We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cape Town Central
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
262
76
4
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
262
76
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bo kaap long street table mountain guest house is located highly recommend this guesthouse large balcony a lovely stay nice pool pool area after dark clean rooms exploring cape town bed was comfortable walking distance katarina apartment accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 347 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of our South Africa trip. Katrin/owner is amazing! She is there to give you advice on rental cars, restaurants, and even recommendations on places to stay in other parts of South Africa (wine region, Kruger park) as well as Seychelles! She even lent us her personal gps so we can get around! Location is perfect, we walked to restaurants in town (5-10minute walk). Yes, it's on the top of a hill which makes the view amazing overlooking table mountain. But the walk is very safe, even at night time as we've done several times during our stay there. And the uphill walk is totally doable for a normal person and takes just 5 minutes. Rooms are clean and comfortable, great Internet, and breakfast is healthy and good! If you stay elsewhere you will regret it!

Room tip: All rooms are good as its a small placeZ,
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kohsamui_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Upperbloem in july 2013 and felt very welcoming. The room we had was big and very clean. In the morning there is a good and various breakfast. Free wifi is also available. Locations is great, just 5 min from Longstreet by foot. Waterfront shopping center is also a 5 -10 min away by taxi.
Don't hesitate, just book in this place. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetraS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice guesthouse in the quiet (& slopy) Bo Kaap neighbourhood. City centre and restaurants&bars are in a short walk distance. You get a pretty good breakfast plus juices, pastries, etc all day long in the shared kitchen, which has a balcony overlooking the city center and table mountain. Rooms are clean and functional, and the owner is really nice. Altogether, a very good choice!

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The terrace of the guesthouse offers a great view of Cape town! Every day starts special, just having breakfast there. The rooms are very clean and the beds quite comfortable. The atmosphere is familiar cause there are only few rooms available.
The owner Katrin is a wonderful person, who gives helpful advice and tries to make very one as comfortable as possible.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Upperbloem offers functional rooms with simple furniture. I think this is something where a bit more love into detail could be put. We had the balcony room with a wonderful view on Cape Town, that i would definitely recommend to book. However, the room is next to the shared breakfast area / kitchen, which gets very noisy after 8 o'clock in the morning. Please also be aware of the muezzin at about 6 o'clock in the morning which will wake you up with a lound noise every morning. The breakfast is really great, from little baked sweets to cheese, ham, eggs, fruit etc...all you can eat without having the owners around you and watching you all the time...relaxted! :-)
I think this is a great option for backpackers and people who are looking for value-for-money options in Cape Town.

Room tip: Balcony with view!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milkyway85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews