We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is certainly not suitable for people travelling without a vehicle. Taxis often don't know it and the area isn't very nice. The canal service finishes at dusk and on one occasion we couldn't get on a boat from the Watefront and were told there would be a 1/2 hr wait. On our first evening we called to enquire the time of the last boat, were given the wrong time so that when we got down the last boat had long gone....although reception seemed unsure, surely a hotel relying on the passing boat service should at least know the times? To walk into the V&A you have to walk back into town and, in our case, pass people sleeping rough, as two ladies this was not acceptable. On another occasion the hotel could not get us a taxi. Our room was booked in the wrong name and we were given a double bed rather than two singles, despite reception confirming the room would be a twin when we checked in. Plenty of fruit at breakfast, the toaster was however inefficient and we were only told on the 4th morning you could order egg items from the kitchen.The shower was very efficient. The room suffered noise from the motorways either side of the canal, one of which was visible from the room.The only light in the bathroom shone through the (fore-mentioned) blind, causing the bedroom to be floodlit. The room lighting was poor. Housekeeping service was spasmodic. On arrival you receive 2 biscuits on the tea tray, this is for your entire stay. Rather mean considering the room rate was the same throughout. On our second night (of a 6 night booking) we received a call at 4:30am telling us our taxi was waiting and the receptionist insisted we were going to the airport. The pool area is limited. The pool measures only 8 x3m, there is no shade and only 10 sunbeds. This is for the use of 40 rooms plus all the privately owned suites. The pool was dirty and had mould on the tiles, and on the two occasions we visited the area there was litter on the floor. The steps accessing the pool were wobbly. The pool area was unusable to us due to the complete lack of shade. We were led to believe (and the stars are outside to confirm) this was a 4* establishment: the level of service, ambience and attention to detail didn't match the other 4* we'd stayed at in Cape Town. There seemed an issue with a lack of staff training, and we didn't feel the staff had the same 'happiness' we experienced everywhere else in Cape Town.
We have taken the matter up with our travel agent, who we also notified of our concerns during our stay, and we assumed had notified the hotel.
On giving our feedback to the hotel after our stay they offered to call to discuss, we refused this as we saw no point as we would not return to the Harbour Bridge & our contract was with our tour operator, Trailfinders.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank awaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear awaytraveller
I hope that our correspondence outside of the Tripadvisor forum via your Travel agent
And to yourself via our Guest Survey, has sufficiently addressed the issues you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 410 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

I'm sitting on our balcony watching the sun set with a glass of Chardonnay, this hotel is very good. It is very well located for the V&A (the 'water bus' stops right at the hotel) and only a 4km drive to cable car for the mountain. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant staff are a delight. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Turn down service includes a mini bar of chocolate and replenishment of the tea and coffee supplies. The hotel has underground parking and is very secure. I would recommend this place for a stay in C.T.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hugh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Hugh
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on Tripadvisor.
We at Harbour Bridge welcome guest feedback and take such pride in knowing we met our guests’ expectations when receiving positive feedback such as yours. We hope that on your next visit to Cape Town, we will be your hotel of choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We knew virtually nothing about this hotel. Picked it for a one night stop on the way the next day to the Garden route.

It turned out that it was a fabulous find.
It is at the end of a very swanky canal.
A short water taxi ride took us to the V&A waterfront and the trip along the canal was wonderful, passing very upscale accommodations and the famous One and Only on this Canal.
The staff were super friendly and the price was very affordable. Great value for Monet.

Would highly recommend it..

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lorna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Lorna
Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly
Many of our guests find the water taxi such an amazing experience and prefer to use it for travelling to the V&A Waterfront.
It is a pity that you only got to spend one night in our hotel and we hope to have the privilege
of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you visit beautiful Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Came to book in at 2 o clock. Room was not ready. No offer for complimentary drink. Wanted to lie at pool no umbrellas for African sun. Disappointing. ! AFRICAN TIME. OUCH! Eish!! No apology. Sad. Will see what room looks like. Africa with African standards not 4 srar reception.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank jolitadubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Jolita,
Firstly our sincere apologizes for any discomfort and inconvenience that was caused. Your comments posted on Tripadvisor are of great concern, especially as we at Harbour Bridge pride ourselves in service excellence.
Our normal check in time is at 2pm. We do however strive to offer all our guests the very best standards in terms of room quality and for this reason your room took longer to get ready in the busy festive season.
You are welcome to take up correspondence with me direct on the other aspects of your stay that you mentioned.

I hope we will be afforded another opportunity to welcome you to our Hotel in order for you to experience our true South African Hospitality and we would welcome your feedback on our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights - it was a great choice and bang for the bucks !

The location is good - It is right next to a canal leading to the V&Z waterfront. It's a short drive to the waterfront. Alternatively water ferry can also be taken from here to go to the waterfront. We didn't use it since we had a rented car. The outside parking is free . The hotel is right next to a motorway, however, very relaxed & quiet at the same time The covered one is charged.

The rooms were excellent in terms of comfort. Our room did not have a good view . However, there are many rooms facing the canal. The housekeeping was very prompt and small touches like leaving chocolates on the pillow and the weather forecast for next day were an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiti_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Smiti_SS

Guest comments/feedback are very important to us at Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites and we are so proud that we have met your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on our hotel.
We hope that, should your travels lead you back to Cape Town, we would be your hotel of choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We selected this hotel for it's location and price. It is across the road from the convention centre and is therefore very easy to find.
It's a short walk to Long Street (about 5 mins) and Green Market. You can walk to V&A in about 20 minutes or it's a quick cab ride for about 50 rand. Another option is the Canal Cruise which stops right by the hotel.
The rooms are a good size and were kept immaculate by the staff. A nice touch was the turn down team leaving chocolates on the pillows each night, a weather forecast for the next day, and opening the TV guide on the page for the day.
The beds were very comfortable.
9 channels were available on the TV, one being SkyNews, but sadly no BBC or CNN
Good internet reception available in the rooms, but this is not free. You only get 50Mb free then you have to purchase any extra that you might need. However if you're eating in restaurants at V&A waterfront, most will offer free wifi, just ask the staff for the key, so this wasn't a major problem for us.
Breakfast is available every day and had a good choice, but I thought it was overpriced.
The hotel has a bar but we didn't use this so can't make a comment on this.

There is a roof top terrace and (small) swimming pool which overlooks the docks and over towards the football stadium in the distance.

The hotel staff were very friendly, always smiling, and always willing to help or provide advice.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: We were in D block with room facing table mountain. Excellent view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear mrpeewee68

Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor. We appreciate all comments from our guests and use them constructively to improve where necessary.
We are in the process of upgrading guest internet and we anticipate to be able to offer an improved internet service to our guests soon. Our staff was very proud to hear that you found them to be friendly and helpful.
It was our pleasure to have had you as our guest and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you are in beautiful Cape Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I ended her mainly for the closeness to the Cape Town Waterfront area and CTICC, 200 meters of walking. The hotel is very relaxed, no hustle or anything to be stressed, Perfect get away place in the in Cape Town with very reasonable pricing. The restaurant and the bar are very pleasant to have a light meal and few drinks before heading to nightly activities.
I had light colored and very comfortable room with excellent bath tube arrangement.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pertti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeline J, General Manager at AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear L Pertti

Guest perception of our hotel is very important to us and we are very glad to view your positive comments on Tripadvisor.
We thank you for taking the time to post these comments and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to our hotel when next you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Tow...
#32 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,084 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
658 reviews
Waterfront Village
#68 of 110 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#66 of 110 in Cape Town Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites

Address: Lower Long Street | Roggebaai Canal, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $113 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This state of the art hotel is ideally positioned on the Roggebaai Canal Waterfront, close to the V&A Waterfront, within the Cape Town International Convention Centre precinct, and this prime location attracts both corporate and leisure travellers seeking a distinctive experience. Set against a backdrop of picturesque mountain views with a sea water canal running through the hotel's bridge wing, the hotel links the city to the sea. There are 40 well-appointed and comfortable rooms as well as an additional 18 luxury suites which have an open lounge area and fully equipped kitchen, making them an ideal choice for longer staying guests. A contemporary restaurant offers good food in a relaxing setting with a picturesque location alongside the canal. The stylish Executive Boardroom is an ideal venue for intimate meetings and product launches for up to 15 guests. This sophisticated hotel offers warm hospitality coupled with a wide range of services and facilities for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Bridge Hotel And Suites
Harbour Bridge Hotel Cape Town Central
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing