We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location, Great Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Town Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Town Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for a week at Cape Town Backpackers. The staff were fantastic -- if you stay for a few days like I did, you'll have a chance to meet all sorts of cool people at the (modestly priced) bar every night. The management keeps the place reasonably quiet at night; just head down the street to any number of fantastic restaurants or bars in the Kloof Street area. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and there seem to be a range of private and shared options. The internet worked well, and there are a couple of shared computers if you need one. The staff provided a great recommendation for a wine tour. It was the highlight of my trip! I highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Some really nice private rooms with balconies facing table mountain. In any event, book early, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woof-woof-arf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the review, we'll try to make sure you get your table mountain view next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    60
    15
    7
    17
See reviews for
10
44
81
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me & my new husband started our backpacking honeymoon here and the people who owned & ran it were fantastic! Really helpful & friendly. We stayed in a private room rather than dorms (understandably!) and we're given a lovely ensuite room with a balcony & view of table mountain :)
We went on an amazing wine tour recomended by the staff, they helped us find great onward accomodation and gave good advice about booking trips to Robben Island etc. Our last night at the bar was a great introduction to South African partying (and left me just a little rough for my long train journey to Johannesburg the next morning!)
6 weeks later we chose to stay with Cape Town Backpackers on our way out of South Africa. This time we were given a different private ensuite room with balcony ...which was even nicer!!
Defenetly recomend!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review. The train journey wasn't to bad! Hopefully we'll see you guys again when you relive the honeymoon. Hope your enjoying married life and see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Wonderful staff, so helpful. Great rooms, whether you want a private or a dorm. Great banter in the bar every night, extremely welcoming. Also the rooms are suitably far away from the bar if you want a quiet night too. Don't know that I would have enjoyed Cape Town as much as I did had I not stayed here, really felt like home after only two weeks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Even though we may have covered it well at the time, we actually enjoyed having you stay! The hurl is still in pride of place in the bar. When we're in Dublin we'll be knocking on your door :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Loved this place. The staff, the building, the bar, the tours, the location, lived cape town, the people.

The hostel itself is clean, the beer is cheap, there are loads of bathrooms. I the location, on a road with cafes and shops, 5 minutes from long street so you can walk there and then walk back and sleep. Would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orcaworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at Cape Town backpackers for four days at 150 rand per night. I made the mistake of paying for the four days upon arriving and later discovered that the average price around Long Street (which is even more central than capetownbackpackers), is 120 rand per night, 20% less!

On the website of capetownbackpackers (start page on the old, broken computer they have there), they wrote that there was a "price guarantee" - if you could find a bed in central Cape Town cheaper, you would be refunded the difference! The first hostel I entered to check the price was 120 rand and all other were 120-140. When I confronted the owner with this she told me only lies ("this only accounts for when we are not full") - and then removed the post from their webpage..

I was also interested in doing a White Shark Cage Diving Tour and asked about possibilities at the hostel. It was 1450 rand with capetownbackpackers and 950 rand at the end of Long Street, and with the same tour company (identical brochures)! The job of a hostel should be to offer competitive dorms and tours that are reasonly priced - not lying to you about "Price guarantees" and not living up to it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zionawp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi. Thanks for the review. A little unusual, but as you felt so strongly about this that you post it online for the world to read I guess I should respond.

Yes we are more expensive than the hostels in Long Street, we are not in Long Street. That is why we are more expensive. There are workers hostels near the station, they charge about R10 a night, even more central than long street. Good luck if you choose to stay there. Not sure what else to say on that.

Yes we occasionally run our price promise. It works in the same way as any sale. or any hotel/airline. If we have excess space we will run a sale for a period of time. If you book in that period of time you get the room cheaper, the risk of waiting for a sale is that we would be full. We all know airlines charge different amounts depending on when you book and they promise its the cheapest fare so maybe test the theory next time you get on a plane. Ask the man next to you what he paid, if he paid less ask the stewardess if she can refund you the difference.

You got lucky on the Shark Dive tour, I can only think they had one seat to fill. See airline theory above. Sometimes it works for you sometimes it doesn't.

Next time your in Cape Town please stay somewhere else so you can test their pricing. But don't forget to pay in full and then check if there was a special offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wonderful, inexpensive place to stay while in Cape Town. I stayed here because of great comments from travelers whom I met on vacation and because of the free WiFi, that rarest of commodities in South Africa. Table Mountain is a quick jog up New Church and the Long Street nightlife is close, as well. The staff is super friendly and helpful and made me feel like I was at home.

Cape Town Backpackers can help book city tours, shark diving, as well as many other activities - I would definitely recommend Bruce Story's wine tours. A great restaurant around the corner, Knead, serves up a terrific breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review. And thanks for noting that we have free wi fi, i'm not sure many guests realise how radical it is for Africa! Next time Bruce pops in for a beer we'll tell him to read this. Hopefully we'll see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We travelled from PE to CT for 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay at CTB! :D Having Kloof and the main road road so close, made getting around really easy! The wifi was a tad slow at times, but that's not a biggy and the staff were pretty helpful and friendly :) We will most definitely be back in the future and if you're looking for a backpackers in CT with a great location, this is the one for you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth_Manthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Spa and Massage centre supervisor at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi, thanks for the review. All the team here really appreciate it when guests give us nice feed back :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#5 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Backpackers

Property: Cape Town Backpackers
Address: 81 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Town Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town Backpackers has a fantastic atmosphere and plenty of style. Its has all of the facilities you would expect from a top quality backpackers including WiFi, and internet access, café and a self-catering kitchen, a comprehensive travel desk, and a great bar to meet fellow travellers. Located in the City Bowl, close to all the main attractions, it offers affordable accommodation – from dorms to deluxe double en suite rooms – and a fun, friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Cape Town Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Backpackers South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing