We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to book Romney Lodge if you visit Cape Town”
Review of Romney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romney Lodge
Ranked #110 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make sure to book Romney Lodge if you visit Cape Town”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We had intended to stay only 3 nights, but luckily there was a room free for a fourth night at Romney Lodge. Fantastic location, beautiful accomodation, the decor left me wishing I could transport it to my own house in Ireland, and wonderful hospitality, made our stay in Cape Town very memorable. The owner and Philip and Eunice (who I almost adopted!) were so friendly and relaxed, I felt I was in my own house. Breakfast was delicious. I strongly recommend people to stay here if they visit Cape Town. It will complete your holiday!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWilbury6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We've been staying four nights in Romney Lodge and being the 3th time in Cape Town, this was by far the best B&B hotel one can imagine.
Phillip and Eunice are the best hosts one can wish for. You really feel at home in Romney lodge. The rooms were very spacious and amazingly decorated, so peaceful and relaxed you felt in the room. Eunices makes the most wonderful breakfast and Phillip is always ready to give you good advice, helping you to book a taxi, having a nice chat with you, ... .
I would definitely recommand Romney lodge and when I visit Cape Town again I'll definitely stay again with Phillip and Eunice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

We stayed four days in Cape Town and after being on safari we realy enyoed our stay at the room lodge. The owner welcomed us en gave very usefull information. The room was excellent en nicely decorated. The breakfast en personal are very good. The place is at 20 min walkt to Waterfront. If we come back to Cape Town we are staying here again.
Erik And Jacobi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuiperskooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

What a wonderful stay! The House is absolutely beautiful and we felt like we had come home. Phillip is very hospitable, and lived up to the promise of providing us with a delicious breakfat. I also enjoyed the tour of the house and soaking up the heritage of the house. All the recycled elements are highlighted and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunubug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The location and the individaually decorated rooms with Victorian details have all been praised in previous reviews and I do agree. However, Romney Lodge's best asset are the hosts Phil and Eunice. Their attention and personal tips for everything from restaurants to where to buy the best spices beat every guide book. And the adoring dachshunds made the stay even more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luftburen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Great small hotel, very nice décor, fantastic bespoke rooms, honesty bar and very accommodating staff. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejamoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boksburg
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were made to feel welcome at all times. Any assistance was given cheerfully whenever requested. The accommodation was peaceful and relaxing at all times.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#20 of 109 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#29 of 109 in Cape Town Central
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#15 of 155 in Cape Town Central
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#54 of 155 in Cape Town Central
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 155 in Cape Town Central
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Lodge

Property: Romney Lodge
Address: 10 Romney Street | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently undergone a complete upgrade and refurbishment. Romney Lodge is an elegant old Victorian manor, situated in the heart of Green Point. Offering 6 tastefully decorated rooms with wireless internet, Satellite TV. Safes. New sundeck and pool for relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Views of Robben Island. Within walking distance of Waterfront and City Centre. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romney Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing