We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room and hosts, noisy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic room and hosts, noisy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a great hotel with such attentive and caring hosts. Our studio/room had a great wet room / shower, nice seating area and useful kitchenette. Breakfast was really great and relaxed. Ursula and Michel made a special effort to accommodate our early arrival and offer recommendations for where to eat and visit on our day trip down the Cape Peninsula. The night guard reassures that parking near the city centre is safe too! Unfortunately we didn't sleep perfectly on the very, very comfortable bed, thanks to the noise of traffic and the nearby mosque - occupational hazards of staying in this part of the city, I think.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcandTimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    111
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
102
466
136
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ursula and Michele, thank you so much for having us there, we had a really great time!!
The breakfast was amazing/ special and the hotel is so comfortable and cozy. We just loved all the cute and small details like the paintings on the wall, the lovely decoration or the rose in the bathroom... very unique!

Thank you again with a big smile on our faces,

Rebecca & Sarah

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank minibonsei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex/London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2012 and it was just perfect. I spent countless hours online looking at hotels in Cape Town but nothing stood out to me but when I saw this it ticked all the boxes. Our room was absolutely beautiful, spotless and huge for the price. Breakfast was amazing too. What made the stay was the service, Ursula and Michel were fantastic at answering our questions, booking taxis and making reservations. I mentioned being a vegetarian in conversation and the next morning Michel had compiled me a list of suitable restaurants- I didn't ask him to do this!! Made us feel at home. I always like to try new places whenever I travel but if I go back to Cape Town I will stay here 100%. Also, eat at Fork, best food we have ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZookeeperAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We are about to check out of Rouge on Rose & want to say a big thank you to Ursula & Michel. They run a superb hotel with funky decor that brings a smile to your face. Spacious rooms, polished concrete floors, generous bathrooms & big comfy king size bed. We could walk everywhere & when we needed a taxi it was very cheap as everything is so close. Yummy breakfast is included in tariff. We highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we return to Cape Town. The view of Table Mtn from the room was a bonus.

Room Tip: First floor do not get a balcony. All rooms will hear the Muslim prayers but we learn to sleep thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyKimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent six perfect nights in this excellent small hotel run by Ursula And Michel. Preceding reviews accurately describe the great rooms, fantastic breakfasts and excellent location close to restaurants, bars and 15 minute walk to the convention centre. Both Ursula and Michel are great hosts, and also your perfect travel guides with lots of great ideas for places to eat and visit. We also found Rouge on Rose has excellent access of the N1 and N2 freeway for our various trips out of the city. Highly recommended and we would always make this our first choice when staying in Cape Town. Alex & Jen

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We highly recommend the Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel. An incredible personalized welcome, an incredible staff who gave us priceless advices (Ursula & Michel). The rooms are spacious & proper. We couldn't have dreamt more beautiful for a honeymoon start!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great staff - we forgot several things in the room and they simply kept it for us as well as offering to mail them back. Also, immediately changed the TV channels so we could watch the rugby! They truly feel like they care personally for every guest.

Will recommend this place to anyone going to Cape Town. I stayed in some other hotel close by which was much more expensive and not as good as Rouge on Rose (this was a large chain hotel...).

Loved the large, clean room with kitchen and lounge! Like your own apartment with daily cleaning. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirkDeVilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing