We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting Cape Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upperbloem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Upperbloem
Ranked #51 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Cape Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here for two nights using it as our base to visit Cape Town before heading out to the winelands. Good location, although a car is needed to get up the hill. Only negative is my fiancee found it hard to sleep at night due to the noise in the corridor from other guests. Didn't affect me so just something to be aware of if you're a light sleeper.
Katrin was extremely helpful and friendly. The views are fantastic. It's a perfect little guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelling_banj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    65
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
181
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

It's was a very large room with everthing in it we need, except wlan connection was bad or not existing in our room. Breakfast was varied and the owner had some good tips for tours and restaurants. We booked a very good township tour over the hotel too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Upperbloem for 3 nights. When we arrived a day early because I had messed up our reservation, Katrin went out of her way to accomodate us and booked us into a room anyway. Really excellent breakfasts, and the views from the balcony in the dining area are outstanding. Close to everything! 5 minute drive to V&A waterfront and a 2 min drive to the really trendy restaurants in town. After upperbloem we stayed in some other higher-end and much more expensive hotels in Cape Town and totally regretted not just booking all the nights in at Upperbloem. We tried to book another few nights right at the end of our stay but unfortunately they were fully booked. Really wonderful hotel, great hosts, and a fantastic deal.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the room with the private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plauen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

It was a very nice stay close to the restaurants and bars in the city Street and Kloof Street and the market.
Katrin is a very nice host.
The few, the breakfast and the service was fantastic. We enjoyed it very much.



  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank K0nstanzeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

+ friendly host
+ great breakfast
+ good service before trip when I had some questions
+ free wi-fi

Room was little bit small but I knew it already and it was cheaper. I don't know how big are those other rooms. Room was clean and bed was really good to sleep. Thank you Upperbloem!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Saara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

To be honest we did not spend much time in the hotel. We checked in late night and checked out early morning. But the little we saw left us impressed. The hostess was incredibly helpful. The rooms were very comfortable.

The owner is originally from Europe and has managed to bring best of Europe and South africa together starting from sparkling mineral water

Room Tip: Room walls are thin, Be careful with the noise you make
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrakashKadirvelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Upperbloem for the duration of 5 nights. Starting with the breakfast, continuing with the big, clean rooms (tidied up by the friendly and accurate service-women) and finishing with the beautiful pool-area and its amazing view over the city, this Guesthouse is an A+. Would choose it anytime again for my stay in CT. Only the steep walk from the CBD to the Guesthouse is a sporty one ;)

Thanks to Kathrin and her accommodation we always had a peaceful oasis when coming back from our daily trips. Priceless :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#49 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#40 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
City Bowl
Ikhaya Lodge
Ikhaya Lodge
#75 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upperbloem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upperbloem

Property: Upperbloem
Address: 8 Upper Bloem Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Upperbloem 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Upperbloem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upperbloem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing