We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel esp for family”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel esp for family”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in September for 4 nights with 2 kids. We opted for the villa rooms and loved how spacious they were. The staff were extremely friendly and every simple need was catered for. My kids loved the attention as the staff ran them special baths every night, and we kinda had to drag them away from the kids room as they loved all the activities.Trust me that was wonderful as hubby and I got to enjoy some quiet time.Turn down service is always welcomed and we loved the fact that the room was always tidied when we left. We were offered shuttle services to the waterfront and even if you choose to walk its a short 5 min walk which is lovely as you use the dedicated pathways. We also enjoyed the Nobu restaurant which is a must visit if you love Sushi and Japanese cuisine. I was a bit disappointed with the breakfast at Reubens as the menu never changed and the buffet was exactly the same each day. A must have and experience is the gorgeous high tea. I have stayed twice at this hotel and will continue to book my Capetown breaks here as the entire family really loved it.

Room Tip: Choose the villa rooms as they are very romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The entire One&Only team from Housekeeping, to Kids Club, Nobu and Vista Lounge, were so delighted to read the review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!

We are very happy to learn that you have been able to relax and enjoy the resort, while the kids were so well taken care of!
We are looking forward to welcome you back again for an even better experience!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,238
    198
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
384
729
42
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently returned from a 4 night stay at The One and Only. The name is fitting as this may have been the best hotel experience we have had, The rooms were very nice, well appointed (great shower with a separate tub, even a Nespresso machine for a wake up espresso) and the grounds quite pretty. If the weather is good, there is a very nice pool. The hotel is well situated, only a short walk from the waterfront. The staff was outstanding; they felt like friends (many of whom actually knew our names) by the time we left. Buffet breakfast was well done and varied. The staff was also very helpful in arranging tours, transportation, reservations, etc. I would hightly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is an absolute pleasure to learn that you have had such a great stay with us and we are so happy that you have experienced at first hand the genuine hospitality of all our team members!

Our entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon and enjoy once again our beautiful resort!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the One and Only Cape Town for 3 nights in September at the start of a South Africa holiday which would include several stops on the garden route and a Safari. It was the perfect place to start an amazing holiday. Firstly the location was brilliant, a short walk to Victoria & Alfred Waterfront and with brilliant views of Table mountain. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The decor throughout the hotel is modern but classic and the rooms have all you would expect and more from a five star property. The food in the restaurants was faultless, Overall we thought the hotel was fantastic and we wouldn't want to stay in any other hotel in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jollybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are so delighted to learn you had such a fantastic stay at One&Only Cape Town and that you have enjoyed the facilities of the resort!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and have another memorable stay with tour now One&Only family!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

One and only Cape town is truely ONE AND ONLY.

The services was amazing you could not walk in the lobby without bieng greeted by each and every staff member you in counter,the food at Rubeensmind blowing.They can tailor make you a meal fit for a king or queen in my case,

The kids where gone the whole day (not that im complaining)the kidz only club kept them entertained for hours,whilst my eldest daughter and i were entertain as well be the free spa facilities,we where in eaven.

the rooms were extremely spacous and the bathrooms were stuning,never had to calll even once for towels because they made sure we had what we needed.the view from the room was breath taking and the hotel is situated at the best spot possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamogelo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so excited to learn that you had such wonderful stay with us!
Genuine hospitality is indeed what we aspire to give to every single guest that stays with us , as well as an unforgettable experience from the food , to the Spa and of course very importantly the Kids entertainment.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another one and only experience! Once again thank you so much for your feedback!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked the hotel for a 10 day holiday on the internet based on the experience of others. They did not do it justice. A wonderful hotel with all the amenities and staff who went more than the proverbial extra mile. They were like family and couldn't have done more. Sitting in full view of Table Top mountain and with the harbour a stone's throw away the hotel was a main feature of our experience of Cape Town. Meeting up with relatives and savouring the fusion of food and the Stellenbosch wines was a real added bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garthdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, our team members were so happy to learn that they managed to make you feel part of the wonderful One&Only Family through their friendliness, passion and genuine hospitality. They were so excited to read your review!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon to your One&Only family in the Mother City!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had seen write ups on this hotel and had driven past to the Waterfront without noticing its access road. My,.....very impressive entrance, not overdone. Modern but tasty and coomfortable. Oversizes couches and lamps, and the gigantic Table mountain view , framed by tall windows. Had a room on the small island, felt like a Venice. Beautiful, big comfortable rooms with fastest wifi access and all the amenities. Will not stay anywhere else again. Top class hotel restaurants and their afternoon tea is world class.

Room Tip: If you wanna splurge get the island rooms. You get space but compromise on view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review; it is such a great pleasure to learn that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us and that you will become a member of the One&Only family!

We are looking forward to welcoming back soon and have another fantastic stay!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were very fortunate in being upgraded to a suite when we checked into this hotel. It was the largest hotel accomodation we have ever had. Huge bedroom, a living room, two bathrooms, dining room, living room, and professional kitchen. All of this was tastefully decorated. Wow! Service at this hotel is also exemplary. After one lunch at Reuben's we asked for a take out container for leftover pizza which we forgot about and left at the restaurant. The staff at Reuben's had it delivered to our room. On another occasion, we wanted to eat at Nobu's but it was closed to guests because of a function. Guest relations arranged for us to be able to order from the restaurant as room service. Spa treatments are out of this world - very relaxing. Our only criticism is the menu at the pool restaurant, Isola and the quality of its salads. The menu is unimaginative - choice of various pizzas, various Caesar salads, and a few calzones. The salads were drenched in dressing and barely edible. Needs an ethnic theme such as Italian that has a varied menu of such ethnic items, e.g risotto, pastas, steak florentine, etc. However, regardless, this is a great hotel and we hope to visit another One & Only resort soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are delighted to learn that you had such a fantastic stay with us at One&Only Cape Town!
It is an absolute pleasure to know that our team members’ service excellence culture has enabled you to have a great experience, enjoy the resort and its great facilities.

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback as far as the Isola menu is concerned, we have taken your recommendations in a very serious light, and a new menu is being launched on the 1st of November, with lovely choices of fresh dishes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic experience either in Cape Town or at another beautiful One&Only property!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,688 reviews
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
City Bowl
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel
#10 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing