We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel in Cape Town”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Rose on Rouge Hotel.

The service is great and the hosts will share their knowledge of town and places to go or see.

Rooms are very nice, beautifully decorated and very spacious.

We enjoyed an excellent breakfast that was very tasteful.

Recommendableplace!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
There are newer reviews for Rouge on Rose
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 962 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed Ursula and Michel's kind hospitality and our room was truly special. They are great hosts and very knowledgable and helpful. The room was huge and had an art-deco theme which was quite whimsical, but also very comfortable. They also offer a wonderfully tasty breakfast selection. We would definitely recommend Rouge on Rose to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Ursula is an extraordinary host. The rooms are excellent, very large and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is out of this world because the menu is fusion fresh and dishes are tasty, professionally prepared and presented. The arty ambiance throughout the property makes the stay complete. Close to de Waterkant and the V&A waterfront. Easy access to airport.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Rouge on Rose is a pearl. The Mother who owns and keeps the place together with her son Michel are absolutely exceptional in their kindness and helpfulness. You truly feel you are visiting friends and staying in their house. They help you with all arrangements, discuss your travelling plans with you and give you hints and advice, organise your transportation, and they even fixed me a night in another hotel after I had been to the winelands and needed accomodation only for one night and Rouge on rose was full (and they arranged for me to get the same rate in the other hotel as the one I had had at Rouge!). The rooms are very spacious and particularly elegant in their simple style: mine had five windows, a huge bathroom with bath and shower. Yet the price is very affordable! And the location is great with walking distance to most places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RougeonRose, Owner at Rouge on Rose, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you Heikki

It was a pleasure having you here and it was so nice seeing you so happy visting your daughter here in Cape Town. Am glad you were happy with our recommendation. We strive to please. Please tell your daughter to come on a Saturday for a treat!

Happy Easter

Ursula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel is absolutely lovely. We stayed in room 202 which was amazing! The breakfast was delicious! Ursula & Michele were so friendly & helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Short walk to long street with shops and restaurants. Also where the hop on hop off bus goes from. About 20-30mins taxi from the airport which didn't cost a lot.

The only slight trouble we had was taxi drivers not knowing where the hotel was.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed at Rouge on Rose for a week in March after reading such good reviews here and it certainly didn't disappoint. Ursula and Michelle are so welcoming and helpful, nothing is too much bother. The room I stayed in was spacious and light and had everything I needed. The breakfasts were delicious! The airport pick up and drop off they organised for me was also a great way to start and end my time in Cape Town,

Thank you Rouge on Rose...I will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sufo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Warm welcome and super staff. Great spot whilst on business in the Cape. Long street's funky restaurants are close enough to drive for dinner. The Bo-Kaap, is in the traditional Muslim sector of the city so you don't need a wake up call with the muezzin's calls to prayer.

Room Tip: Depends on your level of fitness as there are no lifts.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InyatiSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,060 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,413 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,848 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $115 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing