We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice guesthouse in quiet Oranjezicht”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atforest Guest House
Ranked #138 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The guesthouse is very nice and located in Oranjezicht, which is a very clean, quiet and save area. Our room was a little small but very neat and clean. There was a nice porch right outside the room where we sat down in the evenings and had some wine from the honesty bar - which is kindly provided by the owners and the wine is far from being overpriced.
The view from the porch is stunning since the guesthouse is right at the foot of Table Mountain. However, you need a car to go places - which was no problem for us since we rented a car at the airport. Pat, the host, is really nice and makes the most amazing breakfast! We did not use the pool because it was too windy, but it looked very nice and clean. In the mornings, the house can get a little bit noisy, but I guess that's just normal for every house... Besides, we met some really nice people during our stay with whom we will stay in touch! Pat provided us with dinner recommendations, maps, and everything else you need to get organized! We had a wonderful time during our 3-nights-stay and will come again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for Atforest Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

We arrived early and we could get our room at that moment. Very nice room and we enjoyed our stay very much. The room was next to the swimming pool and had a nice view of the Table Mountain.Very safe area and close by a nice place(Carlucci's) to lunch or have a simple evening meal.

Room Tip: We had a room next to the pool and we enjoyed that very much.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulhofstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This guest house is located close to central Cape Town just beneath Table Mountain in the lovely district of Oranjezicht. The single room was sufficiently spacious and well-appointed with TV, safe, en suite shower room and wifi access. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and a useful serving period from 07:30 onwards. A very helpful and comfortable place to stay at very good-value rates.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietCapeTown, Owner at Atforest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your positive review We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will tell your friend about us.
Kind regards,
Piet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed in the family room downstairs. It was massive, the kids slept on the sleeper couch. Plenty room for the four of us. Children loved 'going upstairs for breakfast' and adored Pat who spoiled them rotten with valentines presents and leaving gifts. They loved Molly the dog too who was extremely well behaved and cured their phobia of dogs. Pat couldn't do more to help, honesty bar was well stocked and were able to sneak some cereal when the kids were still hungry one evening. Pool was small but perfectly formed and just what's needed to cool off. Fantastic to have pool towels and suncream available for use too.
Can't say a bad word. Would highly recommend and would return if/when we go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelleraveckids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietCapeTown, Owner at Atforest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and please recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards,
Piet Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Lovely guest house where nothing was too much trouble for Pat even stayed up very late for our arrival. Breakfast was excellent with special service for the grandchildren who loved the prepared watermelon. Felt very comfortable in this home from home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietCapeTown, Owner at Atforest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your positive response. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Atforest. Please recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards,
Piet Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

This is the kind of guest house that make you feel like home!
Your guests will help you alot and provied very good service.

Breakfast is very luxurious, commidities, bedrooms are very well maintained. Nice swimming pool more than useful to refresh when it is hot!

The area allows you to easily walk down to city center or walk up to table mountain / lion's head if you like hiking.

Again thanks, will come back

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YT2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PietCapeTown, Owner at Atforest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Reviewer of Atforest,
Thank you for your positive response. We hope you come again and recommend us to your friends.
Kind regards,
Piet Potgieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: das Zimmer am Pool möchte ich gerne empfehlen
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_keller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
88 reviews
Wish U Were Here
#65 of 156 in Cape Town Central
133 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#39 of 156 in Cape Town Central
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchor Bay Guest House
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
City Bowl
Kloof Nek Suites
Kloof Nek Suites
#86 of 156 in Cape Town Central
34 reviews
City Bowl
Prince Lodge
Prince Lodge
#99 of 156 in Cape Town Central
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atforest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atforest Guest House

Address: 14 Forest Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $45 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atforest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atforest is a 3 star b&b in Cape Town under Table Mountain. We are near restaurants, a bus service (around the corner), and all the beaches and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Atforest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atforest Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing