We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An all-time favorite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An all-time favorite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The One&Only Cape Town is absolutely fantastic. After a very long flight from the US, the comfortable luxury of the hotel was a welcome change! There is not ONE thing I would change about this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights, and I was reluctant to leave. The location is perfect on the V&A waterfront and the guestrooms are spacious and luxurious (I think it may have had the best hotel bathroom ever!) I would highly recommend a room on the 5th floor, as we had an amazing view of Table Mountain. The food is outstanding throughout the hotel; we took advantage of the included breakfast at Reuben's each day, and we ate dinner at the hotel twice - once at Nobu and once via room service. As for the facilities of the hotel, the spa is world-class. It is an "ESPA" spa, which is known for being very good - and very, very expensive. Not only was the treatment amazing, it was reasonably priced! For comparison, a massage at the ESPA spa at the Peninsula New York costs about double what I paid here. Overall A+ hotel - I hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNCdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
It is a great pleasure to learn that you had such a fantastic stay at One&Only Cape Town, full of memorable experiences from the fantastic room view of the Table Mountain , to the wine and dining experience and of course the visit to the ESPA Spa !
Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write the review!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and offer you another memorable One&Only experience in the Mother City!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,199
    194
    55
    27
    28
See reviews for
371
704
41
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

An amazing hotel...we stayed here with our two children 8 and 9 yrs. We stayed in a standard room. It was huge...with two queen beds and an amazing view of the harbour and table mountain, complete with children's robes. The room was incredible but what really made this place amazing was the service. They made us feel so welcome with children which doesn't often happen with 5 star luxury hotels. Thank you to Diana and her team for such a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are huge and fit a family of four easily. Ask for 5th floor for amazing views of Tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PowderKegTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us the feedback on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town! We are so happy that you had a true One&Only experience and that the children also enjoyed their stay, our Kids Councilors love to spoil them in the Kids Club!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future and spoil you and the kids even more!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Dear Adele,

On this beautiful day I would like to say THANK YOU for the most beautiful wedding that you arranged for us!!!!!

Ingrid of course was the most beautiful bride that her mother has ever seen and One & Only complimented every minute of the day!

We are very appreciative of what you have done for us!

All the best in your future endeavors and you are just the BEST!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyD163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We were absolutely delighted to read your review, Adele and her team were so happy to learn that they made this unique day in your life become” the most beautiful wedding” with unforgettable moments for both of you!

The entire team is wishing you the very best, and we trust we will have you with us again to celebrate your first Wedding Anniversary!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived after many hours of flying and delays, and were so pleased with our first sight of One and Only. We were taken to our room, which was truly spectular. We were on the fifth floor, facing the bay with a perfect view of Tabletop Mountain. All ofnthe functions, switches, and locations of venues in the hotel were explained to us. Breakfast, which was included in our rate in Rubens Restaurant was excellent. Unfortunately, time did not permit us to use the spa. The location is ideal for the waterfront, but not really centrally located to the downtown area of Cape Town..I'd you want to visit museums, etc.

Room Tip: As previously stated, facing the bay, and tabletop mountain...on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailpassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
It is such a great pleasure to share with theTeam your excellent review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town!
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us the feedback!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hopefully next time around for a longer time, so that you can enjoy all the facilities at leisure, especially our superb Spa which is a definite must while on the property!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had one&only experience in Cape Town. Such a fabulas hotel and awesome staff.We wii stay there again if we ever go back. Hotel provides complimentary car service to the shopping mall and nearby areas. They arranged 2 full days private tour. They two restaurants with great food.They made our stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room with a view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for the fantastic review on your recent stay with us, it is an absolutely pleasure to learn you had a great experience! We are looking forward to welcoming back again to our beautiful resort and have another memorable experience with One&Only Team!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful property in a great tourist location (V&A waterfront). Hotel is virtually brand new. Beautiful huge bar area in the lobby is striking, as is the chic boutique there. Our room was huge for a city hotel, with fantastic views of Table Mountain. Sadly, we didn't have time to use the spa on the "One & Only island", but it looked really cool.

The concierge service, specifically Chris Noone, deserves the highest praise. Even several months before our stay, I wanted to make particular dinner reservations in franschoek and set up car rentals and a driver for a wine tour. The concierge (Nigel Oosthuizen) made this process as seamless as possible from halfway around the world before our arrival, and Chris helped us while we were there, specifically coordinating the location and arrival of some missing luggage. The tour company with which we worked for our wine tour driver really stood at attention whenever the O&O concierge was copied on emails; apparently the O&O name really carries some weight around town.

Overall, this is a great hotel I'd highly recommend while staying in Cape Town. Others asked why we chose the O&O over the Cape Grace, given these two are sort of known as the two best hotels in town. We were looking for a cool, new, modern city hotel with great service - and that's exactly what we got!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worktravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the review on your recent stay at One&Only Cape Town and for your kind words.
We are so happy to know that you had such a fantastic stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback; Chris Noone and Nigel were so delighted to read your review!

We are looking forward to welcoming back again at our beautiful resort and have more time to enjoy all the great facilities available!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A Very Big Thank You to Adele for the meticulous planning and execution of all our wedding requirements and to Chef Garth for catering to all our specific dietary needs to perfection. Your teams effort and professionalism made our wedding day stress free and enjoyable, making this a truly momentous occasion.

Much appreciated

Seelan and Nancy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florentina P, Training and Quality Assurance Manager at One&Only Cape Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
On behalf on One&Only team, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write the review on Trip Advisor and for choosing One&Only Cape Town for such a special and memorable day!

We are so happy that you had such a fantastic experience that will stay with you forever!
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming back at our beautiful resort!

Sincerely,
Florentina Heaven Popa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#20 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing