We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can it be better?”
Review of Romney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romney Lodge
Ranked #124 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed with Phillip and Mama Eunice for 5 nights including Christmas Day, on which Phillip threw a braai (barbecue) on the terrace for all guests. I still dream about his steam grilled chicken... "We" are 6 grown-ups, a family with two daughters (18 and 22) and another couple, and we used 3 rooms. The rooms are large, very comfortable with excellent shower and bathroom facilities. The lodge is very cozy, and the staff is very helpful. I hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

Romney Lodge was just the perfect place to unwind after three weeks working a conference. Philip was the perfect host. Tours were arranged and transportation available quickly. Location very nice, near enough but not too close to everything. Easy walk to the waterfront. Eunice is a dream and took very good care of breakfast and room. I would absolutely go back and recommend to all my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Rixos Hotels and Resorts
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Phillip was incredibly welcoming and we were very comfortable for the final 2 days of our holiday. The location on green point within walking distance of the V&A waterfront is fab.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thattommyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

At the end of our South African holiday we stayed for three nights at the Romney Lodge in Capetown which have been the nicest days of our trip. The guesthouse is ideally located: in a quiet spot in Green Point, but still very close to the Waterfront and the Beach Road. Philip was always available to give us useful tips regarding restaurants or where to fill our picnic basket (which he also provided). Mama Eunice is so warm hearted and prepares great breakfast. This is truly a 4 star lodge with the plus of keeping the personal touch that made us feel like home in a country far away. Eunice and Philip: Thanks again very much for caring. Hope to see you again. Warm regards, Claudia and Stefan, Germany

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our South African agent, who lives in Port Elizabeth, strongly urged us to try The Romney Lodge in Capetown. We took his advice for a three night stay, and I have to say he picked a winner.
Quiet and luxurious rooms, a cozy ambience in the dining area and lounge, and the marvelous host Mishka made this our favourite mid-level place to stay on a three week trip around SA.
The Romney is a bit out of the way from restaurants and the main tourist zones, but its hillside location provides a good exercise warmup for a big meal at one of Capetown's fantastic restaurants. Romney has special deals with a couple cab companies, so its pretty inexpensive to go anywhere in central Capetown. Mishka did an outstanding job in providing restaurant recommendations, and didn't blink when we returned from one to open the "honour bar" for some late night socializing in the lounge.
Overall, this is one of those special inns with an appealing character. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We visited Cape Town in June 2011 and were lucky to stumble upon Romney Lodge. Done in colonial style with African touches, the B&B is in great and unintrusive taste. There are interesting corners such as the wall in one loo covered in yellowing newspapers from the early 20th century. The place is spotlessly clean and run like a tight ship by ex Navy man Philip King and his wonderful team Mischka, the incomparable Eunice, and Simon.

Eunice, many thanks for the piles of golden pancakes which you turned out on the request of a hungry growing boy!

Romney Lodge is very close to a whole bunch of great restaurants and shopping, and a short taxi ride away from downtown. We got loads of great advice about where to go and where to eat. Our best evening watching the Funny Show at the Baxter was on Mischka's advice.

We will defintely be back!

Room Tip: The back big room with a sunken tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miraNewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at Romney Lodge this Christmas and loved it. The atmosphere is great and the staff amazing: Philip will help you with everything, Simon will sneak around making your day perfect, and Eunice is just out of this world. Her cheerful laughter will make you smile every morning and we miss her already. If you want a cozy, relaxing, and personal stay in Cape Town, I can recommend Romney Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 130 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 130 in Cape Town Central
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Lodge

Address: 10 Romney Street | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $152 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently undergone a complete upgrade and refurbishment. Romney Lodge is an elegant old Victorian manor, situated in the heart of Green Point. Offering 6 tastefully decorated rooms with wireless internet, Satellite TV. Safes. New sundeck and pool for relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Views of Robben Island. Within walking distance of Waterfront and City Centre. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romney Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing