We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Town Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
“Worst experience ever”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you like bed bugs, dirty rooms and all night after party noice, then this is the place to be. The staff are '[--] volonteers' (their own words) from Europe and some of them are unfriendly. Never paid so much for such awful accommodation. I had to be treated for the numerous insect bites upon my return in Belgium.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milavanmechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi, I'm shocked by your review. Wow. I'm sorry we didn't upgrade your room as you requested but really? Well, as TA won't remove this review as blackmail as requested I shall respond. 1. bed bugs and dirty rooms. We do from time to time have insects in the building, this is Africa after all. We inline with most hostels and hotels in Africa deal with any issue quickly and easily and it s never an issue, I suggest that if you don't like insects maybe you should'avoid hot countries, maybe stay in Belgium. Dirty rooms, This wasn't serious enough for you to mention it whilst you were here and you stayed for 5 days. 2. The staff, we don't have volunteers, we have staff. If you found one with an odd sense of humour then good for you. I've worked here for 5 years, although sometimes I feel like im volunteering I happen to rather like it and I normally like the guests, there are exceptions. If we were unfriendly you never mentioned it whilst you were sat at the bar chatting with us, odd. 3. You've never paid so much. Oh, well I've checked our prices and on HW and can see we are cheaper than most so please let me know where else you have stayed, as they are so cheap I might go there on my next holiday. 3. Insect bites in Belgium. Shame that you got bitten when you got home, it can't have been nice happening after you got back from holiday but thanks for letting us know. So in conclusion I hope you enjoy staying somewhere else if you are ever back in Cape Town and maybe they will upgrade you so you don't have to review them again. Thanks for the feedback anyway, this has been fun. Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    63
    16
    7
    18
See reviews for
11
46
82
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at CT Backpackers following on from a safari trip just outside Kruger.

First problem occured after we had pre-booked an aiport pickup. The guy was about 20 minutes late (admittidly not the end of the world) but then tried to make us stay in the airport (it was 10.45pm) for another hour to wait for a later flight to arrive with some other guests to save him two trips! After arguing he eventually took us to the hostel but still a pain and not what you want after a long day travelling.

Second problem occured when we arrived and the guy checking us in was completely wasted. Appreciate it was late and that it is a fun backpacker hostel but still he tried to make us pay for a room twice and seemed more concerned in pushing a Mexican evening then actually getting us to our room. We then found a note on our door the next morning asking us to make sure we paid for the room before we left. I then went down to talk to them about this, spoke to the same guy as who had checked me in the night before and who then basically denied any knowledge of him checking us in (presumably because he couldn't remember doing it). A much more helpful member of staff eventually found my fully paid receipt stuffed behind the bar. I got no apology from the drunk one at all.

All being said the room was decent and tidy and you can't knock the place for the location. I would presume our stay would have been much more enjoyable if not for the above issues.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyP7200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi, Thanks for the review and we're glad you seem to have liked the room and our location. I'm sorry you had an issue with your airport pick up company, If you let me know who it was I'll be sure to pass this on to them. We don't run airport pick ups so I think it's a bit unfair of you to go on about it on our review. Im glad that the issue with us taking payment for your room was sorted out as you say by a helpful member of staff. Thanks again. CTBP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a fantastic time at Cape Town backpackers, so much so that I found myself back there numerous times on my 7 month trip around Southern and Eastern Africa.

It has the perfect location in central Cape Town, very close to Long St, Table Mountain, Lions Head etc, but it's also far enough away from the bars etc to allow a quiet nights sleep.

Right from check in you can tell that the staff here are keen to please. They are friendly and keen to liven up the atmosphere, while also helping with travel bookings, orderingtours, cabs, (and even pizza!). Leah the manager is a wealth of knowledge on all things Cape Town, and if you happen to be travelling Africa overland in your own vehcile, Andy (the other manager), is the perfect bloke to ask for experienced advice.

The rooms and bathrooms are always clean, the breakfasts available are fantastic value, and the bar is about as good a place as any in Cape Town to let your hair down after a long day of hiking..........or shopping. They have a lot of off street secure parking if you hire or own a car, and 24 hour security, even though it seemed very safe the whole time I was there.

Absolutley 5 stars, was the best Backpackers I've found in Africa, I can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hitshard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Director of Beverage and light snack product marketing and sales (eastern end of the bar) at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Always a pleasure old boy, Always a pleasure :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Had an amazing time, thanks to all the staff. It was clean, the tours were the best. You have to go on their wine tour, bruce is a legend. I loved the bar, the prices are good and its a super friendly place. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcworldtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi, Thanks for the great review! Don't forget if your travels take you to Zambia to come and see us at our place in Lusaka. See you soon, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Such a great place! I stayed there for about two weeks over Christmas and New Years. The staff were awesome, so friendly and super helpful! They knew everyone that was staying at the hostel, which made it comforting. There was always a great hat party that was going on! The people that stayed at the hostel all got along like a family. Breakfast was delicious! definitely a party hostel, but if you needed your down time it was good for that too! Loved every second of it!! Thanks for a helluva good time :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi, It was a great Christmas! A bit hot having the full dinner but you have to do it, it wouldnt be Christmas without crackers and stuffing. Don't forget if your travels take you to Zambia to come and see us at our place in Lusaka. See you soon, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Love the staff, very very helpful and patient. Leah answers the e-mails very quickly and efficiently.
En suit room was tidy, so was the bathroom. Liked the attached balcony so I could leave the door open at night for fresh air which I loved. Felt safe, too.

Only thing is the walls seem to be terribly thin.At some point I thought someone walks in my room until I realize the wooden floor just carries noise like that from next door.
Also kitchen noise carries up to the first floor where the rooms are. I don't think people realize that though so no offense.

The crowd itself was heavy on the partying side which was nice and good fun. Love the bar downstairs.
All in all repeatable :)

Room Tip: It might help to specially ask for a quiet room, not facing the inside yard as you hear people talki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_watching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi, Thanks for the feedback, Leah is super efficent on emails! We've been looking at new door seals to combat the echo in the building you were in, it'll be solved very soon. But glad you enjoyed your stay and would come back and don't forget if your travels take you to Zambia to come and see us at our place in Lusaka. See you soon, Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Cape Town backpackers is terrific. The facility is clean & well maintained with great outdoor hangout space. The bar is fun and active. The cafe serves cheap breakfast till 1pm and they hook you up with free internet. But the staff really sets this place apart. Every single person I met who works there has a terrific attitude and genuinely wants to interact with you and make the place as fun as possible. Got great recommendations on tours, info on restaurants and basically the low down on anything I had a question about.

We booked a private twin with en suite bathroom and basically had all the comforts of a hotel with the huge social benefits of a really exceptional hostel. This place really enhanced our trip to Cape Town. Could have stayed there much longer!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyCTBP, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Town Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks for the review Jeff, we're glad we found a room with high ceilings for you ! It was great having you stay with us and we hope you come back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Backpack
The Backpack
#4 of 125 in Cape Town Central
678 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
502 reviews
Long Street Backpackers
#35 of 125 in Cape Town Central
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
277 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Town Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Town Backpackers

Property: Cape Town Backpackers
Address: 81 New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape Town Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location in Cape Town! The area is safe, and only a short walk away from bars, restaurants and some of the city's most popular attractions. We’re a 10 minute hop by cab or bus to the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain Cable Station and only 15 minutes by cab or bus from the city's most beautiful beaches! Cape Town Backpackers is a bright and friendly backpackers with plenty of comfort and style. Located in the heart of Cape Town's hip & happening shopping and cafe district, our place has a lot to offer! StreetSmart- StreetWise5 Breakfast available - Health Pot with rolled oats, wheat flakes, barley flakes, sesame seeds topped with yoghurt and a choice of Nescafe or tea. Protein packed to sustain your energy levels! FREE Wi-Fi! and FREE luggage storage, and your FREE bed safe or locker. From dorms to double en suites, our rooms are incredibly clean and comfortable, and all of your linen and towels are supplied. With a large, well stocked, funky bar and lots of chill out space, there's no better way to spend your time! Enjoy a delicious breakfast before heading out to explore beautiful Cape Town! Evenings in the bar often result in one of our infamous Hat Parties and braais (BBQ's) are a regular occurrence when the weather is right! We offer a comprehensive travel desk able to assist with all of your traveling needs, including excellent car hire rates and great deals and advice and bookings for in and around Cape Town, South Africa and throughout southern Africa. Our super friendly, enthusiastic staff are on hand 24 hours a day and bravely promise to give you a big smile and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cape Town Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Backpackers South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing