We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location doesn't get any better than this!!!”
Review of Villa Costa Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Costa Rose
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Puyallup, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Location doesn't get any better than this!!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Neil and Rob are very pleasant and professional. Breakfast was a very nicely presented buffet with good variety. There is also a very comprehensive area booklet in the room with all varieties of recommendations and helpful information. The rooms and decor of the entire hotel is very sophisticated and soothing. The local area is great for walking to restaurants or drinks. Rob made reservations for us a couple of times and we were never disappointed. I would highly recommend staying in this hotel, if not for the hospitality of the owners, but the location in Sea Point is perfect! I would definitely stay here again if I visit Cape Town in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopps4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thankyou very much for your kind and positive review. Please do contact us directly if you wish to visit Cape Town again, and we will be happy to give you a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    90
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
368
25
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilamoura, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks and everything was perfect. Neil and Rob were very friendly and always available to advise us on restaurants and places to visit. The villa is located in a quiet road yet so close to all restaurants, bars and bus routes. We felt that the area was extremely safe for walking at night. Our room was the king with terrace which was spacious with a comfy bed and kept spotlessly clean by the staff. It had an en-suite wet room which we thought was a good idea as it is much easier to use and more hygienic than a conventional bathroom. At breakfast there was so much to choose from that we could have something different everyday for the whole 2 weeks. Neil and Rob have thought of all the extra little things that make your stay with them one to remember. We will definitely stay at the Villa Costa Rose when next in Cape Town. We wish you continued success in the future. Geoff & Dorothy Portugal

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Dorothy and Geoff,

Thankyou very much for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at Villa Costa Rose. We are especially grateful for your positive comments on our breakfast as we really do try to exceed expectations in this regard. If you wish to stay with us again please contact us directly and we will be pleased to offer you a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location. Great host. Tastefully decorated guest house. The restaurant recommendations they had really helped and were very accurate. Pool was wonderful. The only complaint we have is the breakfast was not up to the expectation. Very limited choices. Fresh cut fruits available but you have to peel it yourself. This is the only reason to award 4 star for otherwise wonderful stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank banjara_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thankyou so much for your comments. We haven't had a complaint about our breakfast for some time so here goes. We advertise that we serve Continental Breakfast, which as you probably know is cold breakfast. But we don't. We actually have a hot and cold buffet self service and our menu is as follows-

Selection of Teas or Coffee (we are often congratulated on our coffee)

Hot Buffet-
Scrambled eggs or eggs to order
a selection of the following-
Home made meatballs (venison and/or ostrich)
Home made Boerwors Chakalaka (Traditional )
Sausages or Bacon
Toast
Condiments/Sauces/Jams/ Home made preserves, humus, pate

Cold Buffet -
Fruit Juice
Natural and Fruit Yoghurt
Seed selection
Cornflakes, Branflakes, Weetbix, Muesli (sometimes home made Muesli)
Daily Fresh Fruit Platter with at least six choices of the following depending on season-
Strawberries, Grapes (red and green), Bananas, Pineapple, Paw-Paw, Sweet Melon, Spanspek Melon, Water Melon, Kiwi, Grenadilla, Plums (yellow, red or black), Peaches, Nectarines, Lychees.
Cheese Platter with Cheddar, Brie, Camembert, Blue Cheese and Laughing Cow Soft Cheese served with Peppadews & Chutney.
Breads (a selection of at least four) -
White, Brown, Seed Loaf, Rye.
Home made fresh Fruit Bread, Olive Onion and Herb Bread, Sundried Tomato Loaf
Meat platter - at least 3 choices of -
Salami, Ham, Beef
Gammon, Corned Beef (home made)

We decided a long time ago not to serve fruit salad as we received feedback from many guests saying they would prefer to choose fruits themselves. Guests like to pick up portions and eat with their fingers or cut pieces into there cereal or yoghurt. All our fruits are fresh with skins on rather than skinned and out of a tin/can. We feel that the canned fruit salad served by many establishments is simply not up to scratch.
We really do try to accommodate all our guest tastes, and have changed our breakfast accordingly and significantly over the years, but we realise we cant please every single person. Overall comments regarding our breakfast are positive. Guests are always welcome to request anything and we endeavour to try our best to meet their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syren
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Last year we stayed already 4 nights at Villa costa Rose and we came back this year for 2 nights. The place is still so nice, clean and friendly. Moreover we were upgraded in the suite which is a very big room with a a kind of lounge. Really great. Thx to Rob and Neil.
We will definitely come back!!! Keep it like this

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivier d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Olivier,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Cape Town and to stay with us once again at Villa Costa Rose. We try to upgrade guests into 'bigger/better' rooms whenever possible and returning guest do get first dibs! We are glad you appreciated this, and hope to welcome you back in the future with a 10% discount if you book directly with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled on this place on trip advisor, it is indeed worth their 5 star rating. Great value for money, nicely styled but the best part of it was Rob & Neil's advice on things to do around Cape town. There advice was invaluable, from restaurants to the wine lands and everything in between. It was our first time in Cape Town but can't wait to be back again.
Esbon Nyaga

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Az W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thankyou so much for your glowing review! We really do try to offer value for money by researching our competitors and charging accordingly. We also reduce our rates for longer stays so guest are encouraged to contact us directly for the best price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights at Villa Costa Rose. Whether a first time visitor to Cape Town like my boyfriend or a seasoned visitor like myself Villa Costa Rose was spectacular. We stayed in the Queen Room with the private terrace, the room was beautiful, clean and quiet. The mini bar was stocked with delicious cold wine that we enjoyed on our terrace. Neil and Rob were both incredible hosts, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and passionate. Breakfasts were delicious. The location of the villa is so convenient, walking distance to everything you need but tucked away enough to avoid the any noise of the night life. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Marcelle,

Thankyou very much for your review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Villa Costa Rose! We are situated in Sea Point which is a great location as it is a very safe area with lots of restaurants and shops literally on our doorstep. However we are just off the Main Road which means we don't suffer from the noise! Please contact us directly if you wish to stay with us again and we will be happy to offer you a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I stayed 5 nights at Villa Costa Rose and I'm glad I did. This is a beautifully maintained BB run by very friendly and accommodating hosts. Breakfast was delicious and includes a hot meal complete with homemade meatballs, sausage, and fruit bread. The place smells amazing from the bread baking each night and I was so inspired that I bought my own bread machine when I got home. The location is convenient to the ocean and Main Street where you'll have plenty of dining options. What I found especially accommodating was that on the couple days that we had early appointments before the time that breakfast was served, Neil and Rob made sure to leave our cold breakfast ready in our room's refrigerator so that we could still enjoy breakfast before we left. Now that is service!

An unexpected bonus we discovered is that the concierge room in the padlocked garage also serves as a private room where you can freshen up before your travels. They actually built a bathroom and shower in the garage! Not only is your luggage safe and sound after you had already checked out, but you can shower before you go! This gave us the great opportunity on our last day to hike Lion's Head on a hot summer day and then have the luxury of showering before our 14 hour flight home. I doubt other BB's will have this same option available.

The only thing I can't say I'm a fan of is the room's bathroom. It's a wet bathroom where there is no separation from the shower, sink, and toilet. After someone showers, it leaves everything soggy from the entire floor to the bath mat to even the toilet seat. The ventilation to dry it afterwards isn't very good. For a fairly luxurious BB, I would have hoped for better but it is a minor detail compared to the overall positives of the accommodation.

Still, I highly recommend the stay here for the quality and value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Jennifer,

Thankyou very much for your review which we really appreciate. Its great to hear that we inspired you to buy a bread maker, all our guests love our fruit and savoury loaves! Our post check-out luggage storage, shower and changing room is also very popular with guests who have late flights from Cape Town, and its an extra service we offer free of charge. We know our wet rooms aren't to everyones' taste, but we really thought it was the best option when we converted our house to get the most space into the rooms. Also we really dont like shower curtains as they can be quite un-hygenic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,404 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
261 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
629 reviews
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Costa Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Costa Rose

Property: Villa Costa Rose
Address: 2 Winstonia Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Costa Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Costa Rose, awarded 4 Stars and AA Highly Recommended, nestles on the side of Signal Hill in CapeTowns' Sea Point district. This newly refurbished modern luxury guest house offers unbeatable value, stylish and sophisticated interiors with spacious modern rooms for your comfort and enjoyment. Situated just off Main Road, guests can enjoy the ease of walking to shops, restaurants, bars and cafes, or stroll along the promenade. The CBD, beaches and V&A Waterfront are easily accessible. Or relax in the garden, shaded by umbrellas and palms at the outside lounge where you can sip freshly prepared cocktails and sundowners. The cool crystal waters of the swimming pool will tempt and refresh the seasoned traveller and weary businessman alike. All rooms are ensuite offering 4 Star facilities, Egyptian Cotton bedlinen and luxury towels are standard. WiFi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Costa Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Costa Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Villa Costa Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing