We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent host, very secure and great location!”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Ephraim, NJ
1 review
“Excellent host, very secure and great location!”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at this wonderful B&B! I wish we had spent the whole week there! The host is very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this place to travelers on a budget or who just desire a little more home sweet home feel while traveling! Thanks!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hamesmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    67
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
187
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

if you look for a reasobnable priced accomodation, book this wonderful place. great view to city, table mountain and sea from the terrace. if you want more than one towel, pls contact kathrin in advance! the rooms are clean, tiny and no aircondition! kitchen available. casual atmosphere. free coffe and cake all day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sososchoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2010

The hotel is a very clean, relaxing place with a nice garden and a beautiful swimming pool. There is a big balcony, the view is amazing. You can see whole Cape Town and the Table Mountain. I love the area Bo Kaap, with the coloured houses.
I would definitely go back. I love that place and I will never forget Katrin. You are amazing!
Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emahauden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We spent 4 nights at Upperbloem and we really enjoyed our stay. Katrin, the owner, was very helpfull and made us feel very welcome! She provided beach towels on request, we were alowed to stay at the poolhouse after we checked out and we even had the chance to use the private garage for our rental car. Excellent self catering breakfast with lots of muffins, croissants, yoghurt and toast, which we enjoyed on the terrace with a wonderful view over the city and Table Mountain. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Although the neighbourhood got us worried for a moment, we were surprised to see how secure and accessible the location of the B & B was. Katrin was very friendly. The room was very stylish, clean and spacious. The house has an inspiring deck where Cape Town, the sea and Table Mountain can be seen. Very quite neighbourhood. Just the breakfast paid the stay! Very rich, healthy and diverse. We're looking forward to have some of those chocolate croissant again!. Thanks for a lovely stay!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phmontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olsztyn, Poland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Amazing views from the terrace and room, discrette and perfect services, helpful and friendly host, rich breakfast (croissants, cakes, yoghurt, milk, cofffe, tea, musli/flakes, bread and tosts, fruits: almost during all day; so you can do your afternoon rest with coffee and cakes on the terrace). Fridge to your own use, plug-adapters (note there is different standard in SA), cleaning everyday. Owner Katrin may arrange the taxi transport from/to the airport, as well as the car hire (the best rates in the city!!). Rates seems to be reasonable, with many ways to pay (including credit card, what should be recommended with regard the high commission fees in banks when exchanging money). There is also possible to swim in the pool, however it was too cold doing this in October!
Conclusion: all you need during your trip you find at Upperbloem, and Katrin and her suggestions and advices as the extras!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Upperbloem is a breath of fresh air. Katrin is the most caring host I have encountered in all my travels - ever! She goes out of her way to make everyone feel most welcome.The accommodation is no-frills but very comfortable, very clean and fantastic value. You can even get your laundry done for a knock down price. Upperbloem sits very high up in Cape Town and the view of Table Mountain from the breakfast room and shared balcony is awesome. Breakfast comprises nice breads, cheese, pastries fruit, fruit juice, tea, coffee etc. Jardine's, the restaurant just down the hill serves very good food. The only drawback - the walk back up the hill. Taxis are cheap and a very good investment considering the hill, but if you did not have the hill you would not have the view

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StonehavenUKIanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Antrim Villa
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#77 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parliament Hotel
#37 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#35 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing