We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb...”
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Nauru
1 review
“Superb...”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The best place I have stayed in for a long time and over many miles - my room was spacious and nicely furnished, the bed was super comfortable, lots of natural light, very private and quiet, breakfast was very tasty, everyone was friendly and helpful - they know the ins and outs of Cape Town, security is excellent while it is easy to come and go at anytime - a lovely atmosphere and a great sanctuary.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    112
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
103
474
139
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This stunning boutique hotel comes highly recommended, the rooms are spacious, the deco is simple yet elegant, the service was fantastic, superb location and the food was delectable. It felt like home-away-from-home. Ursula and Michel's hospitality was unlike anything I've experienced throughout my travels, they went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our stay was memorable. They provided great advice on "things to do" and are very knowledgeable on the Cape Town scene. We definitely plan to call back on our next trip to the Mother City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrNeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tornesch, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The owners are very, very helpful and kind.
The room/apartment is nice, clean and very large. The design of the apartment is interesting and special (look to the pictures on the website). I felt ‘at home’.
And you have only 5 minutes to walk to the center of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Comfort, hospitality, location, gourmet, fabulous.....so many ways to explain the feeling and welcome at the Rouge on Rose throughout my 10 day stay. The suite was excellent, spacious and wonderfully different from the usual hotels (better than Four Seasons Whistler last week!). The advice, whether on fine dining, fantastic bars and spots for beach or lunch was all great. Nothing was too much trouble from taxis, making reservations to a hamper and wine for an evening at the Kirstenbosch concerts. I like the local area from Cape Quarter around the corner, nearby Long Street and interesting Bo Kapp. This boutique hotel stands out and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwyn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My daughters and I had a fabulous stay with Ursula and Michel. It truly was a home away from home. Their attention to our needs, help with plans and any odd question made the stay a treasure. One daughter is local and noted that the hotel has a superb location for exploring the city. How can I omit mentioning the wonderful breakfast offered everyday? We were well fortified for any adventures ahead! Ursula and I had several emails ahead of time that both helped me plan my trip and eased any concerns. The hotel was quite clean and well maintained. Bo Kapp is a neat little community where we sometimes heard call to prayer at the local mosques. It felt very safe during the day. We arranged for taxis for any night time activities. One night I noticed it seemed loud outside quite late but that might have been my sleeplessness. Rouge on Rose is a great value considering the wonderful care, clean hotel, great staff, location and delicious breakfasts!

Room Tip: Room 301 was very comfortably sized for 3 women ~ shared king size bed and queen or full sleeper sof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Rouge on Rose for three nights, and we left very impressed. Ursula and Michel were fantastic hosts who helped us find restaurants open over the Easter weekend, make reservations, and made suggestions for things to do. The rest of the hotel staff were also very friendly. One thing that stands out is the amazing breakfast. We sampled the fry up, french toast, and yogurt with muesli, and everything was delicious.

The location in Bo Kaap was very central and convenient. We had a car, so it was very easy to get around. When we wanted to have a drink, getting a taxi was easy. Street parking wasn't a problem. The hotel has a guard who watches the cars overnight.

Our room was huge, with space for a large sofa, dining table, king bed, and wardrobe. One thing to be aware of was the polished concrete floors. While beautiful, they can be slippery when walking in socks, as we found out the hard way. The bathroom had a nice rain shower, but it was all in the same space as the toilet, so it was easy for much of the space to get wet. Aside from those slight issues, our stay was great, and I will gladly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Othello491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We chose to stay here for a night at either end of our honeymoon trip around SA. It was an excellent choice, a very good value hotel in a central cape town location (in the Bo Kaap district on the city). The room was large and bright, and very clean with a large TV, very comfy bed, and an excellent shower and separate very large bath tub (which was great to have a relaxing bath in in the evening!). The breakfast each day was great, and the are itself felt relatively safe to walk around. We even walked at night, although probably would advise that you don't walk around on your own late at night. Most of all though, the staff were incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. We arrived quite early on the first day and they gave us coffee and OJ in the restaurant whilst we waited for the room, which was made ready for us early. They arranged our airport taxi pick-up and drop-offs, advised us on good local bars and restaurants. On the last day we had a late flight and they were more than happy to look after our luggage after we checked-out so that we could do some more sightseeing, and they even gave us a space to freshen up and get changed in advance of our flight when we arrived back to collect our luggage. Service like that is really what sets a hotel apart, and it really helped to make our trip to cape town an enjoyable and memorable one. Thank you to Ursula and Michel and the rest of the staff at Rouge on Rose.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramkirhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing