We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One & Only way to go in Cape Town!”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the One & Only for four nights in September 2012 to kick off a two week holiday in South Africa. This is a modern, full service hotel in a great location within walking distance of the waterfront, restaurants and shopping. The lobby is gorgeous and the rooms are contemporary, oversized and decorated beautifully. We were offered an upgrade on arrival and opted to stay in one of the multi room units on the island. It featured a huge bedroom and en suite, living room with fire place, dining area, full kitchen and a beautiful outdoor deck. It was more as though we had moved into a house than a hotel room. The service was outstanding, delivered with genuine warmth. The food from room service was fantastic and delivered very timely even though the island rooms are quiet a distance from the kitchen. There is a Nobu at this property and the food and service was very, very good. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge -- again fantastic service - when we wanted a special bottle of wine that appeared only on the restaurant menu, the staff was happy to oblige. The concierge service at this property was also top notch, friendly and efficient. I would return to this property when in Cape Town. It has a wonderful balance of care, comfort and beauty topped only by its incredible staff.

Room Tip: The island suites are not connected to the main building.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!
The entire team was so excited to see your review and very happy that you truly enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great experience, from the Food and Beverage outlets, to the Room Service, Front of House- Concierge, to the fantastic physical attributes of our resort.

The genuine and warm hospitality is what make a hotel a home, and we are so delighted to learn that it is exactly what you experienced.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and become part of the One&Only family.

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven-Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,633)
There are newer reviews for One&Only Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,213 - 1,219 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

I recently visited the spa at the one & only hotel in Cape Town - what an amazing experience - I went with a friend - they have great facilities and my massage therapist Alexandra was very good. The massage beds are amazing - it can heat up and can be manipulated electronically to suit your posture. It is also wider than most massage tables so that heavier set people like myself can easily turn over. GREAT! very comfortable. since it was not high season we were allowed to swim in the huge outdoor pool which is semi-heated. overall a fantastic relaxing and pampering experience.

Room Tip: sorry i have not stayed at the hotel - just used the fantastic spa facilities
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

The One&Only team and especially our fantastic Spa Team would like to thank you for your review!
We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our Spa facilities, as well as our lovely pool area and we trust we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon and definitely stay with us as well and enjoy our beautiful rooms, delicious food and genuine hospitality!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

A memorable 5 days here for all the right reasons. We were expecting high standards and they delivered. Arriving at 9am on the Monday morning we were given a drink and complimentary breakfast while our Island Suite was prepared. After breakfast it was ready and we were shown to it. Beautiful suite, lots of space, huge comfortable bed and Esperanto seating area. Nicely positioned balcony. All the island suites are well positioned for the pool and spa. The location towards the back of the V& A was perfect for us. Nice and quiet, safe but a 5 minute walk and all the bars, shops were right on our doorstep. The service was excellent, housekeeping, room service, pool service and restaurants. We were looked after superbly. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tedsmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, it is so fantastic to see the great feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!

It is always such a pleasure to receive compliments on our team member’s delivery of service, as well as the great facilities of the resort!

We are delighted to know that you would like to return soon, we are looking forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The One& Only hotel is simply THE best hotel in town, and beats its only direct competitor (the 12 Apostles hotel in Camps Bay) in almost every aspect, except location. Like some of you, I like it to plan my travels in depth, and as such, I always consult websites like Tripadvisor & Kiwicollection, as well as magazines like Conde Nast Traveler. To give you an idea, we have stayed in many high end resorts all over the world before, so we are used to luxurious holidays. On this occasion, I was travelling alone for business.

Just that you know, but I am a huge fan of Cape Town, its inhabitants and its stunning surroundings. There is no other city that is as equally beautiful and has the same vibe as Cape Town, although Vancouver comes closes. In that aspect, the One & Only hotel reminds me a lot of the Fairmont Pacific Rim in Vancouver (and could maybe “copycat” some ideas of their Vancouver colleagues: see suggestions).

This is what I liked about the hotel :

- service : absolutely top notch ; the staff is amongst the friendliest I ever encountered in a luxury hotel, and they seemed to care genuinely about me. I was travelling alone, and I was taken care of very well. After 1 night, they even upgraded me to another room (because I preferred a King Sized bed). Kudos to the staff.

- rooms : this was the most splendid room of a city hotel I have ever staid in. It felt like being home away from home. The rooms are oversized, very nicely decorated and lightened. The beds are heavenly. I can recommend everybody to stay in a higher floor Marine room to enjoy the view of Table Mountain. While the view is spectacular, the balconies faces north and as such are in the shade almost all day (but frankly, why would you want to spend your time on the balcony in a city like Cape Town)

- Design/architecture : very impressive lobby and overall very nice and modern layout that definitely feels 6 star.
- The pool, on a private, man-made and lush island, is very large and appealing, but it was – in contrast to what they state on the website – not heated. It is only heated in summer months.

- Food : excellent, both room-service, Ruebens and Nobu, although I did not really like the architecture/atmosphere of both restaurants (far from an intimate dining experience). Breakfast was beyond words, with fresh juices and even oysters.

This is what I did not like so much about the hotel, and I take the opportunity to give some suggestions to the owners to probably make their hotel the best city hotel in the world.
- Location : while many will consider the Waterfront to be the best location in town, I do not share this opinion as the real beauty of Cape Town is found on its Atlantic shore with some of the most amazing beaches of the world. You cannot change the location of a hotel of course, but when I stayed at the 12 Apostles hotel, they offered a free shuttle every hour from 8 am to 9.30 pm from the hotel to Camps Bay and the Waterfront (which everybody seemed to enjoy and make use of). Now, this is what I missed at the One & Only : a complimentary shuttle to Camps Bay. I would have added so much to the experience, and the hotel should definitely be able to afford that. They could offer their guest with one simple shuttle the possibility to beachcomb and enjoy the best sunsets in the world, and bring the Atlantic Coast to the One & Only.
- I can understand that the pool is not heated in winter months (but they should mention that on their website). But they could learn something from the Fairmont Pacific Rim hotel in Vancouver. The latter hotel has a very nice and large outside hottub as well as a fire pit. Now that would have been a nice experience for the high-end clientele at the One & Only in Cape Town as well, sitting in the outdoor hottub or coziness around the fire pit, on those chilly evening with a mighty sight on Table Mountain. Maybe an idea for the future ?
- The hotel must have an unbeaten view from its unused rooftop space. Why not introduce a little bit of New York and install a sunset rooftop bar, which would blow your clientele as well as Capetownians away. A premier for Cape Town.
- Security : I do not understand quite well why everybody can walk in from the street on to the island on the path surrounding the hotel. I would make a gate here, as otherwise, one day or the other you would attract (and make it very easy) for some people with not so nice intentions.

Room Tip: room at high floor
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We highly appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the One&Only Cape Town and would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the Trip Advisor visitors such a fantastic feedback on our resort ,as well as absolutely great ideas for improvement.
I will share your comments with our team, with particular reference to the friendliness of the staff and their genuine hospitality, the appointment of our rooms and the fantastic dining experience. I am certain the team will be encouraged by your remarks, as we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations and constantly improve our services.

Thank you so much for your suggestions. They have all been all shared with our Management Team, i.e. from the shuttle to Camps Bay, which we do offer in the busier season when guests are visiting the beautiful beaches more frequently, to the outside hot tub and fire pit, which is indeed such a fantastic idea. As far as the rooftop space which indeed would be ideal for an amazing rooftop bar, the resort has three outstanding private Penthouses on the 6th and 7th level.
Your feedback on the security concerns has been shared with both with our Security Manager and Executive Operations Manager, and I can assure you, they have already taken your feedback to heart with immeditatie actions, as our guests’ security is of paramount importance.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and your fantastic ideas for improvement, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had our wedding reception at the One&Only Hotel and we must admit that it was a fairy tale wedding.

We were treated like royality and this included our guests not just us as the bridal couple. The service was amazing, the food was divine and we could not ask for a more beautiful venue.

The wedding planner, Adele Bennet, was even more amazing, she took care of us from first the day we set foot in the hotel until our beautiful day came to an end.


We recommend the One&Only not only to people who spend the night but to couples who want the best wedding venue in Cape Town, you wont need extras for decor because the landscape is more than beautiful.

An unforgettable wedding day
Cherise and Stephen

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrie_l_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

We were so excited to read your review, Adele and her team were absolutely ecstatic to learn that they delivered a “fairy tale wedding”, with unforgettable unique moments for both of you on this special day in your lives.

On behalf of the One&Only Team, I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind words, especially the great compliments on our team members’ service, as well as our fantastic resort, from the culinary experience to the beautiful landscape.

Once again, thank you so much for your feedback and for the time you took to write the review!

The entire team is wishing you the very best, and we trust we will see you again next year to celebrate your first Wedding Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The One&Only Cape Town is absolutely fantastic. After a very long flight from the US, the comfortable luxury of the hotel was a welcome change! There is not ONE thing I would change about this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights, and I was reluctant to leave. The location is perfect on the V&A waterfront and the guestrooms are spacious and luxurious (I think it may have had the best hotel bathroom ever!) I would highly recommend a room on the 5th floor, as we had an amazing view of Table Mountain. The food is outstanding throughout the hotel; we took advantage of the included breakfast at Reuben's each day, and we ate dinner at the hotel twice - once at Nobu and once via room service. As for the facilities of the hotel, the spa is world-class. It is an "ESPA" spa, which is known for being very good - and very, very expensive. Not only was the treatment amazing, it was reasonably priced! For comparison, a massage at the ESPA spa at the Peninsula New York costs about double what I paid here. Overall A+ hotel - I hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNCdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

It is a great pleasure to learn that you had such a fantastic stay at One&Only Cape Town, full of memorable experiences from the fantastic room view of the Table Mountain , to the wine and dining experience and of course the visit to the ESPA Spa !
Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write the review!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and offer you another memorable One&Only experience in the Mother City!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

An amazing hotel...we stayed here with our two children 8 and 9 yrs. We stayed in a standard room. It was huge...with two queen beds and an amazing view of the harbour and table mountain, complete with children's robes. The room was incredible but what really made this place amazing was the service. They made us feel so welcome with children which doesn't often happen with 5 star luxury hotels. Thank you to Diana and her team for such a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are huge and fit a family of four easily. Ask for 5th floor for amazing views of Tab...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowderKegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us the feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town! We are so happy that you had a true One&Only experience and that the children also enjoyed their stay, our Kids Councilors love to spoil them in the Kids Club!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and spoil you and the kids even more!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $556 - $1,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing