We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel in a wonderful city”
Review of One&Only Cape Town

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
One&Only Cape Town
Ranked #15 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel in a wonderful city”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

What a fantastic hotel, and as 5 star prices go, what excellent value for money.

It was our first trip to South Africa and we didn't really know what to expect. We'd chosen Cape Town as there was plenty to do and also because of it's relative safety. We'd been unsure which of a few hotels to pick but without doubt we made the right choice.

The hotel is at the V&A Waterfront and is a 5 minute walk from the restaurants and shops. It means a walk along the road that leads into the V&A but this is a very safe walk in what is a controlled area and it is as central as pretty much any hotel if you are going to be spending a bit of time at the waterfront.

The staff at the hotel were all excellent. Service around the pool could have been a bit better, but I think that is probably being overly picky.

We had a standard room but it was very large and the views over Table Mountain were simply stunning. These rooms are in the main building which is only a couple of minutes walk from the pool and spa.

Breakfast at Reubans was top notch and again, the service in there was everything you would want it to be. We also had a meal at Nobu one night. The food in there was also superb and although expensive by SA standards, it is probably the cheapest Nobu you could visit. I'd highly recommend it.

Getting around is easy enough either by taxi or using the open top bus which departs from right outside the hotel.

If you are going to Cape Town, either as a holiday or on business, I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have wonderful views overlooking Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldham_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    197
    60
    27
    28
See reviews for
383
720
42
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Arrived on 11 February after an overnight flight from Heathrow, from the time we arrived by car to the time we left 2 days later we had excellent service from all members of staff involved. Our first floor corner room was very spacious, loved the shower. Thank you for making my birthday special and for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fansKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We loved our stay at this One & Only. It was a beautiful hotel that was in a great location across the street from the V & A Waterfront shopping area, yet it was a little oasis in the center of Cape Town. The room was comfortable and immaculate with a large bathroom and terrace overlooking the back of the hotel with a stunning view of Table Mountain. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and the staff was always courteous and helpful. I had to terminate my reservation unexpectedly and the manager was kind enough not to penalize me in any way. That was something we valued and appreciated. For a large hotel you felt that you always received personal attention and that counts for a lot.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Stayed Feb2012 for 3 nights at the One&Only in Capetown.
The hotel is located directly in the newly shaped Cape Town Marina at the foot of the famous table montain.
Large building complex with additional island rooms surrounding the back side of the hotel.

Arrival:
was a bit hectic, a lot going on at the receptions. But very friendly staff to help you out.
Stay:
we stayed on the island itself with a heated pool and a very nice Spa facility.
The roam was very spacious, modern african style furniture, an individual balcony and a very large bathroom. Espresso Machine, Flatscreen, iPod Radio and large cupboards.
Dining:
Only Nobu restaurant in Africa is located at the ground floor of the main building, aswell as a Reuben's restaurant (SA top chef with another restaurant in Franschoek).
My tip for good quality food is the Isola restaurant next to the pool at the islands. Lighter dishes with a very nice interior to enjoy a resort style stay.

In a nutshell: pricy, but a suberb location which allows you to enjoy a relaxing stay although you are in the midst of the busy city of Cape Town. (Therefore "only" 4 points in the category Value).
A lot of places are in walking distance and I highly recommend the Aquarium next door, a trip up to the table mountain and a ride along the coast line up to Cape Of Good Hope.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up and see the table mountain in the morning, do not stay on the island! Your vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights This is an expensive hotel with all the facilities you would expect in a hotel of this class
Impeccable service, high quality buffet breakfast and very helpful staff
Good location on the canal and walking distance to the V&A Waterfront which is very lively with lots of restaurants and shops Near the City Tour bus stops which is a very good way of getting around the sights.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdithWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was there for Indaba conference and stayed at my own villa. However I was spending each evening at the hotel. I had dinner at both their restaurants and drinks in the lobby bar. Top quality service

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The one and only is a wonderfull hotel,with views over the marina and a backdrop of Table mountain its a pleasure to open the curtains in the morning
Everthing at this hotel is right, great breakfast either at Ruebens or served on your balcony
Dinner at both Nobu and Ruebens were excellent and good value for money
Vista lounge offers great cocktails and views of the mountain
The location is great for access to the V&A waterfronts many bars and restaurants

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are excellent and large why pay for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrummieGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One&Only Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One&Only Cape Town

Property: One&Only Cape Town
Address: Dock Road, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront | PO Box 51289, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Cape Town 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One&Only Cape Town, one of the finest resorts in South Africa. This urban chic resort brings an unprecedented level of luxury to Cape Town, one of the world's most fascinating cities.With captivating views of Table Mountain from its enviable location in the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, the resort is a destination unto itself. Discerning travellers are invited to discover the celebrated cuisines of Nobuyuki “Nobu” Matsuhisa and Reuben Riffel, socialise in the high-energy vibe of Vista Bar & Lounge and sample rare and undiscovered vintages at the stunning Wine Loft. The sublime calm of the city's most expansive and sophisticated spa offers an indulgent escape, while NEO Boutique debuts an enviable collection of designer fashions, some available for the first time in South Africa.As the first luxury hotel to open in Cape Town in nearly a decade, the resort is designed to celebrate the city's wine, art, design and spirit, balancing contemporary glamour with an authentic South African style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One&Only Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One&Only Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
One And Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing