We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Gap Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gap Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gap Lodge
Ranked #65 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Bassonia, Johannesburg
1 review
“Stay at Gap Lodge”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

From my first phone call to the end of my stay we only received the best of service. E-mails were prompt. Garden setting was tranquil and the cat coming to say good morning was precious. Breakfast was very well presented and tasteful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlmainePereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Charlmaine, it was a great pleasure having you. Hope to see you soon. Shira, the cat, is missing you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
26
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Clean and comfortable, wonderful breakfast every morning, and most of all Linda and Le Roi treat guests as friends in for a visit. Most of Capetown is either a long walk or a short cab ride. Le Roi will make whatever arrangements you need for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjmj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
It is always nice to receive "friends" for a visit at GAP Lodge! Thank you for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Our experience at the Gap Lodge was very good, the lodger were friendly, the room was clean, cosy and comfortable. We had a huge breakfast and a kitchen and living room all for us, we really recommend it. It is 5 minutes taxi from Waterfront, on the way to Table Mountain, a very convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
We are happy to make GAP Lodge your second home... Don't stay away to long for second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Lovely room in a very friendly B&B.
Very comfortable bed and wonderful breakfasts on the terrace in the morning.

Short walk to great restaurants on Kloof Street.
Also walk-able distance to Table Mountain cable car if you're feeling energetic.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarGirl_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gap L, Owner at Gap Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for nice review. You are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed with excellent hosts Linda and Le Roi for a total of 7 nights. A great experience at a great location just below Table mountain. From the guest house it's easy to explore everything in and around Cape Town. We really felt at home and will go back next time we visit SA..
Joost and Manon

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joostie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Besides the great location, Le Roi and Linda made sure our stay was most enjoyable. When I go back to Cape Town I will not even bother to look for any other place to stay.

Andre'
Cincinnati, OH

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftpb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

All in all very much enjoyed our stay at Gap Lodge.

Rooms although on the small side, where comfortable and spotless.

Le Roi & Linda made us feel very welcome and the personalised breakfast and sherry nightcap where a nice touch.

Quiet location ideal for Table Mountain and approx 10 mins walk to Long Street.
Other places like centre, main street and green point stadium approx 30 mins walk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve101973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#20 of 156 in Cape Town Central
374 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
The Lions
The Lions
#75 of 156 in Cape Town Central
56 reviews
City Bowl
Vip Cape Lodge
Vip Cape Lodge
#29 of 125 in Cape Town Central
79 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gap Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gap Lodge

Property: Gap Lodge
Address: 13 Newport Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gap Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gap Lodge is nestled on the slopes of Table Mountain in the heart of Cape Town. We offer three en-suite bedrooms, dual air-conditioning, digital safe, hairdryer and TV. Bed linen is 100% percale cotton for your comfort. The V&A Waterfront, city center, International Convention Centre and Clifton and Camps Bay beaches are all 5 - 10 minutes away. Gap Lodge offers luxurious comfort in the heart of Cape Town with Table Mountain virtually at our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your Gap Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gap Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing