We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveler rating
906
121
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
121
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbo kaapboutique hotelopen showercolorful housescall to prayerno elevatorlong streetsavoy cabbagestay in cape townlovely boutiquegreat hostsour room was spaciousbreakfast was delicioussignal hillwalking distancesouth africafantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We read many reviews before choosing Rouge on Rose and we are glad that we did.
Set in the old slave area , with its brightly colored houses , this hotels splendid rooms are a joy to behold. We stayed in 301 and 201 and enjoyed a kitchen , with all utensals , a living area with TV and delightful bedroom with walk in shower and toilet.
The style of the hotel is 1930`s with rounded walls and a retro decoration scheme.
Maid service was very good with Angie willing to always help.
The real stars of the show are Michell and his Mum Ursular who cannot do enough for you. From ringing for taxis to booking resturants . These people are a mind of information never tireing to give you good ideas and help.
Breakfast , is included in the rates,served in the dining room with a comprehensive menue.
If you decide to stay here book early.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspirebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed 5 nights on our first visit to South Africa and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is central (a safe 5 minute walk from Greenmarket and downtown), beautifully furnished (lots of original touches like the beaded footballs boots from the 2010 World Cup Teams) with nice touches like the multi-national electric sockets (no running off looking for adapters!). The propietors couldn't have been more helpful booking tours and taxis, printing out tickets and even googlemaps directions for taxi drivers: they really went the extra mile to make our stay in Cape Town stress-free and enjoyable.
Dominic and Ute (from Germany)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We only had 2 nights here but wished we could have stayed longer. Ursula & Michael made us very welcome & on the evening we arrived, after leaving the QM2 at 05:45 & spending the day at the Aquilla Wildlife Reserve, we were too tired to go out - so they sent us a complimentary bottle of wine to our room. We had arranged for our luggage, lots of it, to arrive ahead of us, and it was already in our room having been carried up the 3 flights of stairs by one of the staff. He also carried it down. We hope to visit Cape Town again and would certainly stay here. Excellent. Mike & Vera

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmic02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We spend a lot of time in Cape Town and love it. But thanks to Rouge on Rose, our last trip was truly fantastic. The Bo Kaap is always magic and it is ideal to explore it from the little gem that is Rouge on Rose. Good taste is written all over the place. The blend of antiques and funky new stuff is amazing. Banksy, the world famous graffiti artist, has some serious competition from one of the artists who decorated the guest house. The rooms are stunning. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful. The service is outstanding, friendly and efficient. Ursula and her staff make you feel welcome and at home. And Ursula will have answers and solutions to all your questions and problems about anything capetonian. Truly a revelation. Go enjoy. You won't regret it. My wife and I have certainly found a home away from home.

Room Tip: We were in 102 and loved it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A wonderful place to stay in Cape Town. The rooms are large, light and stylish. The breakfasts fresh and enormous. The location, in Bo Kaap, ideal for walking to restaurants, museums or the waterfront. And Ursula and Michel were the best hosts, helping us to figure out where to go and what to do to make the most of our time there. I hope to return, and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AF789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews