We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family restaurant”
Review of Cafe Paradiso

Cafe Paradiso
Ranked #48 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Established by the inimitable Freda, Cafè Paradiso immediately set the bar for local cuisine and, from its inception, introduced us to a variety of dishes and ingredients seldom before experienced locally. Loving the idyllic setting and the warm ambience, Capetonians eagerly tucked into exotic and ‘foreign’ fare such as tzatziki, dolmades and babaganoush as well as the delicious country-style dishes which emanated from Paradiso’s bustling kitchens. Joined by three more formidable women, Laurille, Lynn and Mapula, Frieda and her team remained the heart of city trading with a lineage of values forming the foundation of this amazing establishment.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family restaurant”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was our first time in Cafe Paradiso. The food was great and we had a very nice and friendly waiter. We were very happy with the food and the service, but the best part was the kid's activity. While my wife and I enjoyed our meal and glass of wine, our kids were in the kitchen preparing gingerbread cookies with the staff. We finished our meal just as the kids were finishing up in the kitchen. While they had lunch, their cookies baked and then got to have them for dessert or take them home in a box specially decorated by themselves. Overall a great experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pearland1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    299
    80
    26
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden spot, great breakfast”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice little outside garden, friendly staff, good cappuccino and various breakfast meals. We had an omelette and a muesli with fresh fruits. Can only recommend, will return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_St_0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stunning view of table mountain while you eat”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our third visit to Cafe Paradiso, and better than the last two visits. The service here is not great - but we go anyway for the view and the food is very good. It could be an excellent restaurant with better service - there is a lot of competition on Kloof Street! This visit we couldn't get a table outside but got one inside by the window, which was just as good. The food is really excellent. Book ahead if you want a non smoking table outside on a weekend. Decent baby changing facilities too. Bonus!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveWorkTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow - what a place!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I wish I was hungrier when I got there, because the food was fantastic! And I wanted to try a salad and appetizer. But 2 glasses of Pinotage wine, ricotta & mushroom ravioli with pomodoro and gorgonzola sauces (divine) and lemon meringue pie (with crusty, melt in your mouth meringue) were outstanding. I tried to go back for a second time (which I hardly ever do when traveling) but I couldn’t fit it into my schedule. The restaurant has a lovely, homey and comfortable ambience. And everyone, staff and patrons, are happy to be there. Be sure to get reservations, because it’s always full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JewelsR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Absolute awesome location with Table Mountain at your back and looking down over Cape Town and the harbour. Competitive menu with really good wine list and cocktails. If weather permits it, sit outside and enjoy the scenery. The food was really good and the services was excellent

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Paradiso also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing