We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Cape Town”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, ideal to visit all that Cape Town has to offer plus just a short walk to many decent restaurants and the town centre including the waterfront.
Ursula and Michael were both very friendly and always available with advice and tips.
The room was very large and comfortable with a good size bed, we were on the top floor and a lift would have been handy but after the fantastic breakfast that was served every morning I was glad of the stairs to run off the extra flab!
if we were in Cape Town again we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 982 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Perfect location in the City Bowl. We felt quite at home in our spacious and nicely funished suite.
Lovely experience and very helpful and friendly hosts.
We particularly appreciatet that breakfast is being served at table (no self service buffet).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Me and my wife were recently married and had decided to go to cape town. We stayed here for 6 days and it was one of the most memorable experience.
Ursula and Michael as already made evident by many others were the best hosts. They took time to make a detailed itenerary for every day. They would arrange a cab whenever wanted. Ursula even took time to buy a cake and card for us as a wedding gift.
At night it would get a little scary to walk to even the nearby restaurants. The guys at reception at night Christian and I forgot the name of the other, Rocky I think. They would walk us to the restaurants and pick us up. That was really nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nameet1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights on my own at Rouge on Rose, a lovely experience : first of all they organized my transport from the airport, which was really helpful; the suite was very comfortable and nicely furnished, looked like a home, not like a standard hotel room. Michel gave me all the information I needed for sightseeing. I would have liked to stay longer and hope to go back .

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a lovely botique hotel in Cape Town, it a good location to walk to Long Street and the Waterfront. The owners are lovely and really hospitable and will go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful time in Cape Town - they have good recommendations for tours, can help you book things and most of all is their genuine friendly nature! My parents stayed here and they are vegetarian and Ursula ensured they were well catered for and ensured they had a lovely start to their wedding anniversary, I could not fault them. Would definitely stay here again, without a doubt...

Room Tip: There is no fitness center here as it is a small botique hotel. Can ask for rooms with Table Mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alphabeta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

OMG this luxury stop over for three nights made me smile. The room was fantastic, breakfast gourmet and the staff all five star, very helpful. Definitely will be back again. Perfect location to walk into main part of town, although why bother surrounded by lovely little shops and eateries, cheap taxi to the waterfront. Ps the best bed and bath, quite literally, in SA.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WW_travellingWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When Ursula, the hosteler of Rouge on Rose, greeted us by name at our cab on the street, we knew that our stay there would be special. She is a gifted hostess who immediately took us in, set us down to go over our travel plans, helped us nagivate our stay, and even followed up with a personal email that awaited us when we returned from South Africa. We stayed in room 302, which is spacious, light, beautifully appointed, and quiet. From its four (or was it five) windows with small balconies, Lion's Head, Signal Hill, and just a tip of Table Mountain greet you. Breakfasts here were the best we encountered in our three weeks of travel. Place is just great and is superbly situated within a five minute walk to great restaurants and the Red/Blue Car lines.

Mary and George, Oregon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,304 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,430 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,870 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
220 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $118 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing