We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous resort - staff thinks of everything!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. With such a big resort I couldn't help but wonder how every staff member seemed to remember our names. We came into our room one day and had a note from management that housekeeping accidentally broke a wine bottle but they had replaced it with the same wine. Very sweet. Oh and I arranged for a surprise picnic on the beach for my sweetie and it was really all out amazing. Blankets, tons of food, champagne all well packed into a basket. They got us a driver who took us and our basket to the beach and it was a perfect morning!

As for the room itself - we stayed in one of the villa rooms instead of the main hotel building and it was worth it. The room was huge, bright, well stocked, and just gorgeous.

Our only complaint - and this was our fault for not locking it up - but a lot of cash was stolen from our luggage and we didn't know it until we were packing to leave. Had we used the safe it wouldn't have been a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Our team is very happy to know that we managed to exceed your expectations with delightful service and ensuring that every request and encounter was dealt with in a true and caring five star fashion.

We are shocked and disappointed to learn about the issue of the cash taken from your luggage and you are welcome to contact me directly should you wish to discuss the matter further.

Best regards,

Madeleen van Lill
Training and Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I spent one week in this lovely hotel, in a room with a great view of Table mountain (loads of apartments in the foreground unfortunately). If it wasn't for the mountain, you could be anywhere in the world, in fact the whole set-up reminds me of Dubai. The decor is pleasant, but not "WOW", and unfortunately there is NOTHING South African about the hotel at all! I would have loved to see decor relevant to South Africa, with a bit of a "Cape Town" feel or flavor to it.
The service and attitude of the staff is really what makes this hotel special. Hats off to an outstanding team.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrottingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Our team will always go the extra mile to ensure that guests have the most spectacular stays here at the One&Only Hotel Cape Town.

Thank you for posting this review


Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The service in this hotel sets it apart from all others. While the decor and facilities are what can be expected from any 5 star hotel in the world , the outstanding service of its employees, from the time you step out of your car until you leave, leaves you feeling pampered and secure in the knowledge that your needs will be taken good care of while you are there. Dining at Nobu was a great experience.
There are panoramic views of Table Mountain from the hotel foyer and bar terrance. Nestled in the Waterfront make access to all the Waterfront facilities effortless and access to the motorways easy.
Our room was spacious and comfortable - home from home.
The trip was for a business meeting , but it didn't feel like it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGray4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

It is always wonderful to hear when our guests receive an amazing experience here at the One&Only Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review , we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location was great, with a fantastic view of the sea and Table Mountain, and within safe walking distance to the V&A waterfront. The service was very good, and the spa was one of the best. Nobu restaurant is on the premises, and that is great as always, though I didn't think food at Reubens, also located inside the hotel, was that great. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eej84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

The service guests receive should always be of the highest quality , we constantly strive to ensure this happens here at The One&Only Cape Town.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the time we landed the Airport rep was there to receive us he helped us with our baggage and took us to the car waiting to take us to the hotel. Right from the time we entered the hotel we were pampered the staff was really helpful and courteous after checkin we were escorted to our room which had a fantastic view if the harbor and the ocean. The restaurants were great with good food and breakfast. The spa was also great and so was the pool. On the whole it was a fantastic trip and all thanks to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Our team was delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us here at The One&Only Hotel Cape Town.


Thank you for taking some of your time to post this review.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very pricey, but beautiful hotel close to the waterfront in Cape Town. We stayed only 4 days because we couldn't afford more! Concierges were very knowledgeable and helpful. We were offered a welcome drink when we arrived, and I chose champagne! Unfortunately, the weather wasn't the best when we were there so we couldn't enjoy the pool or dining on the outdoor patio. State of the art fitness center and drop dead views. Rooms were large and comfortable. I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We did stay 3 nights get 1 night free, but it was still very pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the One&Only Cape Town.

Thank you for your recommendation and for posting this review.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for four nights during our visit to South Africa. What can I say, when you book a One&Only Hotel you have certain expectations and I have to say that all of our expectations were met except for a few small hiccups. We drove up to the main entrance and the door man came immediately to open the door and got the porter to help with our luggage. The valet took the keys and handed over a receipt and whisked away the car. We were led to the check-in desks and were warmly greeted and handed a cold towel to freshen up. We gave over our passports and within minutes everything was settled and we were led up to our rooms. Until now, fast and very efficient service! The rooms were amazing and generous in size. The bathroom was huge with a big bathtub in the middle of the room and a shower cubicle with rain shower and we had a huge balcony with sun lounges. We had some fruits and snacks waiting for us and they had a Nespresso coffee machine in the room which earned a big plus from me! Bed was very comfortable and service throughout our stay was good except that once or twice they did not replace the empty bottles of water and once put a used glass back in the drawer instead of replacing it with a new one. Small mistakes which can happen I guess but not all guests might be that forgiving taking into consideration what you are paying for the stay here.

Breakfast is amazing with a huge spread with live cooking stations and basically you can get nearly everything you need. You could order eggs any style you want to the waiter and it came fast and was delicious. This being South Africa, you have to accept that service is not a very strong point here as sometime our coffee orders were forgotten and had to be requested again or orders mixed up(Happened only once). I know this should not happen at a One&Only but I guess the staff just needs to be trained better and we generally had this problem at some places in Cape Town. You just can’t expect the same professional service you get in Europe but the staff really try their best to make sure you are happy and satisfied.

The pool and spa area is in the central inner courtyard and is breath-taking! There is a huge pool with lots of sun lounges around and also a restaurant by the pool. It was great just to chill by the pool and take in the sun with a cocktail in your hand. There are also rooms in the central island here and they have more of a bungalow feel to it and makes you feel like you are in a resort. Overall I would rate the hotel very good and not excellent only for the price. We got a very good deal for our stay but I don’t think I would pay the internet rates to stay here. But if you feel like splurging, then definitely go for it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgit P, Executive Manager - Human Resources at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for posting this review , we are delighted that you had a magnificent stay with us at the One&Only hotel Cape Town.

We will ensure that the tiny details you have mentioned are corrected as we constantly strive to give all our guests the best experience.

Sincerly,
Bridgit Pautz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,394 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#11 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,823 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#45 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $608 - $1,271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing