We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dock House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Starting from the first booking request until last "bye-bye", that place always makes me feel good. Authentic interiors mixed with modern chic elements, great service and food from the restaurant nearby, served in your balcony with the view over the V&A waterfront.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexeynavnav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    14
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
143
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Dock House is a beautiful boutique hotel set slightly back from the waterfront central, with panoramic views over the waterfront. It is private, stylish, and first class. Breakfast is always a joy with Reymond, the staff are super attentive, and Ashleen will make sure your stay is second to none. The location is extremely central.......an absolute jewel in the crown. Cape Town is such an inspiring city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a first floor room with a balcony and it was exceptional in every way; the room was spacious and very well appointed, great location on a hill just across the road from the Waterfront, the breakfast classy and the housekeeping superb. The manager Kelly and her team made sure that we were very comfortable.

Room Tip: The first floor on this two level property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nihal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in the Dock House hotel for 10 nights and really enjoyed our stay. This small hotel is a real gem, very beautiful and nicely decorated and the staff was very welcoming and helpful in every possible way. Our suite was well equipped, great bed and had a terrace and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious.

You can have your breakfast in your room, balcony or terrace it was always delivered at the time we had asked. The breakfast was every morning a joy full event.

We really loved the place and I would gladly recommend the hotel for anyone staying in Cape Town and wanting to enjoy a little luxury in a homely hotel that is located close to the Waterfront. We come back next year.

Room Tip: When you are looking for a hotel which feels like home, book this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMilliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our trip to South Africa was filled with beautiful hotels. Dock House did not disappoint in this regard. The room was gorgeous, housekeeping was spot on and location was fantastic. We were a 2 minute walk from the waterfront area. The gym is just right except I was surprised that there was a charge for bottled water. The pool area was beautiful and very relaxing with a nice view of Table Mountain.
The personalized attention is great but at times we felt a bit too under the microscope. It felt a bit invasive when the hotel manager seemed to know everything we were up to, where we ate and if she didn't know she'd ask.
It's tricky to get to from the airport so definitely ask for directions when booking or get a GPS.

Room Tip: We stayed in 501 which was on the main floor and had a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a fairly small boutique hotel with stunning bedrooms and a lovely garden pool area. We recently stayed there for two nights on our honeymoon and my wife is now convinced she wants to buy a house that can replicate the room we stayed in. I suggest asking for one of the two rooms that are on the first floor overlooking the pool/ garden. They both have fantastic large balconies with good views of the waterfront area. The breakfast in the Dock House is very good but even better is having breakfast at the sister hotel across the road instead. Breakfast at the Victoria & Alfred is unbelievable. We have stayed in some very good hotels but the breakfast here was the best I can remember. If I was to highlight anything that you should be aware of it is the music from the Waterfront is quite loud at night time on Friday nights, less so on Saturday for some reason. On Friday it didn't go off until about 12.45am. Just depends what time you end up going to bed that night. Nights in the week I don't think it's an issue anyway. Overall, gorgeous boutique hotel (circa 6 rooms) with fantastic rooms, lovely garden with a pool and really good breakfasts (especially at the Victoria & Alfred). Not cheap but you get what you pay for!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Tucked away behind the V&A waterfront this hotel is the perfect location for staying in Cape Town . Only a handfull of rooms and each designed and furnished to the highest standards. Step out from your room onto the private lawn and enter an oasis in the bustle of Cape Town - personal service with nothing too much trouble. Nice touches like nibbles with the turn down service. Kelly and her team sorted out a Safari and a wine tour for us with providers of similar quality.Although the facillities of the Dock House's two sister hotels are available we enjoyed the great service at the Dock House

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The PortsWood
The PortsWood
#45 of 109 in Cape Town Central
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock House Boutique Hotel

Property: Dock House Boutique Hotel
Address: Portswood Close, Portswood Ridge | Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#49 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dock House Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cape Town address that is suited perfectly to your needs. Dock House Boutique Hotel & Spa is a unique and opulent jewel in the crown of Cape Town's glamorous, world-famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront, offering discerning guests, visiting dignitaries and celebrities exclusive accommodation and personalised yet unobtrusive butler-style service in an excellent world-class setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dock House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dock House Hotel Cape Town Central
Dock House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing