We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent place in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
179 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent place in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a great time at Cape Town and we must thank the staff at this tiny but cute, clean and well kept boutique Hotel for it. They booked our cable car up the Tabletop mountain, gave us a printed itinerary with suggestions of where to lodge during our next part of our S. African tour (at Hermanus), and their tips were excellent.
Warm, helpful, kind staff. Good breakfast, nice pool in the yard at the back of the hotel. Within walking distance of the Waterfront yet on a nice and peaceful street.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms are "thematic" so ask about the options. Ours was Warhol (as in Andy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AUSTIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    55
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
272
46
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

One of the best small hotels we have encountered anywhere in the world.
The staff were exceptional in terms of courtesy,service and helpfulness.
Definitely a place for the discerning traveller!
The whole establishment was very tastefully decorated/furnished and our room was as good as most 5 star hotels,and at a really affordable cost.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and wished we could spend more days here...
Lovely and warm personnel. The rooms had quite a modern design. Beautiful and comfortable lounge.
Looking forward to visit again. Good location.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed at on our honeymoon. All the previous excellent reviews were spot on. We stayed here for 3 nights and the girls who ran the hotel could not do enough for us in the 3 days we were there. They gave us a complementary bottle of sparkling wine as it was our honeymoon and they were always on hand to help. Michelle advised us on some great restaurants to go to (Carne was a great one - go if you like your steak) and ordered all of our taxis and generally made sure we had a great time in Cape Town. She even gave us her mobile number to ring in case we needed her at any point or had questions while we were away from the hotel. You can get lots of nice hotels with nice rooms etc but this is going the extra mile for you guests. As for the hotel itself, the room was great. The first night they'd turned down the room and put candles everywhere. The lounge/dining area upstairs is great. A nice place to have breakfast as well as relax in the daytime or evening. The breakfasts are superb as well. Full English or pancakes, a host of cereals and fruit but done very nicely not like some of the big hotels. Outside is a small pool and garden area with loungers where you can sunbath. In terms of location Villa Zest is in Green Point so it is about 4-5 minutes in a taxi to the V & A Waterfront. The cost of the taxis are very little, literally £2-3 each way. Overall I think this is a great boutique hotel run by people who will look after you and make sure you enjoy your time in Cape Town. The larger hotels simply don't have the time to give you this amount of attention.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked for Villa Zest, 2 days before landing and was a bit anxious.

I did not need to be. We found the hotel very easily from the airport, and parked outside. We rang the bell and Gilbert the concierge came out to help us. (Hence forth to be referred to as Gilbert the Great!).

Gilbert the Great helped us into our room, ordered us dinner,and organised us a bottle of wine. It was a perfect start to a weekend in the Cape.

The room was amazing, the most comfortable bed and amazing decor. We woke up and had a great breakfast in the lounge ranging from continental to omlettes.

When we checked out, we found our wine was complementary, well two glasses of it, and was deducted from our bill without asking.

Highly reccomend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

- Fantastic service, 24/7
- Cross between a guesthouse and a boutique hotel - 4/5*
- Very attentive, helpful, chatty staff
- Rooms furnished to a high standard
- Great beds
- Spacious bathrooms
- Parking spaces
- Very secure
- Brilliant breakfast
- Conveniently located for tourists
- Cool interior decor

Overall: would definitely go back. And it's rare I say that.

Room Tip: I had a view of the garden and pool, which was nice and quiet. The room was called 'Bullit'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPLW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The staff are excellent at Villa Zest (Michelle and Janice in particular) and the hotel itself is very conveniently located, has a very cool 70s mod feel - I'd definitely recommend staying here while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damfinoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#30 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,244 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing