm. We were rushed out of the hotel and were not able to finish our meal but was still charged for the full meal. The kids club was outstanding with wonderfull staff.
The hotel seems a bit neglected with chipped crockery in the restaurant and dirty soft furnishings in the Vista lounge. Overall it was a good stay but with a few niggles.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your honest and very constructive review. We are grateful for your feedback which without we cannot better serve our discerning guests. Your comments have been very helpful to allow us to create improvement in our service delivery and we hope that you will return to One&Only Cape Town as your hotel of choice in South Africa.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Others have described how beautiful this hotel is, and certainly we were impressed by the views of Table Mountain and the surroundings. The included breakfast was abundant and the cocktails both at the lounge and poolside were excellent. However, it was the staff that really stood out here, especially the concierge staff. Madnee was extremely helpful with our many requests, and Chris solved a dental emergency in quick order. As well, the restaurant and bar staff remembered us after one day, and never failed to greet us warmly. The service is what makes this place five star.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisZ556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are so proud of our dedicated team who took your experience to another level. We strive to personalize each guest's experience and our Concierge team is thrilled with your feedback. We are looking forward to create more One&Only moments with you in the future!

Regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is what 5 star luxury is all about i normally stay in the four seasons brand this is as good and much better value no rip off prices breakfast in bed small extra pool drinks cheap house bubbly cheap stay in a suite on the water

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dub53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are looking forward to creating more memorable experiences for you and our team is delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. We await your next visit in anticipation!

Warm regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballitoville, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We checked into the One and Only in Cape Town and were very impressed with the reception and the room, I have attached photo's I took when I was there which show the highlights of the room and the amazing views that can be seen of Table Mountain.

We would have loved to have stayed longer in this hotel, but there is just one very big problem, the hotel is completely non smoking, you may not smoke anywhere in the hotel rooms, or the hotel floors.

The lady informed us that she suggests that we walk off just a little off the property to have a cigarette, we did not enquire about this before hand due to the fact that we expect all 5 star hotels to have smoking rooms, or allows guest's to smoke on the balcony of their room?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaun_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We appreciate your visit to our beautiful resort and hope that you will return soon to experience all we have to offer.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed at the One and Only for 8 nights in January 2013 with my partner for a relaxing holiday away. The service was excellent, on check in you get a drink and shown around and the luggage turns up promptly. There is a large main hotel with rooms, a gym, a couple of restaurant and a cocktail bar, however we stayed in an "island view room" which is slightly seperate from the main hotel and a little more private and close to the pool. The room was beautiful, the pool was lovely ( though pretty rowdy on Saturday evening, a lot of local South African's seem to go there to party but we didn't mind). The staff were always polite and helpful. Breakfast was brilliant, great variety at the buffet but also you can order anything you like. We ate at Nobu twice ( very good sushi) and Reuben's twice ( fantastic steak). The gym is nice, well equpped and modern. The location of the hotel is also great, right on the V&A waterfront so close to bars, restaurants and shops. Also had a massage each and these were great.
Couple of negatives which stopped this place getting 5/5 for me.. firstly we were constantly ansewring the door to staff bringing us things, tidying, checking if the room had been tidied, fixing things... some evenigns we just wanted to have some private time but were often interrupted. Also our room srpung a leak from the ceiling during the night, this was fixed the next day but our room was full of service men for a good few hours which was mildly annoying.
Restaurants - the food is great and prices good but the service is SO slow! We think this may be a cultural thing, retstaurants outside the hotel were also like this. Also the bath in our room was unuseable, took aobut 30 minutes to fill up and leaked, which isn't great...
Apart from these minor things, this was a great hotel to stay in a beautiful location. Had a great time and would highly recommend staying here to couples or groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are delighted to see that you were able to utilize our world class facilities and superb location to your advantage while you visited us. We pride ourselves in the product we have to offer and so appreciate your constructive comments which will aid us in creating an even better experience for all our guests.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,028 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,212 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,517 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#9 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing