We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, big climb!”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #63 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a lovely, small B & B located at the top of the Bo Kaap area...which means that it has a terrific view of the mountains and the waterfront and demands a long, steep climb to get there...or a taxi ride! There are only 5 rooms, each with a different view and all with en-suite baths. One or two have their own balconies, I believe, and mine was huge, with a separate sitting area. There is a delicious breakfast set out every morning and a self-catering kitchen. Every guest has a designated shelf in the refrigerator. The proprietor was more than helpful in giving directions and arranging for cab rides when needed...and she even set out a super-early breakfast for me when I had to leave at 5:00am! There is a pool on the lower level and a comfortable balcony off the kitchen where you can sit, read, relax and look at the scenery. WiFi is available in the common areas.

NOTE: Because there is no living room, the kitchen is where people congregate. All the rooms are off the kitchen, so can be a little bit noisy at certain times.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the furthest away from the kitchen.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavvyFaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Upperbloem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 295 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Upperbloem was for us a home away from home while oour stay in cape town for 4 days.
Katrin is lovely and a perfect host.
Guesthouse is beautiful as each room is different and special in decoration.
beautiful common aerea and very good breakfast.
Bo kapp is a wonderful area to stay in and from the guest house you have stunning views and easy access to citys atraccions.
we hired a car for our stay and travelled extensively around cape town and were always happy to return to the calm and beautiful oasis of upperbloem.
Waterfront restaurants are only 10min drive away and perfect for dinner plans ( we went every night) What makes upperbloem special is Katrin and her helpfulness and knowledge of the area.We hope we have a chance to go back! thank you Katrin for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nala91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Upperbloem is a nice guest house tucked up in picturesk bo-kapp. The views from the terrace are amazing. Karin is so helpful and welcoming, giving advice and helping you book activities. The rooms are spacious and nice furnished. Hard to bet their great prices and perfect location. Breakfast are very fresh and well supplied. Would highly recommend to come and stay here for more yhan a night. The pool is great too, especially to unwind after walking cape town.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aatraveller03102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great place! Within walking distance of the city center and waterfront. Wonderful view from the breakfast room and balcony of the city, Table Bay and Table Mountain. Katrin, the owner, was a wonderful host. Excellent continental (German) style breakfast with great breads, cheese, cold cuts, eggs, fruit, cereal, yogurt, home-made pastries and muffins, etc.. Our room (#6) was large with full kitchen, couch and coffee table, queen size bed, shower and tub. The only downsides: wifi did not reliably reach our room (but worked well in common areas) and, like nearly all African places, the bed had a duvet which was too hot if you used it and too cold if you didn’t (sheets and light blankets work so much better in our view).

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron and Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Upperbloem and everything was perfect : a very central location, a fantastic view from the terrace, our guest was very helpful and arranged taxis, a car hire, laundry etc... and gave us very useful tips. The price was very competitive too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is extraordinarily good value for money. Stunning views of the sea, city and Table Mountain. Self catering facilities as well as yummy continental breakfast. Swimming pool :-) lovely host who is so sweet and helpful. Clean, comfy bedroom. High up in the colourful Bo Kaap area - a big hill so prepare to get fit or get a taxi! This place is absolutely spot on and I can safely recommend this to anyone :-) a home away from home....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JiffyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Located in the quaint but quiet Bo-kaap neighborhood Upperbloem Guesthouse is a hidden pearl. No effort was too much for owner Katrin to make our (weeks') stay as pleasurable as possible. The rooms (we were in two different ones) were clean with good beds. Breakfast is nice and pleasurable in the airy breakfast room/kitchen with its nice terrace and its superb view of Bo-Kaap, the harbor beyond and the city centre. Any special wish for breakfast?; if she can, Katrin secures it. Particularly nice is the availability throughout the day of some bread, pastry and fruit and coffee and tea. Do not expect a four star location, but the swimming pool is very nice and better than many at such places. The location is very convenient for exploring Cape Town and the Cape. Katrin has a nice and accessible list of restaurants to go to. Enough of eating out? The kitchen enables you to make your own meal. The basics are there. We found the neighborhood safe also for the car, except that - as in every big city - one should make sure that there is nothing in your car, not even a glimpse of an empty bag. We experienced Katrin checking for the benefit of her guests!

Room Tip: Katrin offers rooms with varying amenities and sizes. The smallest one is small but nevertheless com...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#51 of 111 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#39 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#57 of 111 in Cape Town Central
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#87 of 111 in Cape Town Central
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $71 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing