We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistic, glamour and friendly place in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Costa Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Costa Rose
Ranked #13 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MILANO - ITALY
2 reviews
“Artistic, glamour and friendly place in Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really a very good place. Bed and breakfast with a very modern and artistic design with touch of glamour in the interior decoration.The rooms are big with a good wardrobe and nice bathroom. The breakfast was quite good. Unfortunately there was no choices of sweets (croissants, cookies, cakes etc.) and Italian people really missing all this things :-)
Neil and Rob are really good and nice. They helped us with our trip.
We really recommend this guest house.
Since we travelled in August (winter) the heating was not always enough to warm up the room and most of all the bathroom (no heating inside the bathroom!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LALU1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thankyou for your review. We are sorry that you felt a little chilly, the winter here has been extremely cold and long! However we wish that you had mentioned it to us as we do have extra blankets and heaters for guests on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    89
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
358
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just enjoyed 3 nights at Villa Costa Rose. Fantastic room, fantastic service. great location in Seapoint. Neil and Rob are lovely and really helped us plan our few days. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again when next in Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hacky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thankyou very much for your wonderful review!

Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The good combination of the location, design and having comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and the good breakfast choice made this place perfect for our visit in Cape Town.
Thanks also for arranging the little birthday cake!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nastia2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thankyou very much for you kind review. We are glad you enjoyed the cake!

Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

stayed for 1 night at this comfortable Bed & Breakfast. Clean and spacious room with a nice large walk in shower. Would have been appreciated if their selection of Television channels was more than just the national SABC. M-Net is always a winner for everyone when travelling.
Breakfast fast quick and easy with friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrezSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thankyou very much for you positive review. We hope to welcome you back to Cape Town soon! Remember we offer a 10% discount for returning guests.

Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Excellent breakfast, very clean place, nice staff.

Stayed 5 nights there, and the owners were very helpful and nice, always trying to please the guests. They gave me many hints about activities and places to go in town.

The bathroom doesn't have a separation between the shower area and the toilet, so it gets the bathroom all wet when someone takes a shower.

Seapoint is a nice place to stay, but is far from the V&A Waterfront and City Bowl. There are a few good restaurants within a walking distance from the guesthouse, but I went to City Bowl almost every night, as there are the best restaurants and pubs. As the public transport isn't so reliable, if you don't have a car it may be a problem to stay far from downtown.

The parking lot is not the safest place, as it is on the street. Maybe there were a private parking inside the guesthouse, but I didn't ask for it as I was arriving very late at the guesthouse every night. On the last day, when I was about to leave, one car next to mine had been broken into.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Pedro,

Thankyou very much for your kind review, and it was a pleasure to upgrade you from the Standard (budget) Queen to a larger Kingsize room at no extra cost.

As i said in my response to the review below we have wetrooms at Villa Costa Rose so no shower curtains (yuck!), but i would like to point out the toilets are not next to the showers but on the other side of the room.

The public transport system in Cape Town has really improved over the past few years and as we live just off the Main Road in Sea Point we are on one of the main arteries. Also the Minibus taxis are extremely popular with our guests which offer an alternative to busses and are very frequent. Sea Point itself has a huge amount of restaurants for all tastes and so we really recommend that guests walk to these rather than driving, then guests can also enjoy SA wines. The problem with staying downtown is the noise, and the Waterfront is very expensive. However they are only 5 minutes away by cab which would cost around R50.

Car break-ins in Cape Town are rare and merely opportunistic crimes, usually a result of people leaving things in their car such as jackets or bags, which can be very tempting to some of our populations' poorest. However this is a world-wide phenomenon where cars are parked on the street. But to try and combat this in our offstreet parking area we have just installed CCTV cameras and warning signage as a deterrant.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great location, very helpfull staff Rob and Neil. The rooms are beautiful and the house well decorated.
The bathroom could have a curtain in to protect from cold and to prevent wetting the floor.
The hotel offers a transfer from the airport that costs R345. If you take a taxi from the airport it will cost R250.
We booked a tour that we had to leave at 6:30AM e the staff put our breakfast on our room, which was great!!
Thanks for the hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Tiago,
Thankyou very much for your kind review. You did mention a couple of things so here goes-
1) All our Ensuite Shower/Bathrooms are designed as wet rooms so the whole room can get wet so there is no need for a shower curtain. Besides we think shower curtains can be quite un-hygenic, so we dont like them!
2) The Airport Transfer is usually the more expensive option (however some guests have paid more in a cab) but we recommend it because, a) your driver waits for you at the arrivals gate and helps with your luggage to the vehicle and delivers you straight to our door, b) you dont have to queue/wait for a cab, c) cab drivers are renowned for not knowing where they are going and often require directions from the guests, driving around trying to find us takes more time and increases the fare.

We hope to welcom you back to Cape Town soon!
Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Villa Costa Rose for 2 nights, and loved every minute! We received a warm welcome and were quickly made to feel at home. We were even more delighted when we discovered that we were given a free upgrade! Everything was perfect, and the pictures don't even do this beautiful, well-run establishment justice! Many thanks to Neil for everything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84Bon84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villacostarose, Owner at Villa Costa Rose, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thankyou for you lovely review. We hope to welcome you back to Villa Costa Rose soon!

Neil Rose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Costa Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Costa Rose

Property: Villa Costa Rose
Address: 2 Winstonia Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Costa Rose 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Costa Rose, awarded 4 Stars and AA Highly Recommended, nestles on the side of Signal Hill in CapeTowns' Sea Point district. This newly refurbished modern luxury guest house offers unbeatable value, stylish and sophisticated interiors with spacious modern rooms for your comfort and enjoyment. Situated just off Main Road, guests can enjoy the ease of walking to shops, restaurants, bars and cafes, or stroll along the promenade. The CBD, beaches and V&A Waterfront are easily accessible. Or relax in the garden, shaded by umbrellas and palms at the outside lounge where you can sip freshly prepared cocktails and sundowners. The cool crystal waters of the swimming pool will tempt and refresh the seasoned traveller and weary businessman alike. All rooms are ensuite offering 4 Star facilities, Egyptian Cotton bedlinen and luxury towels are standard. WiFi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Costa Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Costa Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
Villa Costa Rose Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing