We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific dinner at the V&A Wharf!”
Review of City Grill

City Grill
Ranked #101 of 1,223 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We four (two couples) had docked at Cape Town earlier in the day, and after 3 weeks eating mainly cruise ship food (except for restaurants in the occasional port), we found ourselves at the Victoria & Alfred Wharf (being the tourist Mecca in Cape Town), surrounded by a myriad of great restaurants ... and no booking on a busy Saturday night. We wanted - needed - to eat indoors, as the wind was not only quite cold, but also very strong, blowing even crockery off the al fresco tables. Belthazar (another meat restaurant in the V&A) had been highly recommended to us, but we had no chance of getting in there. However, City Grill was happy to take us in out of the wind and seat us in their waiting area, even though there wasn't a table immediately available. The doorman assured us that, contrary to assertions as regards Belthazar's pre-eminance in the steak department, City Grill was the best meat restaurant on the V&A Wharf.
And he was right!
We 4 had a great meal there - springbok carpaccio, calamari, chicken wings, soup, spare ribs, beef steak and ostrich steak. My choice was the springbok carpaccio and the (orange-flavoured) ostrich steak - both of which were brilliant. My wife thought her beef steak was excellent, and our friends raved about the ribs, and continue to claim that the nougat ice cream was the best ever tasted.
The wait for a table for four was really quite short - not even enough time to go through the whole menu properly before we were escorted to our table. Darlington was our waiter, and he did a wonderful job. And, compared to prices we pay in Brisbane, Australia, this was tremendous value - AUD$183 (plus tip), including drinks, for 4 people with 2-3 courses each.
A highly recommended venue!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the wonderful feedback.
We appreciate the support and amazing review.

Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 566 of 1,122 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Four of us tried several restaurants one evening and couldn't get in anywhere due to evryone wanting to eat inside due to strong winds outside that were blowing plates, cutlery off tables with force.
Finally City Grill invited us in and after a 5 minute wait we were allocated a table.
Even though the place was crowded the service was excellent and hats off to Darlington our waiter who attended us beautifully.
The wines were excellent, the food exceptional and the desert was a nougat icecream which I have to say was the best icecream I've ever eaten in my whole life..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grahame D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We appreciate the positive feedback.

Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a great place to eat meat, and what a variety. Great service, great wine list and very good value, even at Tourist Rates!

Thank MulhollandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We appreciate the great feedback.

Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I just want to compliment Precious on her service last night. She had a warm smile and was very proffesional but yet charming. We brought a German guest with us and he tried the ostrich steak that was cooked to perfection. We had steak which was very tender and tasty. We have brought tourist to you previously and they always come back to "City Grill" Your management was also very friendly and helpful. The wine steward was also friendly and knew what he was talking about. Well done for good service!!!!!!! We will be back with more tourists!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarlizeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the evening with us and that Precious looked after all your needs on the night.

Hope to see you back at City Grill Steakhouse in the near future.

Kind Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Enjoyed a great dinner at City Grill. Service was great. Misha greeted us and was awesome (even took a beautiful photo for us). Barry, the sommelier, suggested a wonderful wine for our dinner and our server, Peter, took great care of us. My wife had a salad and I tried the ostrich steak. My steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious. You can't beat the setting. City Gill has heat lamps and blankets in case you get chilly while enjoying the view of the harbor.
Highly recommend The City Grill! Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DaveW32212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrynieuwoudtcg, General Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hi

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience.

Regards
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing