We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location and menu”
Review of Theo's - CLOSED

Theo's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good location and menu”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

With only a road between the sea and this establishment, it is perfect for sundowners. Although the service and menu could be described as average, it is not bad by any definition. The restaurant is highly rated and I did expect a little more, but I believe it is still above average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    90
    33
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Testing Restaurants and Bistros”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We tried again this restaurant. We ony ordered a seafood salad.
The seafood was precooked and dry. The green salad was fresch.

All the prices went up to 70 %.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average food, good service”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I and two colleagues went to Theo’s for a steak after a long days’ worth of meetings. We arrived early and did not have a booking and we got a nice table in the restaurant. We all ordered steaks, I chose the 350g rump and my colleagues had the 250 fillet and the 350 fillet. The steaks were OK and the pepper sauce I had on the side was good. The service we received was great but the food mediocre. The prices are reasonable the presentation poor, however there are far better options at similar prices in Cape Town. I won’t be returning to Theo’s for a steak again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrancoisV-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgrace to Cape Town”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Theos has had a fine name among Capetonians for years . Sadly the current management is doing their best to destroy that. We booked for a late lunch and before our dessert was served were asked to leave as there was a private function due to start at 6 p.m. ( this was at 4:30 pm). When we objected to Ivan (manager) we were told (very rudely) the private function had been booked for months and that we had been given an hour's notice (rubbish we were given 5 minutes). A disgrace to service in a beautiful city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning Steaks”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I simply picked them again after 20 years of never being disappointed - and brought a group of international friends there - and they who have all tried steak around the world including Argentina, Australia, etc. - and they were all blown away by the quality and well prepared Theo's steaks!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRover_no_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theo's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing