We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the greatest meals I've ever had!”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #49 of 1,185 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed June 5, 2014

City Grill / Greek Fisherman
Two great restaurants, one review - these restaurants are side by side on the VA Waterfront and are owned and managed by the same team. We ordered our meals across the menus with dishes ordered from each one.
We sat outside, on a very cold night but with heaters and blankets to keep us warm.
Starters - oysters, served on ice and very tasty.
Mains - my wife had a duck dish off the Greek Fisherman menu, excellent, tasty and great value. I had the mixed 'venison' dish - absolutely superb and one of the best meals I have ever had. Meal was a South African mixed game sausage (very tasty) and 4 different game meats served and cooked on a massive skewer. I had 2 big chunks of ostrich meat, a big chunk of springbok, a large piece of warthog and as you went along the skewer the tastes just got better and better. On a separate bed of rice, with a white sauce, the special event - crocodile steak! The other meats were as you might have expected but the crocodile was like nothing I have ever tasted before - it was white with a texture similar to chicken but slightly firmer and really tasty. I would recommend it everyone who is adventurous with food and likes to try new experiences. The presentation was superb and I would definately recommend it to everyone.
After a long time to chill out and enjoy the excellent wine (3 bottles of Durbanvillerose) we moved inside and shared a larger mixed desert. A mixture of tastes including special 'donut like' balls, biscuits and a few other delicious nibbles.
The service throughout was absolutely first class - great credit to the beautiful Maureen, our waitress, who kept our glasses topped up all night and was really friendly, polite and offered great service, without being pushy. Credit also to the manager, Ade, who helped us to choose our meals and told us about Cape Town and South Africa and who tbetween the the two of them really enhanced our dining experience.
Cost for all this R1015 / £64 absolutely fantastic value, especially as I chose one of the most expensive meals and we had 3 bottles of wine.

1  Thank Travelingjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi

Thank you for this wonderful review.
We are delighted to read your comments and appreciate it tremendously.

Kind Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 467 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Arrived wanting to sit at the bar and it was empty as everybody was sitting outside! Ending up joining 3 guys who arrived at the restaurant at the same time as me - great night (thanks guys)!! Springbok carpaccio, fillet steak and crème brulee all washed down with a couple of glasses of Malbec, fantastic, great service and good value for money shame the restaurant shut at 10.30/11 they could've continued serving us drinks as we were there for the night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at City Grill Steakhouse. Hope to see you back here soon.

Kind Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The mixed grill platter I eated here 2 times don't mis this. Beautifull meat friendly service. Just go there and enjoy..

Thank JacobBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi

We are delighted to read that this was one of your best meals ever. It is a huge compliment to receive. Many thanks and we hope to see you back here soon.

Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We dined here twice because it was so good and the queue for a table gave an idea of what was to come. They are famous for their steaks and rightly so . You hardly need a steak knife because they are so juicy and tender some of the best steaks we have had for a long time. Because of the very favourable exchange rate pound to rand at the moment you could buy a steak meal with drinks for two for about £20 which is great value

Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We also believe that our steaks melt in your mouth and its always great to read that we have lived up to expectation.

We hope you will join us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

A beautiful location for a meal overlooking the V &A waterfront the service was excellent and the food was top draw the fillet steak was one of the best I have had, and as mentioned before you was asked to check that it was cooked to your liking. My husband had the prawns to start with he really enjoyed them. One thing to bare in mind the portions are large so pace yourself! I would recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting Cape Town. The pound goes along way in SA the equivalent meal in the kind of setting in GB would cost four times the cost of the meal with wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Hi

Thank you for the review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

Kind Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing