We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rouge on Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rouge on Rose
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently had the great pleasure of staying at Rouge on Rose for the weekend.
This is a delightful little gem in the heart of Cape Town's Bo Kaap area.
It is home to two of the most warm and accommodating hosts, the best French toast I've ever eaten and serene, mood-enhancing decor and room layouts. A simple thing like a fresh rose in your bedroom makes such a difference! I personally loved the sound of the call to prayer from a nearby mosque and the beautiful views of the colourful Bo Kaap homes. I will certainly recommend this place and I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KungSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    109
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
459
135
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirchheim unter Teck, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a pleasant stay for three night an days at the rouge on rose hotel in August 2012 - at the end of our South Africa-journey.

The R-o-R-Hotel at Cape Town is a stylish hotel at the Bo-Kaap district faced to the colourful cap-malayan houses. A view restaurants are just a block away, if you want you can walk to the Green Market Square or the Long Street just in a view minutes.

Ursula an Michel help in any situation - i.e. tipps for an excursion, a quick reservation in a restaurant, .... They have tactfull staff.

The breakfast is unique and really wonderful.

And: we enjoyed having a shower with one of the little single-lever mixer taps in africa - we missed them so during our round trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenther H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great room, great breakfasts, wonderful setting - so convenient to be able to stroll down to the Cape Town International Conference Centre and back, while enjoying the spicyness of the Cape Town city centre and its people, as well as the lovely views of Signal Hill and Table Mountain. It was also really good to wake up to the Call to Prayer from the nearby mosque every morning, ringing out over the bustling city, and to hear the noon gun. I'd definitely recommend Rouge on Rose to any conference delegates who want to get a feel for the real Cape Town, while staying in relative luxury.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor, in the self-catering suite. It was really comfortable and luxurious - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jawellnofine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My sister and I spent three nights at the end of June 2012 at Rouge on Rose. Ursula and Michele were extremely hospitable. We greatly enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the third floor and very spacious. The room was a bit dark and chilly but that's winter in Cape Town for you. The breakfast every morning was fantastic. One morning we left early and asked for breakfast in our room. It was the most amazing picnic basket filled with homemade bread, croissants, french press coffee, cheese, granola, and yogurt. The location of the hotel is convenient for sightseeing with a hop on-hop off bus stop nearby. There are many restaurants and bars within walking distance. Ursula also recommended that we tour Cape Point and the winelands with a woman named Myrtle who was fantastic. I would absolutely recommend booking a day or two with Myrtle for a private tour of areas that you need a car to reach. I would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biscottie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Rouge on Rose is a small boutique hotel -- and a real experience in Cape Town. We only had 3 days to explore Cape Town -- and the owner jumped right in to help us plan our short time, but didn't smother us. She recommended a tour guide and things to do and restaurants in the area. My experience with small hotels makes me wary that the staff want to intrude too much into your experience. Ursula was great about that. She jumped in when we wanted her to and didn't intrude when we wanted to 'do our own thing' and enjoy our own time.

The breakfasts (included) were cooked to order and really wonderful. The reception area, breakfast area, halls, staircases and rooms are all decorated in a unique whimsical fashion - really adds to the ambiance.

Great hotel! We really recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ursula and Michel, our hosts, made our stay in Cape Town very special. They were always available with good advice and recommendations. The rooms are large and very well appointed. The breakfasts are interesting, flavorful and filling. The location is central and it is easy to get to all the significant sites within the city. It is overall a very good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Rose on Rouge for one week. It is one of the very best small hotels I have ever stayed in. The rooms are huge and interesting, the owners are amazingly friendly and helpful, the breakfast is delicious, and the location is excellent. I highly recommend it for anyone lucky enough to travel to Cape Town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rouge on Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rouge on Rose

Property: Rouge on Rose
Address: 25 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rouge on Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel is the latest addition in up market Cape Town boutique hotels offering 9 suites in the Mother City. Painstakingly remodeled and redesigned with the sussed world traveler in mind, Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel offers an unsurpassed home from home feeling being there for the weary business traveler or the tourist exploring Cape Town.Taking cues from the eclectic nature of the Bo Kaap itself, its "shabby chic" ambiance combines opulence with restraint, bohemia with practicality and above all tranquility in the midst of the bustling cityscape, with South African charm and hospitality coupled with contemporary "found styles" a chic haven in the heart of the city.Rouge on Rose Boutique Hotel in Cape Town offers a choice between en-suite Deluxe Suites or en-suite Self-Catering Suties with flat screen TV with DVD player, satellite TV, wireless internet, bar fridge, complimentary tea/coffee, hairdryers, air conditioning, safes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rouge on Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rouge On Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Rouge On Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing