We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Modern Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Modern, clean, with lots of windows and natural sunlight. Just off a main street so perfect blend of quiet but great location. We felt safe walking to and from restaurants. It was also perfect for early morning runs by the ocean. Very good service and world class breakfast.

As others noted the bathrooms are part of the rooms. This was a non-issue as each floor had an extra private bathroom if more privacy was needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    61
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
303
48
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Fantastic boutique hotel in Capetown. 9 rooms well appointed. Nice pool and back yard. Very personalized service. They will arrange all sightseeing, cabs, travel to/from airport, etc. Hotel is easy walk to waterfront which is a fun place to visit and also where one can get on the area tourist buses. Great breakfast plus near many restaurants. We went there on 2 separate trips spaced by a few weeks. One was last minute and they had to put us up in a neighboring boutique hotel called Cape Diem for 1 night. Also a great boutique hotel with very personal service. The folks at Zest moved all of our stuff while we were out playing around. This place is getting popular so book ahead.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was a great find in Cape Town. A little off the main road, it is centrally located, private, and provides easy access to all the best attractions in Cape Town. The staff is great and very helpful when making reservations; they treat you like a personal friend rather than a stranger. We were celebrating a friends birthday, and they made it very special with several extra touches. The only peculiar aspect was that we had a room on the ground floor, which felt like it was part of the lobby; however, as the hotel is quite small, we did not experience any problems with noise or privacy. The rooms are very clean and well appointed, and breakfast is great - I will highly recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor - they are more spacious and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tidwellchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was like staying with friends.....nothing was too much trouble....everyone who works there is amazing.....reservations for restaurants were made before we even arrived, since we were arriving late in the evening.....pick up from airport was smooth.....breakfasts were fantastic, and even take away breakfasts were organised. Restaurant reservations were made throughout my three day stay. The location is fantastic. Greenpoint has excellent little cafes and restaurants, all within walking distance. The Butcher man has the best biltong! If I could stay here every year for the rest of my life I would. Michelle, Gilbert and Yanice.......I hope we meet again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsGeorgeClooney1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'd agree with all the favourable reviews on Villa Zest. It really does provide a high quality experience that sets a fun and enjoyable backdrop whilst visiting Cape Town.
The service we received before, during and after was excellent - the staff provided recommendations to great bars, restaurants and outings and were great at making the arrangements for us.
The location is central although it's not right on the waterfront or in the city bowl, it's a 10 min walk to both of these.
The hotel itself is beautifully designed in a slight retro/60's theme (I was originally concerned this would feel too "novelty" but it genuinely doesn't - it's subtle and well proportioned). We had a room on the garden which we seemed to have the run of, and the pool is large enough to do lengths.
The rooms fit the theme of clean, white, minimalist but do provide some great touches including large kingsize beds. The integrated bathrooms are a little different but fun.
The breakfasts were fantastic. The Eggs Benedict were the best I've ever had and the large selection of cereals, pastries and fruits make for an indulgent start to the day. Having this in the spacious and light breakfast room can't help but put you in a good mood to start the day.
We had to leave early morning to go shark diving in Gansbaai and Gilbert arranged a take-away breakfast with sandwiches, fruits and pastries that were perfect for when we got on the boat. They really did think of everything. Thank you Villa Zest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Garden, we had Barbarella - felt like we had our own private pool and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was lovely! it was clean, the staff were unbelievably helpful and the location was conveinantly placed 10 minutes away from the waterfront. Yanice was awesome, she told us the best places to go, booked our tours and was generally a gem. Thank you all so much, our stay as made so much more pleasant by the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Villa Zest for one night only, as we were there on business, but were so impressed with this small but lovely establishment, that it will be a firm favorite when we travel to Cape Town again. Our room, although not big, was very comfortable, and nice little touches which you only find at five star establishments was very welcome. This is a home away from home, with good food, comfortable bed, iPod docking station and the most welcoming staff. The outside areas are also very welcoming and will be very enjoyable in both summer and the winter months. Well done to all the staff at Villa Zest!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 1moretimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
413 reviews
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#56 of 109 in Cape Town Central
344 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Sp...
#19 of 109 in Cape Town Central
342 reviews
Queen Victoria Hotel
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing