We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Upperbloem
Ranked #64 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Nice still place with very friendly staff. Excellent place to stay for the view and near the town.The breakfast was excellent. Rooms lovely and clean, owners are helpful and pleasant with the location being simply amazing..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Emrah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Upperbloem
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 295 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Best place to stay in Cape Town; close to all important places, opportunity to park our car and clean room. The breakfast service was handsome and the pool bigest during our holiday in South Africa. We got also nice tips even we do not need so much any more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hannu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Katrin (Boss) is very , very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent, from kitchen and terrace fantastic view to town, sea and table mountain. Low price for room...................................................

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my second time in Upperbloom. Katrin, the owner of the place, makes you feel at home the very moment you arrive. The location in Bo Kaap facing the Waterfront with a view of the Table Mountain from the breakfast terrace is just amazing. There is a very nice swimming pool there and you can park your car in the street. There are nice restaurants or cafès nearby and you can walk to Long Street if you don't mind "climbing" up the hill back to your guesthouse afterwards;-) My honest recommendation for this place. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ivana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Really good-value inn. It surprises me with a so nice rooms, view and service.
The owner was waiting me when I arrived, with some food, out of regular eating hour. She helped me a lot, since my one-day delayed flight (and she didn't charge me, even with my booking), and wake up really early to prepare a breakfast before I go to shark dive at 5 am. She also talked a lot about the city and place to visit and eat in Cape Town.
The internet was fast and reliable, the room very comfortable and clean. It changed my previous impression about South Africa and I can recommend to every my friends to visit Cape Town and stay in Upperbloem.
One bad point is that you need to 'climb' the streets to go there, but in the other hand, you have an incredible view of Atlantic Ocean and the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked after reading all good reviews. Taxi was waiting for us at the airport and Katrin met us at the house with coffee and loads of info. We booked the room with the balcony which was well worth it for the stunning views over the city and nice to sit out after arriving home from an evening out. Good location, only a 5 min walk down to Long Street and although it was a steep walk back up it was quick and felt safe. Breakfast was available until late so was nice for a leisurely morning and felt really homely. My only tiny criticism is that our room was right next to the breakfast room so you could hear early risers talking! A lovely pool but was a bit chilly for us to use the few days we were there.

Room Tip: The room with balcony was definitely worth slight extra cost.... Lovely views!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great views. Lovely room and bathroom. Good breakfast. Excellent host - very friendly and helpful, particularly when a tour got cancelled at last minute on morning of trip and she helped me arrange something else. Best value part of visit to Cape Town. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#36 of 111 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#45 of 111 in Cape Town Central
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 111 in Cape Town Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spring Tide Inn
Spring Tide Inn
#58 of 111 in Cape Town Central
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#86 of 111 in Cape Town Central
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 111 in Cape Town Central
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $71 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing