We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice but short stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice but short stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed Zest Villa for 1 night as a stop over on the way back to Asia. The hotel staff is very friendly and allow me to check out when I was ready to leave for Cape Town airport ( 3:15 pm) after knowing my flight schedule. That gave me some time to take a shower after exploring the city through hop-on-hop-off bus in the morning, which makes me fly with more comfort.
The only thing - as other reviewers have pointed, there is no door for bathroom, that is not a problem if you stay alone of course.

The breakfast was also a nice surprise - not a variety, but fresh and delicious! I am not sure if I have another chance to visit this city, but would love to stay again if there is.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue-sky_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    57
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
279
47
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This small boutique hotel is very convenient. During the day, you can easily walk either to the Waterfront nor to the City Bowl (central Cape Town). The staff is very efficient and friendly. All the rooms are very quiet and well designed and equipped. There is a garden where you can relax, smoke with a lovely swimming pool, and a rooftop terrace. I would recommend this hotels to both solo and couple travelers. And finally, the room rate is very attractive for such a quality (a buffet brekfast is included).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed for a week in this small, beautiful hotel in May 2011.The hotel is very clean & nicely decorated.The staff is amazingly helpful & freindly esp. Michelle.The hotel is close to a lot of good restaurants & walking to V & A waterfront as well though it isadvisable to take a taxi at night.
Due to the contemporary , open plan design the toilets of the rooms do not have doors which might be uncomfortable to some people.Otherwise,I can hardly find anything negative to say.
We would definately recommend this hotel to all travelling to cape town!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah-shafqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Myself & my sister stayed at Villa Zest recently and couldn't fault a thing. The staff were brilliant and very helpful with regards to advice on where to go and what to do and even arranging a transfer in Jo'burg for me.

The hotel is very stylish and clean and in a good location, its only a 10 minute walk to V&A and for anything further the hotel would always arrange a taxi for us. They were also quick to let us know that if we were ever lost or needed to get back to the hotel they would sort a lift asap if we rang them.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geets78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel more than lived up to our expectations after reading all of the previous reviews and in fact far exceeded them. The room was beautiful, a really good size and probably the cleanest hotel room I have ever seen! To top it off the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The staff were all so so lovely and keen to make recommendations, book taxis and restaurants and bring us drinks. They were also more than helpful when we wanted to order a takeaway after a tiring day. They honestly couldn't do enough for you, without being in the slightest bit intrusive. The location is ideal for exploring the city, waterfront and also the atlantic coast. Right in the middle of the action.

I would definitely stay here again and think the hotel is great value for money. Thank you to all of the staff, especially Scott who got the most of our requests/questions and general enquiries. We will be back! :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpingBeanSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

What a truly fantastic boutique hotel, one of the best we have encountered on our travels. All the staff were incredibly courteous and helpful and the owner is always keen for a chat and will give you lots of great tips.

They really made our night with free champagne and chocolates. Rooms are spotless and beds are comfortable. The highlight for us was the included breakfast, a buffet and cooked brekky that runs till midday....the way all breakfasts should!

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for the poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

After reading numerous reviews we decided our first visit to Cape Town would include a stay at the Villa Zest Boutique Hotel. The choice was the best we could have made as our stay was a very special one. Unlike the many hotels which claim to be boutique hotels with a 50 plus rooms the Villa Zest lives up to what one expects in a boutique hotel - intimacy, a personalized hotel service and lots of space. All shared amongst 7 rooms only. Our positive experience started with our e-mail correspondences with Illana and Michelle who helped us put together our itinerary for the limited time we had in Cape Time. Though we only arrived at 11 pm after a marathon flight we were greeted with a big smile from the night porter who could see we were exhausted and immediately told us not to worry about the check-in and that we can do the formalities the next day. Another savior was that we had not eaten in hours and were able to order tasty fresh sandwiches. With the two days that followed things only got better and we felt truly looked after. The entire staff from the maids to front office were so friendly and genuinely concerned with our every needs. There is a warmth at the Villa Zest that can only be experienced not described. The best part is that we now have the Cape Town bug and look forward to next trip and a longer stay at the Villa Zest.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikitaughtme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel
Queen Victoria Hotel
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Zest Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Zest Boutique Hotel

Property: Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Address: 2 Braemar Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#19 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Zest Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the bustling Green Point area and Cape Town's very own Soho - De Waterkant, Villa Zest Boutique Hotel offers designer luxury accommodation to the style-savvy visitor looking for a more personalized boutique hotel experience. The clean modern lines of Villa Zest's Bauhaus architecture are the inspiration for the interior of this boutique hotel hideaway, with each individually decorated en-suite room a seamless fusion of retro style and luxury detail; only the finest in bed linen, furnishings and fittings have been used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Zest Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zest Boutique
Boutique Hotel Zest
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing