We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room, Breakfast, Service, Location - All Perfection!”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room, Breakfast, Service, Location - All Perfection!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I used Rouge on Rose as our homebase for our week in Cape Town in late March. We couldn't have picked a better spot! The rooms are massive, clean and beautifully decorated. We had an amazing rain shower in our bathroom and a separate living area with big comfy couch that we could lounge on after a long day exploring Cape Town and it's surrounding areas. We rented a car for our stay and it was always easy (and free) to park on the street right next to the hotel. They have 24 hour security, so we always felt that not only we were completely safe, but also our car!

My husband and I looked forward to the breakfasts every morning. We've stayed in many hotels, but this is by far THE BEST hotel breakfast we've ever enjoyed - down to the amazing french press coffee. We'd seriously go back just for the amazing breakfasts :)

Last, but certainly not least Ursula and Michel, the mother/son team that runs Rouge on Rose are the sweetest, most helpful and happy hosts! They made our stay even more incredible by suggesting the best restaurants and giving us insider tips for all the sites in Cape Town. We couldn't recommend this hotel more!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    114
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
104
480
140
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Michel welcomed us with charm and friendliness and showed us our accommodation on the second floor, overlooking the colourful houses of the well known former Malay Quarters across the road. From the most comfortable bed to the very chic interior, we wished that we could have stayed longer. Breakfast is an experience, a master chef is preparing exceptional cuisine, the omelette was an experience to sample. Ursula was in attendance in the morning and is very helpful with suggestions to her guests of how to spend the day in the city.
Rouge on Rose is ideally situated and is a perfect address from where to explore the magic of Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The R on R was a model of hospitality, service and friendliness, not to mention having a great aesthetic and luxe-chic feel. Just after booking online, the owners (Ursula and Micheal) e-mailed us asking if we needed anything for our trip and were happy to offer recommendations even prior to our arrival. The friendliness continued through to our check-in and stay, where both were regularly available for restaurant and bar suggestions and things to do (including even arranging day trips and can rental!). The RoR itself was very comfortable, with an almost "boutique" / artsy hotel chic. Very well-sized rooms and bathrooms, amongst the best and best looking we've ever stayed in! Breakfast was a pleasure, with super friendly staff happy to oblige even the most picky requests. Super-well located; close to V&A Waterfront and Kloof / Long Streets (good selection of restaurants, bars and shopping). An unconditional and enthusiastic recommendation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarimYYZtoDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything is perfect. Location is very central, easy to go everywhere. The lady who run the place and her son are so nice and, with the staff, will do everything they can to make your stay better. The decoration of the place is fantastic, both in the reception/breakfast room and inside the rooms. Going down for breakfast was the same thing as going to a very good restaurant, they make recipes from some chefs and everything is made to perfection. Free wireless worked very well. The only thing to complain is that we couldn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a fantastic stay in Rouge on Rose. The hotel is located in the nice, central area of Bo Kaap with a spectacular view of the colourful houses and the mountain. The room was spacious and fabulous in every aspect and the service and hospitality beyond compare. Ursula and Michel (the owners) showed real proof of service excellence and made us fell very much at home. The home made breakfasts were absolutely delicious!

We could easily find safe parking for our rental car right outside the hotel. Good restaurants were within walking distance.

The only thing I found a bit odd, was that there was no door to the bath room section. To have the shower and the generous bathtub in a doorless room is fine by me, but I would have preferred to have the toilet in a more private setting.

I will definitely stay there next time in Cape Town!
Annicka
Sweden

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annicka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rouge on Rose was the ideal place for my business trip. I spent five days here (May 2013), which included a weekend. Ursula made me feel right at home when I arrived.

The room included a living room that was uniquely decorated with modern furniture and cultural pieces. I also had a great view of the colorful Bo Kaap homes. The bedroom was separated from the living room and included a king sized bed. The room also has a shower in the corner of the room whilst the toilet is in a separate space with a door. It was funny to have the shower in the room, but since I was staying by myself it wasn't an issue. It was a bit funny when my friend came to stay for the weekend, but we decided to just take turns using the showering/bedroom space ;)

The breakfasts are also masterfully made. I tended to go for the "Brekkie", which wasn't just eggs, bacon, bread, and tomatoes. It was artfully plated and delicious every time!

Michel gave great advice on how to maximize my two free days (we went to Franschoek and Cape Pointe).

Both Ursula and Michel were very hospitable and just made the entire stay really comfortable! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyCHsieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lovely and expansive room with panoramic views of the colourful Bokaap houses and the mountain beyond and a luxurious bathroom with a shower and glorious free standing bath. I stayed in room 302 and I had a lovely king bed with fabulous linen and a table to work or eat dinner at and plenty of space to do the tango should I fancy. Friends stayed in 301 and 201 and they had a lounge, with a small area to prepare dinner but a much smaller bathroom with only a shower (no bath). The breakfasts were delicious. As the staff told me - the omelets baked and served in a ceramic dish with crispy bacon, cream chesse and mushrooms suits the French; the French toast appeals to the Americans (it is deliciously sweet, dripping in maple syrup, walnuts and cream cheese) and the standard bacon and eggs is generally chosen by the British and South Africans - there is also a healthy option. I decided to try them all and they shouldn’t be missed no matter what your nationality. The staff are all incredibly friendly and helpful, the hotel is immaculate. My only very small suggestion is the addition of a good latte although they are on offer next door in either direction. A superb stay I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: For a very good view and a bath choose a room that last number is 2 For a lounge choose a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing